We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moonlight Bay is the place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Ko Lanta is a beautiful island, partly with rainforest!!! The spacious Moonlight Bay resort is exactly at the good location. There is a very small beach with rocks but to the south you are in 5 minutes by tuk-tuk or scooter (cheap and very much recommended) at a wonderful beach. The restaurant-bar-swimming pool area is the 'central square' from where you have a fantastic view of the sea. Sunset every evening is spectacular. The Thai and western food is the best you can wish. We booked the sea-view wooden bungalows. Moonlight Bay was the highlight of our vacation. We will definetely come back. Friendly staff, great place, top-location and scooters for rent. This island is ideal for scooters. Only a few roads, just a few traffic lights. Very safe place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willempostTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

Wonderful place, people and service!
I read here that some people found it necessary to upgrade to sea view but I loved my forest view in the middle of the jungle. I heard exciting sounds from all kinds of animals - but the door and windows had very efficient mosquito nets so I never found unwanted guests inside ;).

The location on the island is very good - you can go north to the busier beaches or south, to paradise beaches, which I did.

The hotel is very well kept and tastefully built in the forest.

And the staff is amazing! Nothing ever was a problem, everybody smiled in a very genuine way.

I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neeta30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We have just spent 8 days in Ko Lanta and got married on the 22/01/11. We had such a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff were all amazing, the rooms fantastic and we could not fault the hotel. The view from the sun deck at the rocky bar while the sun sets is amazing. Its the perfect location with your own private beach so lovely & quiet. The swimming beach is 10 mins around the corner and is 3km long. Our wedding was so lovely and the hotel made our day perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We spent 6 days at the Moonlight Bay Resort with our 2 young children aged 5 and 6 and cannot fault it. The rooms are simple (we were in a Forest View) but we did not spend much time there and the beach rocky but the location is gorgeous, the staff friendly and the food great. Our girls were happy playing in and around the pool and collecting shells on the beach. We spent Xmas here and the staff made Xmas Eve very special for the kids staying there (Santa arrived on a bike with presents for everyone).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed 5 nights at Moonlight bay in the beginning of November and enjoyed every minute. Even if the weather not was perfect our stay with Moonlight bay was.

Cleanliness:
The cleaning was flawless. The maintenance kept our villa in perfect shape. The outdoor areas is kept in mint condition and the pool is nice and clean.

Service:
Everyone in the staff made the best to make us feel like we were the only ones they cared for, they all have a warm heart, always a big smile and time to talk and make us feel just great. My kids really didn’t want to leave some of them. Peuw (?) even came to say goodbye to the kids on her day off when we left, that really says something about the staff.

Location:
If you want to stay at a long sandy beach like Klong Dao, this is not the right place for you. There are some rocks at the beach areas, that makes it a little tricky to get out for swimming, but either you go 100 m north there is a part of the beach that is ok, or take the advantage of the free transportation to the Klong Nin beach, were they also arrange to pick you up in the afternoon, if you like. Also a slow walk along the beach up to Ravi Warin and a tuk tuk from there (20 THB to Moonlight from 7/11, not more) is nice. If you would like to eat somewhere else, you need to take a tuk tuk a bit south, but we ate all dinners at Moonlight and was very pleased with both the menu and the chef.

Value:
Not the cheapest resort if you prefer a front side villa, but my opinion is that Moonlight gives a lot of value for the money. And if you can afford it, I recommend the front side villas, the view from there is just stunning.

Rooms:
Just great, we stayed in the new villas with 2 bedrooms with own hot tub at the sundeck, and we more or less spend an hour every night in there, enjoying a drink and the view of the ocean. There is actually hot water for them as well.
Sleep quality:
Just great, slept like a baby.

Others:
Moonlight bay, has an great structure, with very nice & clean bungalows. They have a staff that is proud of what they are doing and always have a smile for you, It’s clear that they take a great pride in their resort, many of them have been working at the resort for many years. No issue is too complicated o big for them. During our stay there was 3 weddings at the resort, that they handled, as we saw it, just perfect. Remember to talk to the staff, tell them if you miss anything but also let them know when you are satisfied and that a smile always is appreciated and bring people closer to each other.

We will be back, that's for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorn_Are
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

This was our first holiday in Thailand and it definitely didn't disappoint us. The resort is located at coast but in the middle of the island so it's about 20 minutes from the island's biggest city Saladan, where the ferries land. There are a few supermarkets and restaurants along the road near the hotel but we ate almost every evening at the resort's own restaurant. The tables were outside by the sea, very nice setting, and we found also the food very good and moderately priced (compared to elsewhere on the island). They had also a great bar, the Rocky bar, where we admired the sun set very often.

They have different types of bungalows, ours was the Seaview bungalow, which I would definitely recommend, because as the name already tells, they have a great view to the sea. Others, River view and Forest view bungalows are not so great, some of the Forest view bungalows are really in the forest so you can't enjoy any views. They have also the Beachfront villas, but those are not bungalows anymore but small houses (and also the prices are quite high during the high/middle season). Our bungalow had one room with an "outdoor" bathroom and a nice balcony. The mattress was quite hard but that's probably common in Thailand.

The pool was not very big but clean and had enough chairs with pool towels around it. The resort's own beach is very rocky and therefore it's quite difficult to go swimming during high-tide (you can't see the rocks so you hurt yourself more easily). There is however another beach (belongs maybe to another hotel) next to this one and we used that when we wanted to swim in the sea.

The resort has its own spa, which can be warmly recommended. They make different kinds of treatments there, the prices are definitely higher than at the small massage rooms you can see in the cities, but the personnel is good trained and very friendly, so if you are more interested in good quality massages than just finding the cheapest price, go for it.

We spent 6 lovely nights at Moonlight Bay before we continued to Bangkok. We liked the place very much, so maybe we'll return someday.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miumiu_1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We went there on low season, so we had a nice bungalow for a reasonable price. The resort itself is really beautiful, directly at the beach with pool, bar, restaurant etc. Althought we were almost the only guests, the staff was very friendly and always here for us. The food at the restaurant was excellent and so were the drinks :)
You can also rent a bike there to drive around the island.
We had a great time and as the weather wasn't that good, we were glad to have picked a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soleil_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.6 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
494 reviews
3.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
618 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,560 reviews
6.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#9 of 85 in Ko Lanta
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort

Address: 69 Moo 8 | Ban Klongtob, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £32 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing