We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Negative:
Airconditioning is extremly loud. It's not able to cool at a constant level but turning on and off all the time like a fridge.
Many times we didn't have warm water to take a shower.
The resort has got four stars but it doesn't deserve more than three.
Room quality is poor, they need to pay more attention to details like painting.
The beach is quite long in both directions and on some places there is to much garbage.

Positive
Quality of food at the restaurant. Price is a bit higher but you get what you pay for. You can let them charge to the room nr. so no hassle with cash every time.
Staff is very polite and can be asked for everything you want to now about Thailand, weather, tours etc.
Tours nicely organised at the reception desk and charged to room nr.
Pool cannot be used at night time, however, staff won't send you away or make any comments.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    130
    62
    24
    26
See reviews for
90
197
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel has priced itself to complete with the other luxury hotels on the island. However, the price is far too much for the quality of the stay. I would have rather paid a little more and stayed in true luxury or paid much less and received about the same quality.

The pros of this hotel are: The stay at this hotel is comfortable and the rooms are clean. The grounds of the hotel are also very nice and the breakfast area has a beautiful view of the morning sun. Along the beach (which is probably the nicest beach on the island) you will find many bars and restaurants. I highly recommend dinner at the Thai Cat which has the best food on the island, great service and amazing views of the sunset. It's also a quick ride to the main town and typically there are cabs outside the hotel to take you (100 baht).

The reason for my low review score is related to the price for the services provided.
- The rooms are really showing their age and were no better to me then a nice room at budget hotel.
- The room service people didn't really clean the room. For example, they just emptied our used glasses and turned them back over.
- All the beach chairs were "reserved" by other guests by 8:00 am and I think for the price paid guests should not have to fight for beach chairs.
- On Sunday nights there is a boxing show close by and it's so loud that it sounds like it's at the hotel.

The entire time I was staying at this hotel, I had an overwhelming feeling that I had overpaid and I think this is not what should happen at a "resort". I don't think this hotel itself is bad, I just think guests should be aware that the price is very high and experience is not reflective of the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow as they seem to be higher quality and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAINES UPON THAMES UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I have just returned from a 10 day stay at Lantasand Resort, and everything was perfect.
I stayed with friends in 2 pool access rooms, which was perfect for an early morning dip, and the poolside was always very quiet.
The resort is just amazing, and is in a wonderful beachside location, and we had a totally relaxing holiday.
There are lots of excellent restaurants nearby, serving very reasonably priced food of
excellent quality and taste.
Personally for me-the best restaurants are Thai Cat, Mr Wee and Second Home.
We also spent most evenings having a nightcap at the Ozone Bar, and we were entertained by
Leo and his friendly staff.
All the staff at Lantasand were extremely friendly and courteous, and a special mention must go to Pramote the business Manager who answered my emails with speed and efficiency.
The only criticism is the lack of sunbeds, and we had to be up early each morning by 0800 to
reserve 4 sunbeds and umbrellas.
Apparently the sunbeds under the trees by the restaurant, are all reserved with towels by 0530?
Access into Saladan town is also very easy, and the tuk tuks and pick up vans will take
passengers for 50 baht per person.
In Saladan there are lots of shops and stalls, and also a variety of restaurants.
We dined on 2 occasions at Lanta Seafood which was recommended by a local person, and the food was incredible.
This restaurant does get very busy, so it is advisable to go early-by 1930, as there is no facility
to make a reservation.
I will definitely go back to Koh Lanta again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

This is a great hotel. We stayed in a bungalow with an outside bath and shower and it was beautiful. They have plent of sun loungers on the beach to sit on and it is a quick walk to the pool if you want a dip. The rooms was lovely and they breakfast was good as they changed the options ever day. The location is great as it is a quick walk along the beach to other restuarants. I would love to go back here and would really recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marazion, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Mr Mottie...... really looked after us here at this hotel. This hotel is set on a really cool laid back area of Long Beach. The hotel has a lovely feel to it under a canopy of large tree's and a beautiful garden walk thru to the beach. Although our initial room didn't really accomodate our family of four, Mr Mottie changed us to a 2 bedroom pool side room. No extra charge which he didn't really have to but this made us stay. Ok it does smell a bit in the room but if you could get past that your good to go into relax mode. This is a hotel who doesn't do music but a good breakfast and a good nights sleep was ideal for our needs. Next door is Mr Wee's bar and restaurant behind moped rentals and beside Neil in the dive shop a great host to the area. What more can I say except our 3 nights went into 13 nights what with feeling relaxed and added island trips, swims .... a BIG THANK YOU to all the team of Lanta Sand and Spa and especially the hard working Mottie. Keep up the great work. I hope we get to stay with you again.

Room Tip: Talk to Mottie...... he's the best and sweetest guy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel on the best part of Long beach. Great breakfast with a lot to choose from, even fresh juice. Service and food was very good. Avoid the "spa" which is no good and overpriced. We stayed in a deluxe bungalow. It was nice but a bit worn down. Beds are as always in Thailand, rock hard.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrNo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st ives
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We have stayed at this resort nearly every year for the last five years. We can't fault it and find it excellent value.
It's in a great location on Long Beach (the best beach in our opinion on Lanta) and is set
in the most beautiful grounds which are very well kept. We stay in one of the spacious bungalows with outdoor bathrooms. Sun beds over looking the beach or the swimming pools. An ideal resort for both families and couples - Our party ranged from pensioners to a six month old baby.
Brilliant breakfasts catering for all tastes - eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, salads, parties, traditional thai, huge selection of fruits nicely presented, cereals, cold meats......something for everybody.
The staff are all wonderful too and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Really recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Recommend the bungalow type rooms over the apartment rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stives_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
6.1 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Sand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Sand Resort and Spa

Property: Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Address: 279 Moo 3 | Long Beach, Tambon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanta Sand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Modern mix Classical in style. Lanta Sand Resort& Spa is a tropical paradise of relaxing garden, Surrounded by coconut trees, lotus lagoon and crystal clear water, white sand beaches. The resort offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Sand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Sand Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing