We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely location & rooms - but needs money spent on it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
457 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“A lovely location & rooms - but needs money spent on it.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Koh Lanta island has a wonderful 1970's hippie vibe still - & a beautiful shallow bay.
The hotel we found a bit odd, so I've tried to list the pro's & cons:
Pro's - fab location in the middle of the beach & wonderfully designed traditional buildings; we upgraded & had a bungalow room on the left as you walk from reception, & it was fine. There is a lane alongside that side of the hotel but it was no problem.
The grounds are beautifully designed & maintained.
Good air-con & our room was kept very clean. Good inside shower & loads of hot/warm water.
The staff were all very friendly.
The Spa is lovely & has a wonderful peaceful atmosphere - but with so many massage places on the beach much cheaper we only used them once.
You can have a massage a day at a different place, all priced the same & all excellent - especially the Thai massage with coconut oil - bliss!
Huge & very comfy beds - I found the quite hard pillows ok after I'd beaten them into shape!
There are 2 pools, but we didn't use the mountain pool - it's a bit isolated unless your room is up there, which our wasn't, but they are lovely pools & very clean. The grounds are beautifully planted - my favourite frangipani everywhere!
The coffee shop - The Sea Cow, open 10am to 10pm - is a bit odd but serves great hot & cold coffees & drinks, & sells ice creams. It is also a bakery (makes nice donuts if you need a sugar fix) but is mostly empty & the staff rarely seemed to have anything to do but were very friendly.
Tuk tuk drivers wait just outside the hotel - you don't need to walk to the road & they give you good rates - especially if you say hi to them when you're going in & out of the hotel - they'll take you up the road to Saladan, or you can hire them for a half day island tour.
Cons - the rooms have 2 showers - 1 inside & 1 open air. Many guests have commented on the grotty outside showers - come on hotel - do something - they're horrid!
The bathroom tiles & the paint in general is tired.
The sun beds are big solid wooden ones - but many are broken & you can't move them onto the beach - they're too heavy. Also, many of the pool umbrellas (at least half) are also broken & you risk them closing on you - seriously annoying when you want shade & potentially dangerous.
The wooden decking around the pool needs maintenance - loose boards & nails sticking up in a couple of places - & yet the pool is kept immaculately clean every night. Also many of the wooden pathways - whilst very pretty - are now plastic wood which is very hard & quite sharp in places on bare feet.
The reception area is a mossie trap as there is no air movement.
You have to go to reception to get wi-fi - bit of a pain but not essential.
No room safe - you have to use a safety deposit box at reception - a pain with expensive camera lens which don't fit in the deposit boxes anyway! Again - come on hotel - room safes should be easy to fit!
Our room only had one recliner chair - odd, but I sprawled on the bed mostly anyway!
No mossie coils or similar provided - but there's a 7/11 on the corner if you go out of the hotel back onto the main road - a 2 minute walk - so we used this to get provisions.
We never actually worked out how to get the mossie net set up - our headboard was fixed to the wall so you couldn't get the net around the bed - decoration maybe - but we didn't need it because of our mossie coils.
Food - perfectly good in the evenings, good menu priced slightly more than the beach bars but not much more.
Breakfast has been commented on - a perfectly good choice, but no variety & definitely getting boring after 10 days. However, it was adequate - & if you wanted big boys brekies most of the restaurants do cook breakfasts.
Our overall impression was that the hotel was coasting - it could be fantastic, but not a lot of effort was going in to making it that little bit special e.g in the evening no-one ate at the hotel - & no effort was made to attract them - yet it had a beautiful dining area & bar which inevitably shuts anytime after 9pm . For a small investment it could be better, but we did really enjoy our stay & we chilled out completely.

Room Tip: Go the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    150
    71
    21
    17
See reviews for
112
159
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Visited Royal Lanta in December 2011 over Christmas for our honeymoon. Read previous reviews about foul smell and took it up with travel agent who got in touch with Royal Lanta and was given PERSONAL GUARANTEE from the manager that it would not be an issue for our trip. It was and is. We paid the premium price for the mountain view villas and that is right beside the water treatment area. The smell is foul and changes in strength and direction during the day ranging from rotten eggs to sour milk.
The other things that made for a poor experience in brief were - Breakfast dull. No phone in room so if you need anything you have to walk to reception in the heat and any expectation of getting satisfaction or help should be set low. A serious lack of day or night entertainment unless you are there to sit by the pool/ beach. Bed linen poor quality, pillows hard and not a duck feather in sight, instead lumpy and uncomfortable. Smell from bathroom awful and suspicious water around drains in bathroom. Glass in bathroom filthy on arrival. Spa was nice so will give a star for that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunburyOnThames
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is our 5th visit to the Royal Lanta, our first visit was for 2 nights and this time we stayed 10 nights and love coming back to this haven of tranquility. We always stay in one of the wooden bungalows we which are surrounded by lovely tropical trees and plants and the sound of birdsong in the morning is very relaxing. There is an imaculate grass lawn in front of the bugalows which leads down to a great sandy beach which is never crowded and a great place to chill out in the evening with a glass of beer or coctail looking up at the fantastic array of stars. The food in the resturant over looking the beach is very good and the manager will always try to get any special dishes which are not on the menu, the only downside is that it is never very busy and closes fairly early, there is also a great selection of other resturants and bars within walking distance along the beach. Saladan town which is only 5 mins away by tuk tuk is a great little place for shopping and eating, can't wait to go back again !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaySamphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have visited this hotel several times over the last few years and love everything about it. The location right in the middle of the main beach is perfect for walking locally to small beach bars and restaurants, yet only a few minutes by tuk tuk to the main town of Saladan for your shopping, restaurants by the sea and markets.
The accommodation is split into two types -hotel style rooms at the front of the hotel, but our preference is for the chalet style villas each well set in jungle surroundings within easy walking of all the hotel facilities and beach. The cleaning girls are very cheerful and do an excellent job of keeping the rooms in tip top condition. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and all areas of the hotel are generally very clean and well maintained by helpful and friendly staff. The restaurant is well set with some incredible views over the ocean. Breakfast is basic but a good selection both hot and cold, and the food during the day at lunchtime and evening is of excellent quality and very well presented with plenty of choices to suit all tastes. Just a shame that it is not busier as it seems most people prefer to eat at the local restaurants along the beach. If more could be done to attract these people in with special well advertised offers or good value theme nights it could become an ideal night spot for both eating and drinking. They have a lovely Spa where massages are reasonably priced and enjoyed in really tranquil surroundings. All in all an ideal resort for anyone wanting a peaceful and relaxed holiday but within a short distance of many other activities should you wish.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saundersdavidmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We moved here after a miserable time in Krabi - and it felt we had entered a quiet, tranquil retreat - rooms were very good sized, at no time did the hotel feel too busy - depsite our stay beign in high season. Breakfast was continental and plentiful. Spa and 2 pools were lovely as is it's location - five minutes tuk tuk from the shopping area at Saladan and right on the beachfront.

Room Tip: Most rooms are Thai-style villas and these are definitely worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-and-Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our family stayed in this hotel at January 2012. Our room was a Mountain view suite and there was room enough for two extra beds for kids. Only pillows were horrible; so thick that idea of sleeping on them was impossible.
The hotel area was very clean and nicely kept. Specially eveningtimes there were lot of frogs that were jumping and sitting on walkways.
At hotel area was also this coffeehouse, but they were lacking of everything... I really don´t know what they were selling... just coffee?
If you go to this hotel, don´t expect anything for the breakfast. It is very unilateral.
But the location is great and except the breakfast this is very nice hotel. I can recommend this to families and anyone who wants peace and relaxed vacation in Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulleli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Spent 9 days here in April 2011 and planning on returning same time in 2012.
The pros
Clean comfortable thai style villa accomadation, satellite TV for the rain, super service from staff, simple brekkie is offered but those who demand uk style perfect bacon and eggs on holiday and if thats your biggest gripe well maybe a european jaunt is best for you :-)
....Seriously though the breakfast is simple toast, omlette if you want it or fruit/meats. Its with a sincere smile and prompt service.
The grounds are perfectly manicured.In April sunbed avails werent an issue. The spa is awsome and reasonable. Look out for Fridays where they discount the treatments by 30%. Great deep tissue massage and the body scrub at the beginning of a hol is great to get your skin ready for the tan!!
Location is ace and we dined out for lunch and dinner most nights. Its an easy walk from the Indian Bar - half way down the beach and run by Pas a real Thai gent and character and further down the beach we discovered the koala bar ( run by Todd a super friendly Aussie and the place is full of ex Pats who are invaluable for getting real tips as opposed to the tourist touts)
The Cons
Yes the towles in the room arent super cuddly ( clean and changed daily though and they supply beach towels too) and no the sheets arent 600 Egyptian thread count but spotless.The bathrooms are outdoors and could do with a lick of paint BUT the cleaning girls do an impeccible job at keeping it clear and mozzie repellant was readily available for us when we asked.
See the brekkie as above but not worth a further gripe.
We lunched in the restaurant and it was ok - recommend you walk further down the beach to explore other areas.

In summary a lick of paint and some new towles would see this place right. Service is decent and if you arent happy ask if anything can be done We did this on our bathroom as I panicked with i saw a cockroack and striaght away we hdd a man down with this repellants spraying away. Also with the contentious breakfast I let them know how I like my eggs and it was done the way I like it.

Mid priced and in need of some cosmetics but all in all thumbs up.

Room Tip: If they arent too busy ask for an upgrade thats what we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bratacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
7.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,008 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish modern bungalows, each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing