We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, expensive restaurant”
Review of Twin Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twin Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, expensive restaurant”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When we arrived at around 1900 after a long trip from Bulgaria, we were offered bungalows that we're facing a small road to the next resort. The receptionist explained that the road is not busy as the next hotel is the last on it. Anyway we decided to change the rooms and we took ones on the second row. There is wi-fi everywhere and it's free of charge. The restaurant is too expensive. You can eat in the town at least as twice as cheaper with much better choice of food. The prices at the bar are high as well.
The pool is clean and the beach is excellent.
There is a representative of the Blue Planet Diving center next to the bar and they offer good dive crevices.

Room Tip: Ask for the room far from the road. The road it's not busy but there is a tok-tok passing every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasendoktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for making a review of your stay with us. I am a little concerned that you say that the restaurant and bar is expensive. Compared to small places in town, yes then we are bit, but it is a resort with large overheads unlike the small operations in town. I'm know that is the same in any resort destination anywhere in the world. However i did note that you and your friends did order a large amount of food one night, so it couldnt have been that expensive.

I agree the road side is not the same as beachfront and that is why the room rates reflect that. Garden and open bay views aren't a disappointment but beachfront is better. The advantage of having the dive company at the hotel makes your diving needs easy to arrange and i am delighted you used them and enjoyed the diving off Lanta.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    194
    84
    23
    9
See reviews for
144
229
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have spent 12 Days at Twin Bay Resort. Their slogan is "a 3 star hotel in a 5 star location" but we think that it has to be changed. The atmosphere at the hotel is definitely worth 5 stars - the service is very good, the food is excellent and the staff makes you feel as if you are a part of a family.

We have enjoyed every moment of our stay at this beautiful location. The highlight of our stay was the boat trip with the hotel's own longtailboat Tiffany.

We highly recommend this hotel and are absolutely sure that we will return. We propose a new slogan "Enjoy - we will take care of you".

A special thanks goes out to John, Erik, Da and the fantastic chef who always cooked the food the way we liked it. Who knew you could make thaifood without spice?

Kind regards
"the keydroppers"

Room Tip: Beach front bungalow has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you feel we should change our star rating, however the comfort and relaxation of a casual 3 star in a 5 star location suits our current situation. Maybe one day we will be ready to aspire to greater heights.

I am also delighted you enjoyed your one day longtail trip on Tiffany. K. Da is a wonderful host and guide and like others before you, both boat and guide shine through. I am also very pleased that the staff got a mention for their friendliness and that the chef got the acclaim he deserves for his food.

I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The staff is very helpfull and friendly. The resort is in a beautiful spot and as the resort is nog too big it is really is a perfect spot to relax. The wifi connection is very good in the entire complex. We enjoyed our stay and want to thank the staff for making our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you received service with a smile. I will certainly pass on your review to all the staff to see. It is them that make the resort so special,

I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

the manager in here was very good and friendly to me. i enjoyed my stay here for 3 days and nights. It was very good because quiet not many people in swimming pool and have very very nice time at cow kwang beach. will recommend and come back again. thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Like with many reviews, our pool and surrounds always seem to relax people into the holiday feel.

I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Arrive as our guest but leave as our friend . This is the catchfrase John Bee and his Partner Dada use on their bussinesscard, and boy are they right.
Twin bay is at a beautiful beach it is quiet and the beach is clean and empty !!! According to the local law it is not allowed to put sunbeds and parasols on the beach and it is also not allowed to sell stuff on the beach or offer massages. This is great. We were in room 333 a basic but spacious room with a great view of that glorious beach. The room had a big bathroom with xl bathtub and a great shower. They provide you with big towels and botteled water. My partner got sick the first day after eating something wrong somewhere else , but John and the staff took really good care , provided him with ricesoup and extra bottles of water and so on.
From the private deck at your room you have no stairs or ramp to go down to the beach. Apperently this is a safety issue. We climbed down the deck using a daybed as a step to get to the lawn area next to the beach. It would be nice if there was something provided. The restaurant serves nice food, breakfast was basic but fresh and since we were their guests in the low season i can imagine that a breakfastbuffet isn't as elaborate as during high season when youre fullybooked.

It is a pity that there are no saves in the rooms. You can use a safetybox at the frontdesk , but these boxes are pretty small and they won't hold an ipad for instance. So if we left and did not want to leave our stuff unattendet we left it at the receptiondesk

Al in all,esspecially the location is great. Staff is friendly it isreally a place to relax and have a drink at the swimmingpool bar.

What we also did during our stay there. We made a boattrip with Tiffany. Tiffany is a beautiful traditional boat ,owned by Dada ,on which you can lounge into the sunset or as we did make a tour around the island. This was great fun and we stopped at the old town for the best fried rice ever.Then went through the mangroves and fed some monkeys. At the end of out tour the weather changed an we got soaking wet in an enormous thunderstorm , great fun !!

To get to Twin Bay resort i asked to arrange a personal transfer from krabi airport. is about a 2 hour trip including two ferrycrossings. The drivers may not drive over 100 km an hour ! But because they don't want to wait for the ferry they might race each other. In our case we found it very scary. i pointed this out to The hotelmanager and on our way back the driver really drove carefull.

Saladan is the biggest town on the island , it is a bit touristy but has it's charm, they are doing the town up and have build a new big open air market/ shoppingcenter. During the low season is the restaurant at the resort closed in the evenings but there is lots of choice in town. You can walk there in about 25 minutes or go by tuktuk witch will set you back 50 bath one way per person. On this island you pay per person as if it was a busservice , pretty strange.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday in TwinBay resort , it is a casual three star place for people who love nature and the sea and the location is worth far more than 5 stars to me.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank toine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Indeed you did arrive as our guests and left as our friends. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and also a pleasure to receive another lovely and well balanced review.

As you pointed out at the end, we are a casual 3 star resort but with a 5 + star location. Waking up to the views, nature and soothing sounds of the sea is a dream for most. Delighted you enjoyed the day out on the Tiffany the long-tail boat. She is as you say a traditional boat and very comfortable to lounge and cruise in. No doubt she will see many a guest throughout the season.

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, and i do hope we have the chance to welcome you both back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wwas a great time to stay there was very quiet. Johnathon was running around doing nearly everthing. A great tine had by us all. Rooms where great, clean and plenty of hot water. The pool was great, what a view with the pool then the trees and beach and the ocean.
We had a grest stay everone was great. And jonathon did his best to make sure everything was great. Cheers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank step51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Well i don't know what to say. It appears as if i and the location stole the show. Admittedly the location is fantastic but as for myself, i just enjoy the work i do. The real machine that makes the resort click is the staff themselves. I will definitely add them in the review when i read it out to them.

But anyway, you are absolutely right, we do have a special kind of property here for all to enjoy and i hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbayresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Came to visit Twin Bay in mid October, originally for 4 nights, however Twin Bay was so lovely, and Kaw Kwang beach so beautiful we stayed an extra 2 nights! We were very lucky with the weather, and due to the time of year being out of season had a very relaxing stay as beach was very quiet + resort less full! Beach is very clean, witnessed a beach clean up during stay. Bar and kitchen staff very friendly- very good service, attentive + speak good English. Rooms very clean and large, fridge and a/c, mosquito net over main bed, cleaned everyday- new towels, fresh bottled water,beds made. Security around at night (not that it seemed necessary) so very safe. Breakfast good- bit of variety from day to day, fresh fruit (lovely refreshing water melon!!) + options for Western food- toast, cereal, bacon, ham, egg (omelette or fried!).
Stroll into town along main road is about 20/25 minutes walk, road is not very busy, so walk is fairly safe despite Thai driving habits, otherwise Tok Tok's available in town + drive up and down road looking for business, easy to find (one available to rent from resort) and cheap- even possible to get disco Tok Tok's at night! Quite a nice variety of bars/restaurants along the beach, friendly staff, however in low season only a few stay open late (e.g. Mook Anda bar 15 minute walk along beach) so if you enjoy nightlife go during high season! Went out on managers longtail boat 3 times whilst on stay, tour round the whole of Lanta Yai, stopped for lunch in old town, saw dolphins, monkeys and were shown to a very small unclaimed island where we enjoyed a swim in the late evening! Visited a good snorkelling spot in Phi Phi and had a fishing trip!! Da was a great boat trip manager and guide round the best spots on the Islands. Missing this spot on Lanta already! Hopefully will return next year- highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests

A delightful way to wake up and see a new positive review. Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It seems as if you had been keeping a logbook going during your stay with the amount of detail in your review. it is reviews like yours that paint a thorough picture of the resort and the island which is great for readers of the review to get a clear picture.

I will pass on your nice comments to the staff and also to Da for her longtail boat guided trips. it is becoming quite popular with the guests.

hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
2.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,386 reviews
8.0 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Bay Resort

Property: Twin Bay Resort
Address: 333 Moo 1, Koh Lanta Yai Island | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual 3 star resort in a 5 star location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing