We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tired but lovely”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here in late November 2013. While we agree with some of the previous comments, the resort is tired and in need of some TLC in the rooms, we had no real issues other than a very hard bed! Spray the mosquito net with insect repellent before going to bed will help.(it is a tropical climate...) We found the staff all lovely if a little reserved, we didn't want to be fawned over as we were there to relax but it would have been nice to have been asked how our stay was going, if there was anything we needed and how we had enjoyed our stay when we checked out. They could be more proactive, this comes down from management. Things like maybe walking round to see if people wanted something to drink during the day? Breakfast is limited but plentiful though would suggest covers on the food.
As for Lanta this is a lovely island and think this resort is on one of the nicer beaches. It's not a snorkelling beach but great the swim in. There are plenty of places to eat and drink, this is not a party beach which is exactly what we wanted, it doesn't close up at 8pm either though.
We went on the Eco elephant trek and rain forest walk which was amazing and would highly recommend. We also hired a scooter which was an experience!
To get there Krabi Shuttles are brilliant they turned up when arranged and were completely professional, the cost worked out to be about the same as a taxi and a lot more pleasant than the vans that pile too many people in and the spend hours dropping everyone off at different resorts.
Over all we would stay here again but would hope to see a bit of attention spent on the details.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stupidscreenname95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for the wealth recommendation and information that you have shared in Trip Advisor with others about transfer and tours on the island. We are sorry that you did not ask us to soften your bed when you found it very hard.

I will review your feedback with our concerned departments so that we can improve the areas you found them negative.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    150
    71
    21
    17
See reviews for
112
159
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I visited Royal Lanta with my husband in late November & was unimpressed. Whilst the grounds & pools are exceptionally well maintained, unfortunately the rooms are in need if some immediate attention & the attitude of some of the staff is to be questioned (not all I might add). This hotel has all the hallmarks of spectacular resort but overall & for the price is a big let down. With a little TLC & given the location of this once grand hotel, on what we found to be one if the nicest, cleanest beaches on Lanta, this place could return to its hey day. Until then I'd stay clear. If you do choose to stay, give the restaurant a miss in favour of either of the restaurants either side directly on the beach. Breakfast is manageable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I am disappointed about your comments regarding our restaurant and will be feeding back your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I arrived early evening and went straight to dinner being hungry from our journey. After our main course I had to go find a member of staff to ask for he dessert menu. Her reply was no to late. Apparently we had run out of time, mid meal.
Not impressed at all, I decided not to make a scene for my wife's sake.

It was dark when we arrived, but come the morning it was apparent this place may have been 4* when it opened 20 odd years ago. It is dilapidated, in dyer need of a coat of paint and lots of other repairs.
It is plane to see that there has been no money spent on the upkeep of the hotel. Rusty parasoles by the pool, old thin pool towels, stained and hole ridden mosquito nets in rooms, smudged/ bloodied insects on walls.

Now to the staff- At this hotel they are doing the rest of the wonderful Thai people a disservice. There are so many staff here, yet none talk to you, no eye contact, and god help you if you require something. We had lunch and returned to the pool area where we found out towels to be wet from a short spell if rain. I went over to the 'spa' to ask if I could have two replacement towels, and was promptly told to go all the way down to front desk and get them myself. It's a no can do attitude here. At the bar by the pool you will find the majority of staff sitting watching the tv which is at full volume. When you finally get their attention to ask for a drink, you are met with a look that says you are disturbing them.

You cannot trade on location alone. This is marketed as a 'high end resort' as is anything but I can assure you.

I also find it very rude how the Hotel finds a way of answering every negative comment by changing the focus on the location or by suggesting the guests are of the 'complaining type' but worse of all keep repeating that they are continuing to have regular maintenance meetings. Why bother if you do not intend fixing or updating the place?? It's plane to see nothing has been done for a LONG time.

Book at your peril.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birchy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our 3 star resort.

we do read every review we receive and share them with our management team to ensure we can improve the experience for all our guests.

I am most disappointed about your comments regarding our staff and will be feeding back your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Unfortunatelly both rooms I got to try smelled a lot of mould. That and the internet connection not working in the rooms totaly brings down the impression. Extremely pleasant and friendly people at the front desk did what they could to help with anything. But the headmanagers respons to my complaint about the mould problem was purely, "thank you so much".
Well, but beautiful place and good enough breakfast for the price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Grodan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
I'm sorry to say that during the period that you stayed with us we were affected by tropical storm Haihean. This caused several weeks of heavy rain and resulted in high humidity, leading to condensation and a general mustiness in every room, not just in our resort but throughout the entire southern region of Thailand! I'm afraid to say that these conditions also affected broadband connections everywhere, too. We sympathise with your reaction, but in the tropics this occurs from time to time, although we did, of course, offer you an alternative choice of rooms.

Thank you for your kind words about our resort and our breakfast.
I'm only sorry that the weather conditions caused you some distress too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savonlinna, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed 10 days with our small children at the end of october and we really enjoyed our stay. The resort was very nice and comfortable, location was great at the beach, staff was friendly and breakfast very tasty. The resort itself was in my opinion a little bit in a need of renovation which was seen in many details (for example broken sun-beds and shades or boards on which you walk). The spa was also very nice and the prices reasonable. The room prices during low season were also very affordable, but I think that during high-season it would be a little too much compared to the quality of the hotel. Rooms were cleaned well, bottled water was bringed everyday to the room, but the beds were a little too hard. All in all we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjm_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for this helpful review and I am very pleased that you liked our resort and its great location and staff. I am glad you liked our Thai food corner at breakfast. We always provide a good rotation breakfast buffet for our guests who stay at the average of 10 days. We operate the Coral Leaf Spa by ourselves and offer various treatment at reasonable prices. We always offer great deals during May to October.

I will review your feedback with our management team so that we can improve the areas you found unsatisfactory.

We hope to see you again next visit to Koh Lanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was the third hotel we stayed at during our week in Koh Lanta.  The first two were sold out while we were there.  However, I think we were one of only a handful of people staying at this resort.  The rooms and the grounds are lovely, though some areas are showing small signs of neglect, for example, some of the lettering on various outdoor signage has fallen off and not been replaced.  Nothing major, just little things that are easy to fix but haven't been, which I think conveys something about a place.  

The hotel was very quiet due to its level of desertedness. (This is not necessarily a bad thing as we slept very well and typically had the pool to ourselves!).  One other thing we noticed was that there were plenty of staff around - working the front desk, cleaning, groundskeepers, preparing breakfast - but none of them seemed proactive in trying to interact with us.  For example, we'd walk by the front desk and no one would look up or make eye contact, let alone say hello.  They were totally accommodating if we initiated the conversation, but they all just seemed a bit reclusive.  Just a bit weird to us after the opposite experience at other places.  

On the other hand, our room was very nice and comfortable. Technically you have to be in public areras to access the free wifi, but we got a pretty good signal in our room. The breakfast was good with a lot of choice.

Overall I can't really fault the property, the location, or the rooms, but I think the place just needs a bit of life injected back into it.  That's something only the staff there everyday can really do.

Still a fine choice for a place to catch some quality shut eye at the end of a long day of fun in Koh Lanta! If the price is right, I think it's a very pretty place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your positive and negative review in Trip Advisor.

I have already reviewed your feedback with our management team so that we can improve the areas you found unsatisfactory. We hope that you will come to visit us again in the near future, and be pleased with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

stayed at Royal Lanta for three nights, end of October, so slightly out of season and we got an excellent rate,. The opinon on any hotel is going to be based to a large extent on wether it was considered value for money..and for us this certainly was. The bungalow wasnt perfect,.large .nice shower room..a little bit dark .. but oh boy..the location! we walked the whole beach and Royal Lanta seemed to have the best frontage. Sitting by the infinity pool looking straight across and out to the beach and sea...fabulous. The staff were lovely and helpful...except for the ,'bakery' where the staff burst into laughter when I asked for an ice cream(which was advertised on a board outside) All there was in the bakery was two pieces of cake...which were there the following day, too..very strange! Discovered a second swimming pool near reception which was equally nice..lovely and clean ..it really was like something out of a film set. Breakfast was good..a huge choice and again...I wouldve been happy with bread and butter because of the view... sitting on the verenda having coffee and looking out to sea was comparable to any five star hotel. Lovely.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of only two bungalow which actually overlooked the sea Others were on the boardwal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorras31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for the wealth recommendation and information that you have shared in Trip Advisor with others.

I am so pleased that you found that we are the resort value for money. We always offer great deals during May to October. Our convenience to everything along 3 kilometer sandy beach, main town in a walking distance, tours and the mainland, makes us popular with guests. Our two pools; one is by the beach and another one is at the back of the resort which is more quiet to relax. I am glad you liked your breakfast with the view. We always provide a good rotation breakfast buffet for our guests who stay at the average of 10 days. Our rooms are spacious as you mentioned every room has balcony or veranda at the front to sit and relax.

Thank you again for your comment about lighting in the room. We have already made trial of replacing bulbs with 4 LED type in the room which will make it brighter but still cozy and we will do this project soonest. We hope you will feel the difference when you visit us next time.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
11.0 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#36 of 212 in Ko Lanta
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish modern bungalows, each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing