We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This resort could be so much better, they need to demolish the " mangrove swamp " chalets and improve the others. We paid top price for the sea view jacuzzi villa, based on previous trip advisor reviews, although the room was a bit of a let down with poor furnishings and a terribly hard bed, like elsewhere in Thailand, "Yes", is the common answer to everything, even though hardly anyone speaks English, even worse down here in Koh Lanta, ( which overall is disapponting too ) yet Yes means nothing more often than not, so any request goes unanswered, e.g. like can we have a mattress topper - " Yes ", but never materialised after 6 nights !
The sea view is great, and you can access the sea also, we swam there every day, so don't be put off by the " rocks", in fact we never used the beach just down the road. The Rocky bar is also good and a great place to wind down at night. The restaurant is poor, as are most in Koh Lanta and overall I found the staff to be poor too, apart from Saly (and Ken who tries too). Shame it has so much potential.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view or hill top, don't get a swamp room unless you never get bitten by mossies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This resort has it all: perfect well maitained houses, a stunning view, great pool and private beach, good restaurant and above all the nicest staff! And don't forget the somewhat hidden unique cocktail bar with deck that oversees the whole coastline. Delicious cocktails, relaxed music, candles and colored lanterns. Ask for your diner to be served there and experience pure romance! Btw, try the seafood bbq the best we ever had!
All in all, a five star experience for a three star price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alexhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed a week on Ko Lanta on our 4 week trip through Thailand. And as we wanted to dive we chose Ko Lanta. The first 3 nights we booked in the Baan Laanta Resort at Kantiang Bay where the divecentre scubafish is located. We thought it would be a nice hotel looking at the photos but were highly disappointed. Read more in that review.
So when we changed to Moonlight Bay Resort we were overhwelmed by the cleanliness and friendliness of the family run resort as well by the stunning little bay with super clean private beach with crystal blue water and white sand.
Kantiang Bay has got a few luxury resorts so we thought that must be the most beautiful beach but in fact we weren't impressed. The Bay at Moonlight Bay Resort was much better.
Breakfast was ok other food we did not try. The room was spacious enough for the 2 of us and well equipped with anything a traveller might need even a big flatscreen tv much to the pleasure of my boyfriend who couldn't dare to watch kricket :) They provide scooter rental and it is a lot of fun and convenient to drive down to the south of the island or even make a round trip as we did. Don't miss the hammock shop in Old Town! We could have spend another week at Moonlight Bay

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scubadivingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, after we changed from another resort. The Moonlight resort offered us a great deal for sea view bungalow. We were really impressed by great interiors, fantastic helpful & discrete staff. The rooms vere cleanest I have ever seen in Thailand :-).
The small minus is the fact that is is rather impossible to swim in the sea, due to huge waves & some big rocks hidden under water. It wasn't that important for us, however we learned later, taht the hotel organises transfer to Long beach, every day at 10am.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 700Jezabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were extremely impressed by the hospitality of the owner and staff of the Moonlight Exotic Bay Resort. Food was excellent and the whole setting was so peaceful. We could easily stay for a whole month if time permits.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d902fulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for two nights after travelling around Ao Nang, Railay and Phi Phi. We were looking for a relaxing end to the holiday and that's exactly what we got!! Our room left us speechless, it was beautiful and the view is stunning. The pool area is great, plenty of beds, the restaurant food was delicious. Every member of staff is incredibly friendly.

The only small criticism we had was how quiet it was. Although this was partly what we wanted we felt there was a lack of atmosphere due to there being no music in the restaurant. This was rectified immediately when we asked Ken however and it made all the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hart2Hartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Private beach, nice staff. Its a family hotel with a lot of children so maybe not that much for a young couple without children. Specially since you can't get to another beach easely. They do have a shuttle but it goes back to the hotel around 1 pm. I wish they have hade free shuttle in the evening aswell, then it wouldnt have been as isolated. But nice place overall.

The room (river view) was ok but smelled of mold. We only stayed 3 nights so it was ok. The location is not good if you like us want to eat at different places. You had to take a tuk tuk for 100 bath each way. Lunch you had to eat there... Not that cheap but the food was good.

Room Tip: The newer beach front "villas" looked really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annacarlstedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.1 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,487 reviews
6.2 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
3.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
6.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort

Address: 69 Moo 8 | Ban Klongtob, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £21 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing