We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel on the best Lanta beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the best Lanta beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 6 nights at Royal Lanta and we will definitely be back. It is a real chill out experience in a very relaxing tropical location with lovely chalet bungalows in a jungle-like layout. Not sure we have been to the same hotel as other negative reviewers on this site. Far from being grumpy we found the hotel staff very friendly. They all smiled and said hello at every opportunity. The two pools are beautiful and the beach location could not be better. We had breakfast at the hotel every day but ate out for all other meals. Ban Saladan is busier and very close by tuk tuk for evening meals. Transfers by Krabi Shuttle were excellent and very competitively priced. All in all a great chill out start to our Thai holiday. Now off to busier Ao Nang and then even busier Patong......

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cooperr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you have taken to praise our Resort.

I hope that other negative reviewers on this site will read your comment.

We are really looking forward to greeting you again with a “Welcome Back”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    144
    66
    20
    16
See reviews for
104
152
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Lovely big bungalow's which to be fair are a little tired. Pool lovely, beach great (great for running). Clear blue water. Take lots of insect repellent, use the mosquito nets, look out for snakes and be prepared cockroaches in your room (we had two). Don't eat at the hotel, beach restaurants are great and much cheaper, particularly Hans, next to the Hotel. We did the Koh Phi Phi tour which we booked on the beach and was great. Really liked the hotel and the vibe, just wished that our door fitted and that didn't have the cockroach experience.

Room Tip: close to the infinity pool is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review for positive and negative ones.

Our two pools; one is by the beach and another one is at the back of the resort which is more quiet to relax.

Thank you so much for this helpful review about our great location on one of the main beaches of Koh Lanta, which still remains a great place to get away from it all. Everything, including many great restaurant and bars besides Hans next door are all within a small walking distance for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

rooms are big... but a bit old... smelled of old.... Good value for money. PErfect location in front of a nice sandy beach... 5 minutes away from the main village (short tuk tuk trip for 200 thai bats)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Royal Lanta for your stay in Koh Lanta and also for the review you have shared in Trip Advisor. We will definitely consider your comments during our property meeting in the future.

We hope that you will come to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here in Dec just before Christmas in a standard bungalow. Depends on what you're looking for in a room, if you just want somewhere to sleep but don't care about luxuries, then the basic room is fine. Our room backed onto the "road" which really was a lane that led from the main road to the beach. Apart from a couple of motorbikes we couldn't hear any traffic noise. Thought the shower could do with a revamp, and no shower gel. If you're in the basic room you don't get tea and coffee making facilities ( there is a cafe on site) or a hair dryer ( but it's so warm I don't think you need one). Not enough sun loungers around the pool area, and people reserving them. The hotel location is right on the beach and there are plenty of great restaurants .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were due to head to another island during an island-hopping adventure in south Thailand. However, my husband got sick with a tummy bug so we had to find somewhere to stay in peak season without a booking - no mean feat in Koh Lanta at Christmas.
We turned up at the Royal Lanta on spec and somewhat desperate and luckily for us they had room.
On the first night we had Superior bungalow (1128) which was lovely. Set amid lush gardens along a beautiful wooden walkway (about half way from reception and the beach front) it provided the perfect oasis for my husband to get back on his feet. The room is spacious, charming and beautifully laid out. The bed and pillows were a little firm for my taste.
The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of different breads, yogurts and cereals. Cooked food and freshly-prepared eggs were available.
Because it was peak season and we had turned up without a booking, we had to move to a different room on the second evening. The GM allowed us to stay in a Pool View Suite at a greatly reduced rate (thank you sir, for your kindness). These rooms whilst being fantastic on the inside are reached by walking along a rather ugly concrete walkway which has blue or yellow plumbing pipes sticking out everywhere. I think the resort really needs to sort out because it completely detracts from the beauty and elegance of the rooms which are set around a very attractive second swimming pool at the back of the resort.
Inside the very spacious ground-floor suite (Rompeur C) there is a small kitchen area with microwave oven, fridge, sink etc, a sizeable bathroom with Jacuzzi-style bathtub, separate rain-style shower and WC, and a very pretty balcony next to the pool.
The bed and pillows in this room are far superior to the other room we stayed in.
Note to management: The blinds in this room were in a bad state of repair and should be replaced.
Apart from one somewhat surly member of the reception team, the staff are attentive, caring and happy to help with anything you ask for.
I can see that there is still a little of training needed for the staff working at the restaurant and bar but the food and drink selection were good and of high quality.
I would definitely return to Royal Lanta.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangkokmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for walking in to check Royal Lanta for your stay, we are glad that you decided to extend you stay for another night. Free upgrading during this time of the year is a really excellent offer you received from us.

I will review your feedback with our team so that we can improve the areas you found unsatisfactory.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Visited Royal Lanta during Xmas break. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Relaxed atmosphere, great environment for snorkeling, running bare feet, fishing trips, you name it. The Sea and the beach are clear and clean. Hotel met our expectations. We had two rooms in a bungalow close to the reception and street.in contrary to some earlier reviews, we felt it was not too far from the beach and pool. Bungalow location had a nice bonus, free WiFi around reception area worked in the rooms (#1135 and #1136) too.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ilma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for this helpful review and I am very pleased that you liked our resort and its great location on one of the main beaches of Koh Lanta.

We use 10 Mbps leased line for our Wife connection, your rooms are closest to the lobby so the signal work in your room. Many thanks for your review to let other readers know that our guest rooms are not far from the beach as we are small size hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.
Once again, Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Acctually we where among the first guests at Royal Lanta when they opend 2001/2002. When we suddenly decide to visit Koh Lanta we checked in at Royal Lanta. Our room (2201) was stil in gos shape but the toilet was i need of renovation. Our Outdoor shower didnt work, ceramics started to fall down from walls but otherwise it was nice and well kept. Royal Lanta have a really nice garden with a great pool where you can take a bath and overlooking the sea.
But when we where her ten years ago we where suprised that the restaurant didnt work. nothing worked at it should and the cooking wasnt so god. Breakfast was terrible. It was still exactly the same. So its a great place to stay but dont eat at restaurant.Avoid the rooms closets to the road, its a long way from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tottelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Royal Lanta for your second stay in Koh Lanta and also for the review you have shared in Trip Advisor.

I am surprised that you found our breakfast was terrible. However we will be feeding back all your negative comments to all concerned as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#30 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#54 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Property: Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish modern bungalows, each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing