We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 14 August 2011

white sandy beach, 2 swimming pools, nice private bungalows as rooms.
Perfect for relaxation and unwind.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skivaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

As others have mentioned, the location is great and easy to walk to the main street to find scooters, shopping, cafes, etc. Which was fortunate since the hotel food was not very good from both myself and a friend's opinion. The nearby Drunken Frog restaurant was great though.

The spa here was superb, so that's well worth the cost. Wifi was spotty, sometimes working sometimes not, and I couldn't ever make a Skype call without getting cut off. Overall a decent place...just be prepared to get fed elsewhere.

Room Tip: From what I could see they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank briborg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This hotel is too expensive when compared to the quality of everything provided by the hotel. The only great thing about this hotel is location. A nice long beautiful beach is just right in front of the hotel. We stayed at executive room which is almost the nearest to the pool and the beach. Refurbishing is needed for this hotel, everything looks old. The room is big but old furniture, the bathroom area is very very ugly and old fashion. The room doesn't give you a fresh smell. The bedsheet and towels are old and not good quality. I couldn't sleep on the first night and was bitten by mosquitoes. The whole thing is dull!!

The worst thing is breakfast, selection is small, quality is very poor. Cheap breads, cheap jam and cheap cheese are provided. No internet provided in the room.

However, staff are great and helpful. Garden at the main entrance to reception area is nice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KittyStromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights and thought the hotel was great. The grounds were very nice, the room was nice and the beach area was an amazing view. Only slight down side on the room was that the bathroom could use a little paint and tile touch up and the A/C was not quite strong enough to cool the room to where we wanted it - but part of that could be that the room was pretty big which is an upside. Location of the hotel is right on the beach and was very easy to just walk down to other restaurants / bars. Also was very cheap to catch Tuk Tuk ride into Saladan and also took maybe 5 minutes. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This place is very pleasant, right on the beach. The breakfast was disappointing. We had a Royal Villa (second most expensive option) and our view was the wall of the next villa, so that was rather disappointing. Be prepared to get up at the crack of dawn if you are the sun chair reserving type. Most people who want one seem to place a towel on the chairs, go to breakast and then maybe use the sun chairs. We could not be bothered with this so used to beautiful beach instead. We did not eat hear as if breakfast was anything to go by..... BUT if you go out of the resort onto the main road there is a great little rough looking restaurant called Ardee - a little tin roof establishment - absolutely wonderful, basic Thai food!

The reception area could do with some fans in the ceiling.

The Coral Spa on the resort is top quality five star! It saved our stay really.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

If you are travelling with children, go for the bigger Deluxe rooms - the extra 10 m2 are worth the quite small extra price. The rooms were very nice and the location (when travelling with children) is excellent as it is quite near the town and the beach is very safe for children. There is a cafe on site which is very overpriced and the food in the restaurant is awful and takes forever to arrive. However there are good restaurants right next door so it is not a big problem. All in all a nice place when travelling with children.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Just stayed at the Royal Lanta for 8 days over New Year in one of the Mountain Suite rooms. The rooms are huge, however if anything they are too big. The rooms have a jacuzzi, however the water pressure is so low that I estimate it would take at least 2 hrs to fill it. Consequently the shower is very weak too.

The main issue though is the smell...the suite rooms are located at the back of the resort around a pool, next to what looked like the staff quarters of the adjoining resort. The smell from the "washroom block" is quite disgusting. In addition, the smell inside the bathroom was also so bad we had to change rooms. Unfortunately, although the second room was less smelly, the aircon was so noisy we could barely sleep.

On the positive side the hotel location is good, right on Klong Dao beach, although as the resort is perpendicular to the beach, even the "beachfront" rooms are at least 50m from the beach.

The service is very keen but very ineffective. Watching the "chef" attempting to deal with a huge queue of 3 people at the breakfast eggstation was amusing. The breakfast was generally pretty poor. There was an onsite bakery, however they never actually baked anything. We asked most days when they would be baking and the answer was generally tomorrow.....

We have lived in Asia for many years, including 4 years in Thailand, so have I feel the right level of expectation when it comes to hotels there, but for the money we paid the Royal Lanta was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 March 2011

We would like to say that we very much appreciate the constructive posting and always take time to discuss with our management team on ways to improve. With regards to the smell from the adjoining resort is sometimes a problem and we are in the process of bringing this situation to the authorities for attention. With the water pressure in the room, we have to say this is a problem at the moment and we have already planned a project to improve this situation. However, when the hotel is running full and most people take their showers/bathing at a similar time the problem is compounded. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 85 in Ko Lanta
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
464 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#26 of 85 in Ko Lanta
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lanta Resort
Lanta Resort
#63 of 85 in Ko Lanta
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £49 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish traditional villas and unit building , each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing