We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    131
    62
    24
    26
See reviews for
91
200
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

The Lanta Sand is a lovely resort, that should not be in question. Long Beach is beautiful, within easy access of Saladan and the rest of the island by fun motor bike.

We were return customers and as such they upgraded us to a beach front bungalow, which was lovely. However there was no hot water in the room, which we reported on our second day, only to be told the engineer had gone home and would look at it the next day. He aparently did come, took a cursory glance and approved it as working. It was not. We reported it again that night as we couldn't stand more cold showers - they sent 3 engineers that night who stood in our room for 2 hours and still did not fix it. Their English was quite poor so he was unable to inform us what we could do.

We called reception who did not seem to know how to help us. WE made the suggestion of another room vacant which we could shower in. They agreed. The water was NEVER fixed during our stay - we had to shower in the other room.

Upon checkout they offered NO discount for our inconvenience, which is poor for repeat customers.

It IS a lovely resort, especially if you have children (most couples did) but if you don't (we don't) the pool area is dominated by kids. I wouldn't class it appropriate for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, landscaping
  • Disliked — Pool was full of children. All sunbeds reserved early in the morning by tourists. Poor organisation and help by staff. Very loud nightclub next door (Zone Bar) on Thurs night up to 4am - no sleep possible
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scous2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We stayed in the hotel for three days during a trip around Thailand. For the standard of hotel it is excellent value. We stayed in one of the bungalows which had a beautiful marble and travertine bathroom with a separate outdoor bath - fabulous! The large room had good air con and fridge, huge bed with very chic furniture and artwork and an outdoor lounging area at the front. There are two swimming pools, both very stylishly designed, one more Thai feeling - stone elephants etc- and the other more minimalist - decking, very clean lines etc.

We travelled with our 2 year old and the staff could not have been more helpful re a cot (no charge) milk etc. One of the pools has loads of pool toys and is great for kids, but still peaceful (ie not invaded by hoards of screaming children!) The hotel is set on the beachfront on a nice part of the beach and the gardens around the hotel are immaculate and beautifully lit at night.

We went for a snoop around Layana just up the beach and felt very smug at what a bargain we were getting in comprison!

  • Liked — Standard of the room and pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sarah008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2008

We stood at Lanta Sands resort for 2 days on a thailand trip. Bungalow was spacious and stuff very helpful. Its a nice place to relax. Pool area is nice too. On the beach they have to less sunbeds . In total it was a very nice stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We had just arrived from spending New Year on koh tao and were hoping for somewhere relaxing. This was the place. We had been staying in pretty cheap accomodation and this was a lovely treat. when we arrived out bags were taken straight to our rooms and given a complimentry drink. The bungalows were amazing, clean, really nicely decorated, huge! It was very quiet hardly saw anyone there. You didnt need to rush to get a sunbed on the beach. The beach was lovely and quiet.
We booked in for a couple of treatments in the spa which we were really nice and very cheap.
The breakfast is pretty basic and the meals in the restaurant at lunchtime were pretty poor, you were better off walking up the beach to a couple of near by restaurants. The resort is a couple of mins taxi ride from the main area of bars and restaurants. We hired scooters and they were a great way to see the island.
We had a great time there and would definately go back.

  • Liked — the quiet and relaxed atmosphere, and the bungalows
  • Disliked — the food in the restaurant
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
living in Seoul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2006

My wife and I and our two babies really enjoyed the resort. In fact this is the first review I felt I should post because the resort left such a positive impression.
The location was very quite and somewhat remote which is exactly what we wanted. We were at the end of low season so the resort was far from crowded. The hospitality by everyone from the reception area to the cleaning crews to the restaurant and bar areas was extremely friendly. Everyone seems to wear a permanant smile there. If you are looking for a quite get away then this is the place for you- especially if you have kids. There was plenty of shade in the pool area and by the sea. The resort is a very short beach walk from 6 or 7 places to eat and a 10 minute motorcycle-taxi ride from the little town. There may be nicer places that are easier to get to but if you decide to go here I feel that you will be very satisfied.

  • Liked — Comfort level and very friendly staff
  • Disliked — must hire boat for good snorkeling- All sand area by resort=no coral/fish
  • Tips/Secrets — You can make all arrangements necessary through main reception desk.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detroiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

My husband and I were looking for a 2-week beach get away for peace and relaxation and we found it here. The hotel and location had good points and bad, but overall we would recommend this hotel and return ourselves. We were in ultra low season, not much open or to do. Only thing we wanted to do other than swim, read and watch the sunset was to snorkel and dive. Ocean swimming here this time of year was poor. Often rough surf and cloudy water. Did go on dive/snorkel trip to Koh Bai which was nice, but squall came up in afternoon making it a rough ride back to Lanta.

Good points of hotel: Manager very pleasant and eager to please. Escorted us one evening to a beach bar about 10 minutes away so we would find the right place. Pool immaculate. Beach bar was not open, but if we went to restaurant they would give us drinks...never did come to serve us much on the beach. Beachfront villa was awesome. Huge and bathroom fantastic.
If you go, look for Pan, tall girl who works in the restaurant. She's the best. Great service & english. Can give you lots of tips on what to do.

Bad points: Other than Pan, restaurant service pretty poor. Friendly enough, but you have to ask for everything...keep asking, they keep trying. Food was hit & miss. Great tom yum gun soup, pad thai and seafood platter. Aweful satay. Bed was really hard and so were the pillows. Wireless internet (expensive) went down three days before we left and was still not working when we left. When it did work, it was very slow. Most days had to ask for maid service to get it in the morning, as we liked to rest in room during afternoon heat.

Overall, this was a good deal at half-off low season rates. I would have been more picky if we were paying higher in-season rates.

  • Liked — Beachview, bathroom
  • Disliked — Restaurant service
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tldurgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.1 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Sand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Sand Resort and Spa

Property: Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Address: 279 Moo 3 | Long Beach, Tambon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanta Sand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Modern mix Classical in style. Lanta Sand Resort& Spa is a tropical paradise of relaxing garden, Surrounded by coconut trees, lotus lagoon and crystal clear water, white sand beaches. The resort offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Sand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Sand Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing