We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Twin Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twin Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for a little over two weeks. We were after a quiet and relaxing resort and were not disappointed. Jon and his staff were truly helpful, friendly and wonderful. We were upgraded to the beachfront after a few days and all you had to do was ask! The fact that it was a low season helped.

Breakfast was more than enough, lunch was available on order. The only wish we had was for dinner at the resort but appreciated the difficulty in making that happen with such a few staff members at the time. In any case, we got the much needed exercise by walking almost every evening on the beach to Sanuk Bar where we were served by a very resourceful Thai lady. We enjoyed her delicious meals over sunset at Koh Lanta. Hiring a bike is a great way to get around the small Island of Lanta as it costs only 250 Baht a day. We were a bit worried about booking a public van to the airport but that was unfounded as the van turned up on time and arrived at the airport with a few hours to spare. Make sure you give yourself enough time, at least 3hrs though.

Will stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RemaChhakchhuak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking time to review your stay with us recently. it is always a pleasure to share such positive reviews with my staff to give them the recognition they rightly deserve.

I must admit,, once people check in to the beachfront bungalow, they seem to be in awe of the location. There really is no better way to wake up in the mornings with that view of the bay.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back some day soon.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    193
    84
    23
    9
See reviews for
142
229
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My friend and I had a very pleasant and extremely relaxing 10 days at the Twin Bay Resort. Nothing was too much for John the resort manger and his staff and I want to say a massive thank you for being the wonderful people you are :) Although we visited in the 'green' season and at times the resort was very quiet, the staff were always very friendly which meant our stay was stress free.
The room we had was clean and tastefully decorated. It was right on the beach with the sound of the ocean and wonderful views. We enjoyed several beers with new friends at the hotel bar and I can only imagine that this is a very lively, but relaxing resort in the high season.
Adam the chef and his wife cooked up a feast for lunch, although the breakfast items were limited, (it being low season), it was substantial for our needs.
The pool IS the best I've seen - overlooking the beach such beauty as you're swimming or larking about in the water, just fabulous. Loved it!
I thoroughly recommend anyone visiting Koh Lanta to stay at Twin Bay Resort, you will not be disappointed. I'm definitely going back for the booze cruise with a difference which starts in the high season 2013 - you lucky people!!
Sue & Wes xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baloo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Valued Guests

What a delightful review. We remember you both fondly for lighting up a relatively low season. If i could write a review of you both i would score you a 5/5. Maybe i should make a website guestadvisor.com

Your review, as with all reviews has been printed out and placed on the staff board for their consumption. Chef Adam and wife will certainly get a pat on the back for their efforts. I will not pat myself but will offer a broad smile.

I do hope you both have the chance to come again, and until that time, we will continue in our way and make improvements where necessary.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the beach front suite for 4 days during August. Booked early, direct with the resort and got excellent value for money. The beach area is slightly more protected than other parts of Koh Lanta during this time of year. Although the tide does go out a long way.
We found the staff and management very friendly and helpful. A little maintenance was being carried out around the pool area which was required.
The popularity of this resort is best demonstrated by the fact they had 50-60 percent occupancy and other resorts were closed or had low occupancy.

Room Tip: Beach front suites are excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Valued Guests

The sun is rising, the resort is still and to top that off, your review makes for the perfect morning. Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. As always i am delighted to share your review with the low season staff, who have worked incredibly hard over the past two months.

Even i am surprised at the volume of guests this low season compared to previous seasons, so i guess we are doing something right. As you say, a large majority of the resorts close down or scale right back on their operations during the green season, so i guess that gives us the edge.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked this hotel & minibus transfer from Krabi airport on-line, we were apprehensive about the transfer but we needn't have worried, the lady was there to meet us at the airport, she drove us to the two ferries we needed to catch and took us straight to the hotel.
Our room was at the front, with a strip of grass with sunbeds and then straight onto the beach!
The rooms are a little rustic, but clean and had everything you would need.
The bathroom was clean and simple, my only criticism would be that the beds were a little on the hard side but we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.
The breakfast was of a good quality and the staff were helpful, we ate al-fresco.
The hotel helped organise a moped which was delivered 10 minutes later and riding on the island was easy and quite safe.
The beach was long and sweeping and you could walk into town along there or it was a couple of minutes on the bike.
There was free wi-fi in the hotel, but I could only get it if I got nearer to the reception.
We had several massages at the beach front massage parlour which was the best we had during our stay in Thailand, but beware Thai massage can be quite vigorous!
We would definitely come here again, the location is idyllic, but the rooms are a little tired and could do with a makeover.

Room Tip: Go for a beach-front bungalow every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dovecotedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Valued Guests

It is such a pleasure to get honest reviews and i think what you said was exactly to the point. I especially like your headline "carefree on Koh Lanta" as that is the feeling i want the resort to maintain. I used casual 3 star as our tagline, so carefree is a suitable accomplice.

Your point about the room is one i am aware of, and am trying to upgrade them with the budget i am afforded. Saying that, as you said it has you need for a pleasant stay.

I thank you once again for your review, and hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here last week with my girkfruend. Great place to stay for a relaxing holiday. 5 star location. The owner and his wife are really lovely and always there to help with anything you need. The rooms were fantastic. We were right on the beach. Breakfast was simple but really more than we expected. Omelettes and eggs cooked to order and were really tasty. As breakfast is included at no extra cost we were more than happy. The location is great. About 5 minutes to town but far enough away that it's secluded and quiet. The manager will help you to rent a scooter which we did for 2 days and is a great way to see the island at your own pace. All in all we were wrapped with our stay at twin bay. Thanks to the staff and management for giving us a great experience. We can't wait to come back! Zeke and Daphne

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytraveller80033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to make a review of your stay with us. The previous negative review was hanging there far too long for my liking. I think your review has put any doubters at ease.

As you say, it is a perfect location, close but far enough away from the town and offers the seclusion you mentioned. The chef will certainly be congratulated on his eggs and bacon service. He has had many a reviews since joining us which gives him a boost.

Bike rent is the best way to get out and about to explore the island and i am delighted you enjoyed your travels. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

What a disaster. This place is 20-30 mins walk from town, the water on the beach is black and the hotel staff are so rude and unhelpful!!! There was no hot water and no one could help us so we showered in the freezing cold. It's been pouring since we got here which is unfortunate but the staff weren't accommodated when we asked for towels to dry our seats, another thing was when we asked for information about getting other places, they weren't helpful either. Overall terrible stay, only good thing was the breakfast staff who were lovely and the food was amazing and the massages on huts on the beach were incredible and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlawain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Well having just read your review, i think you are one of a kind. Comparing your points to others staying at the same time, i find it hard to believe that you were singled out for such bad service. Knowing my staff very well and Thais in general, they are wonderfully helpful people to others that show respect to them. Maybe that was the issue ?

You said you had cold water. i cannot believe that your problem was not addressed by the staff by either moving your room or the engineer coming to fix the problem. You say town is 20-30 minutes away. i wonder which town you were talking about ? as you will see from the previous review it is only 5 minutes away. Maybe the rain dissatisfied you during your stay so you felt it best to score us so badly.

I look forward to your response
Jonathan Dee
Resort manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The beaches on both sides of the resort are nothing to shout about. Good for long walks out, nothing for a swim in the sea. The pool is nice because it's not highly chlorinated, but this means it gets quite murky after everyone jumps in with sunscreen, etc. Toilets is some of the rooms, do not flush very well.

But overall, especially since we were there during the low season, the place was a fantastic retreat. Don't call for a tuk tuk to get out to town. Simply hire a bike or a tuk tuk. The five of us paid 500 bahts for 24 hours of rental. It was awesome. We all took turns riding it and it was way cheaper than calling for a tuk tuk, which were charging 50 bahts per person per trip.

Adam, the caretaker/bartender/chef is very friendly and helpful.

For great massage, go to serenity massage & spa. greatest massages ever. We sampled all the different massages on the menu. After a day out in the sun, go for their aloe vera massage. It was divine.

Great food can be found on that same stretch. We tried several restaurants and the best one was this nondescript looking place just next to The Black Pearl. The food there is simply kickass and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaMinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. As with all the reviews, i share them with the staff and i will certainly give the chef a tap on the back with thanks from you.

You mentioned the sea being not so good for swimming. I agree it is not perfect for serious swimmers but absolutely perfect for families with children as it is very safe and shallow. The color being a little murky happens during the low season and the seas can get quite rough and bring in a lot of sea debris.

As you mentioned, town is only 5 minutes away and has some good restaurants on the water front. Hiring a tuk tuk for yourselves was a wise idea and make for convenience to travel and explore.

Many thanks once again and hope we see you here again in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
Resort Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
8.0 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Bay Resort

Property: Twin Bay Resort
Address: 333 Moo 1, Koh Lanta Yai Island | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual 3 star resort in a 5 star location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing