We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for couples in search of peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor. The resort has a rustic touch but lovely, alot of lush greenery and a nice bar with an amazing sunset view. We got the upgrade to the Seaview when we asked, which was nice. The rooms are basic but comfortable, and we slept like babies. The plus side of this place is the total sense of peace and quiet you get here as most guests were older Caucasian couples, friendly staff and plenty of privacy suitable for couples and the stunning sunset views.

The down side of the hotel included the hotel location which was quite isolated with no shops within walking distance, the many steps to climb to get to your room (avoid bringing yr trolley bags here!) and the rocky beachfront .You have to hop on the hotel's complimentary ride to Khlong Nin beach 5 mins away for sunbathing on the beach and access to the beachfront restaurants, pubs, 7-11 and shopping. The hotel is also about 20 mins or so away from Saladan which is the main town area if you want to find more options for shopping and dining.

Nonetheless we enjoyed our stay on Lanta thorougly and appreciated the honest and helpful tuk-tuk (taxi) driver Mr Armad usually parked outside the hotel who was ever helpful to take us around at a nominal fee which he left up to us to decide and sometimes complimentary.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzySkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

This is one fo the most wonderful and relaxed resorts I have ever been to. Firstly, Ko Lanta itself has (so far) escaped the creazy development of Phuket and Ko Samui and is pretty much a string of hotels on the different beaches of the west-side of the island. Moonlight's own beack is quite small but very picturesque and the beach bar is an awesome place to watch the sunset from. Restaurant is good and inexpensive and the pool very nice. We stayed in the (cheapest) River View bungalows which are a 2 minute walk from the beach and pool area. The room is large and clean with a very nice porch area overlooking a river and the jungle. There is no unpleasant smell. Bed and bedding are excellent and the bathroom is perfectly funtional. Overall, excellent value for money, was very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiMaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

A great hotel and the staff a excellent. Rooms could do with alittle TLC and shame there is no beach but that did not spoil our holiday. Hire a motor bike and you can be on the beautifyl beaches within minutes or the hotel provides their own transport. Could not fault the staff and the manager kai is really helpful and speaks great English. Further down the coast from a lot of the hotels but we found this to be a good thing, the beach bars and restaurants were not overcrowded or too noisy but still had great atmosphere. wouls use this resort again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdrunvs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Moonlight Bay Resort is a great resort with great staff and rooms. The only possible down side from our POV, would be it's location. You cannot walk via the beach to other beaches, but have to take the road (~15min walking distance to Klong Nin, ~15min by tuk-tuk to Long Beach). Takes about 25-30 minutes by tuk-tuk to Ban Saladan if you want to go go for an evening snack or a drink or do some shopping (the resort has it's own cozy bar as well). If you want to you can also rent a moped/motorbike from the resort which is both cheaper and faster than a tuktuk (if you are going to Saladan)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobyLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This place is a real find! Incredible views from our sea view villa - not restricted in any way like previous 'sea view' hotel rooms. The whole layout of the hotel is good and spacious, each villa is private with only the noise of the ocean. Oh, and the roosters which woke us up between 5 and 7 am every morning of the 5 days we were there. But the hotel was so good, i can forgive them even this! Very friendly staff, particularly the female receptionist - she was lovely, very helpful and arranged a day trip to phi phi (which included snorkling and visits to secluded bays), a trip to the Thai boxing, and all our transport needs with no problems at all. If you can put up with the roosters i would highly recommend. The only negative was the cookery school - costs 18 GBP, was supposed to last 2 hours, was in fact 20 minutes where the chef showed me how to mix pre chopped veg into a shop bought pre prepared thai curry sauce - i could do that at home for free! very very quiet in the evenings - not at all a party hotel, more a quiet getaway for couples

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We saw many great reviews of the Moonlight Bay resort, and so booked for a week there over Christmas. The cottage did look nice, very "ecologically" designed, until my wife realized the materials (bare wood and concrete, etc.) used in the bathroom looked nice but could not possibly be sanitized at all. MANY stairs to climb, all the time. Beach full of rocks completely unusuable, must drive to get to a usable beach.

We reserved and paid for 6 nights, used one and left after being assured they would charge only two nights on my card. They would not refund - we are fighting that now. We went a short ways away and found many nice hotels on good beaches for between the same and one fifth the price - we did have a great vacation, but not there.

What I can't understand is how they got so many good reviews? I suppose if you come to Ko Lanta with no desire to use the beaches, and have lots of energy/time for stair climbing, it might be great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jackwsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We last 4 days of our holiday in Honeymoon Suite at Moonlight Bay. Although not on our honeymoon we decided to spoil ourselves, having spent 5 nights in a sweltering bungalow at Relax Bay (no A/C rooms available). The suite was lovely with stunning sunset views from jacuzzi on balcony and nice little touches such as rose petals in heart-shape strewn across the bed. Staff lovely and couldn't do enough. Reception staff very helpful when I realised our flight home had actually been night before!
As others have mentioned downside is lack of proper beach but nearby Klong Nin is fine with relaxed vibe and diverse bars and restaurants. Whilst there we had 2 massages at Moon's Massage on the beach which were fantastic, including the 2hr Relax to the Max massage, a combination of Thai & oil massage. Moon's mother and grandmother were masseuses and she learnt their techniques as a child, which she combines with her formal massage training. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.1 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,474 reviews
3.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
560 reviews
6.2 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
6.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort

Address: 69 Moo 8 | Ban Klongtob, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £23 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing