We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We booked this hotel after reading the raving reviews on Tripadvisor and were quite disappointed.

The bungalows were very worn and the curtains had huge mouldy stains on them. the hot water didn't work properly and the bathrooms were not very pleasent.

The pool area was very small and that also needed refreshment. Worst of all was probably the staff. Almost everyone you come across in Thailand is very friendly but at this hotel everyone is rude. Especially the people in the restaurant. Very fake smiles.

The garden is ok, but nothing amazing like everyone is writing.

All in all the stay here was a disappointment and we were almost wondering if the hotel managment had got their friends to write great reviews about the place.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2007

I booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. It is at the north end of the island, one or two kilometres from the port. It is 400 metres from the road. Most of the hotel consists of cottages built in South Thai fashion with lots of beatiful wood furniture. We stayed in one for 3 nights. The room has real style and character and there is a DVD and a lvoely ceiling fan if you don't like using AC. They are set in a garden that would make Kew very jealous.
There were some problems with the room. Our lock was broken and the hot water supply was patchy. But the staff dealt with problem quickly.
We had to change to the mountain view rooms for the last 2 days. These were much more expensive - very big with a jacuzzi. But they were overpriced and although they overlooked the big swimming pool, they felt like 'white elephants''. They were a long way from the beach and restaurants. The big swimming pool is a waste of space; the water was always cold.
The beach pool on the other hand was lovely - though not pretty was perfect even in the rain.
Breakfasts were a little disappointing - rather greasy and no Asian food- though the pancakes were good.
They have a great baker and superb iced coffees and shakes. The waiters in the restaurant seemed terrified of the guests!
Overall the hotel was fine but I wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

2 nights at a very good price. Lanta is a great place to visit, whether your a family, friends or a couple (like we were) looking for a peaceful getaway. We chose this hotel from the reviews on tripadvisor - we were really happy with this hotel. The staff were always on hand to offer us assistance and were very efficient. The resort manager also gave us great advice and recommendation, so overall we had a great stay and would definitely return (thank you)!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

First booked for four days, but we ended up staying for our whole Thailand stay of 40 days at this wonderful resort. We found everything nice, surroundings, service, cleanliness, food but we have to highlight the extremely friendly and serviceminded personell at the Royal Lanta. That goes for everyone from the house staff, waiters to the manager herself. They fixed our trolley, they borrowed us electrical chords for the laptop and above all took care of our little son on 10 months. We loved it for the whole stay. We send our regards and recommend it for all. Håkon, Astrid, Mathilde, Elisabeth and Brynjar Ødegaard from Asker Norway.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2007

Stayed: November 2007
Thank siak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank lilruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 85 in Ko Lanta
523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
466 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#26 of 85 in Ko Lanta
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lanta Resort
Lanta Resort
#63 of 85 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £49 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish traditional villas and unit building , each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing