We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not disappoint - once again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Twin Bay Resort
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint - once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

It was our second time back to Twin Bay after staying here two years ago and it was as good if not better than the time before. All the staff were very friendly and willing to help. The new decor and renovations have made it even more special. We had a beachfront bungalow overlooking the beach. Well worth the extra money. Waking up to an amazing view every day was a great start to the day. Jon the resort manager as always was informative and helpful and looked after all needs. The food purchased from the restaurant was good and great value. We weren't too whooped over the BBQ dinner offered. I think that's the only thing I would like to see improved.
Not sure what to drink there? Ask about gecko bingo or one or all of the amazing cocktails on their extensive list at the poolside bar.
We went on the "Tiffany Lanta" long boat cruise and loved the experience. Taking us to see the monkeys in the mangroves and feeding them as they hopped on our boat. We even did a spot of fishing! I would recommend this to everyone that stays at Twin Bay.You can book this through the resort. This resort is excellent for families and couples or friends travelling together. We now call this place our " home away from home" We will certainly be back - hopefully sooner than later.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Ah yes the gecko bingo and long drinking session. A time to remember by all that sat at the bar. Very pleased that you liked the new look of the resort since your last visit. It appears that some have said we need some more TLC. Admittedly the resort is coming on 10 yrs old and does need some paint splashed on it, but it still retains the natural look and has the charm to go with it.

Tiffany Lanta longtail is a very popular day trip option and glad that you had some monkeys to join you on the boat. The BBQ is popular and i admit that it could be a little more organised and will be working out a new format for it next season.

So until you return, i hope that things stay fine and i will be training the geckos during the low season to run on demand.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    185
    82
    23
    9
See reviews for
136
226
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. Had a beach facing room which was great.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Our room, and the whole hotel, needs some TLC. There are a lot of cracks, peeling paint and general things that need to be fixed up. However, we did know it was a 3 star hotel when we made the booking so knew what to expect.
The beach is great for families as it's exceptionally shallow with no waves. We found we preferred Klong Nin beach which is quite a lot further south and would have, in hindsight, preferred a hotel based on this beach.
We hired a scooter which was quick and easy and were therefore really able to explore the whole island.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The same criticisms have been highlighted in previous posts and my answer is now that low season has arrived, we will be getting our paint brushes out, our electrical team in, our engineers geared up and gardeners at the ready. As with all resorts that experience heavy occupancy levels during such a short season, wear and tear happens. Its hard to get in and do anything during that time, thus we wait till now when occupancy drops to block room by room and renovate.

You say Klong Nin was more your scene. it's a matter of horses for courses as to which bay suits. The vast majority choose Kaw Kwang for the peacefulness of the bay and easy swimming without tidal worries.

Anyhow if you have the chance to come back to Lanta, please pop by and see the improvements that are currently underway as i type this reply.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with husband and teenage kids. Very quiet and peaceful. Beautiful beach. Lots of sunbeds available. The rooms were basic but clean with fresh towels provided every day. Staff were helpful and friendly, especially Eric. Communal areas were a bit tired and part of the pool had been cordoned off throughout our stay. The pool was useable but had a big bit of scaffolding in it designating the area to avoid. Food was a disappointment. Breakfast had a wide selection of cereals, toast and cooked items but the fresh fruit sat uncovered and so was infested with flies. There was a mixed fruit salad option, which was covered, so can't understand why the other fruit remained uncovered. Lunch times saw a limited menu selection. A few salads that were missing vital ingredients - no feta in the Greek salad, no parmesan in the caesar salad - and lots of pizza, burgers, etc (all the Thai style burgers were actually very tasty). We ate dinner out every evening but it was a bit far to venture into town for alternative lunch options. Overall we enjoyed our stay here but the resort could definitely benefit from a bit more attention to detail and tlc.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cocomyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Again i must agree that some areas look tired and as i have said previously, this low season we will concentrate on those areas to enhance them for next high season. The tiles in the pool started to pop up 2 weeks ago and the metal frame is in the to prevent kids and adults alike from walking in the affected area. I dont want guests hurting their feet.

The fresh fruit you mention not being covered. Obviously with the fruit salad being in a bowl it is easy to cover. The fruit however is served in the shards of the coconut tree and cannot be covered. I want as much natural materials used for serving food and displaying items.

Hope that in the future you can return to see a new fresher look.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had a great time at twin bay. I only stayed for one night but it was really good. Very helpful staff and they had a delicious sushi plate in the restaurant. Great drinks at the bar with a wonderful view of the beach!

Overall it was a great resort and i will definitely come back!

Thank you all at twinbay resort for making my stay wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perolov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests

One night in Twin Bay and a lovely review. Had you stayed longer i'm sure you would have enjoyed the full Twin Bay experience. As it is, i am delighted we left a positive impression on you and hope you can stay for a bit longer next time your on the island.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My partner Alex and I had been in Thailand for over a week, namely Phuket and Koh Phi Phi, and our last port of call was Koh Lanta from 9th - 11th April. We booked Twin Bay because we liked the look of the location and it seemed to be good value for money. Turns out we were right. The location is definitely worthy of 5 stars, some of the bungalows are situated directly on the gorgeous Klong Dao beach and the rest are a stones throw away. Alex likened the sand to the consistency of flour which is a very accurate comparison! We didn't pay the extra for a beach front bungalow but our accommodation was exactly what we required for our 2-night stay and more. It was clean, the bed was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom was very nice too and we got fresh towels (including beach towels) every day as well as drinking water and the usual maid service such as new bed sheets and a thorough clean.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Jon (the manager) and Erik were a credit to themselves and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was very nice and in our experience the staff were very welcoming and efficient. Our food was of a high standard and excellent value for money. At this stage I'd like to refer to the below review from Henrik and would like to emphasize the point that the restaurant and bar staff, as one would probably expect, are THAI. Therefore, his ignorant comment that their English isn't very good should be ignored in its entirety. I'm pretty sure their English is better than his Thai, and probably not too far off the quality of his own English linguistic 'skills'. We had no problems whatsoever.

The poolside bar had a great selection of cocktails, but sadly I was only fortunate enough to try the Pina Colada, which was among the best I've ever tasted. We spent our days lying on sunbeds on the beach rather than by the pool but the infinity swimming pool appeared inviting nonetheless. We loved it here so much that instead of going back to Phuket the night before our flight we decided to stay for an additional night and travel back to Phuket the following day. We highly recommend a trip to the Fat Monkey bar and restaurant (recommended by Erik on our first night) which is a 5-minute tuk-tuk away or a 15 minute walk along the beach. The food and cocktails here are amazing and the staff very welcoming and attentive.

On our second day we went on a private boat (owned by Jon) and were lucky enough to see the whole island including feeding monkeys by hand! We highly recommend this trip and urge you to book this with Erik upon arrival.

Thanks to all concerned for making our stay memorable and we'll hopefully see you again soon.

Kelly and Alex

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Firstly i would like to thank you for helping me reply to the reviewer below. You took the words right out of my mouth. I am delighted you had time to write such a positive review of your stay with us. Both Erik and myself do our best to please all of our guests with the full support from a great team of staff that you mentioned with praise. Clearly you did not experience what the previous reviewer supposedly did, and my F&B team will be happy to read your comments.

I'm glad you enjoyed your boat trip around the island as it gives you a completely different perspective of the island and also the monkeys are a great way to finish the trip.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back\k in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

After a 5-day stay in LaLaanta resort, we were expecting to get something similar and mind-bending for the rest of our stay on Koh Lanta.

Well, where do I begin.
First of all, the restaurant was quite... poor. The service was bad as the staff didn't understand english. Almost at all. We got wrong portions, the service was late all the time and sometimes we didn't even get any food. We tried to sympathize the staff as they were most of the time really trying but sometimes trying isn't just enough. Also they stopped serving drinks after 9pm. What a waste.

We used the laundry-service one day and we got our laundry back two days later although the staff promised it back in only one day. When we got our clothes back, they were left on the front porch of our room. In open sight! And that's not all. As we opened the bags, our clothes were ruined as they were washed in too high temperature and it wasn't assorted. At all. Nice smudges and patches on my wife's new shirt.

Well, the pool was okay, the oceanfront was really breathtaking and I really liked the concept of the location, between two bays. It was really cool.
Also, the transportation worked well enough. We got ourselves around easily and the reception called the tuk-tuks and taxis for us without any additional fee.

With some adjustments and education for the staff, Twin bay would get 4/5.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Having read your review, i am left feeling somewhat disappointed that the restaurant and bar did not meet your linguistic needs. I believe the above reviewer made this reply a lot easier thanks to them.

Clearly as the old saying goes, you can't please all the people all the time.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had a wonderful 12 nights at this resort. Standard bungalow was clean, pretty & had everything we needed. Great quite & picturesque location. Close enough to town. Plenty of information on activities on the island. Helpful & friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annesooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDeeKohLanta, General Manager at Twin Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for your positive review of your stay with us. Reviews like this get harder to acquire as the season comes to the end and staff tire a little. It has been a fantastic season and i am delighted our staff helped make your stay with us memorable.

I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Jonathan Dee
General Manager
rm@twinbaylanta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
6.4 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.4 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Bay Resort

Property: Twin Bay Resort
Address: 333 Moo 1, Koh Lanta Yai Island | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual 3 star resort in a 5 star location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Twin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing