We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful beach with stylish nightlife” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach

Ranked #4 of 44 things to do in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
414 reviews
304 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“beautiful beach with stylish nightlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

we stayed the second time at the southend of long beach/phra ae beach and also this time we were very happy with our decision to chose that place. in the south of phra ae beach it is easy to go swimming also during low tide and it is not so overcrowded like on other places in the north of long beach. a small river divides the beach and so the most of the beachwalkers stop and return at the river. long beach itself is kilometers long, has nice places to go swimming but also areas with rocks and big stones under the surface of the water. the water is clear and the beach slopes not very gently to the andamansea. for families with small children khlong dao beach (the next beach in the north) is much better, for the rest of tourists who stay in middleclass or highclass resorts long beach is perfect. the sunsets are spectacular, the sand is not so pwdery and on windy days it is nevertheless possible to take a sunbath on a towel on the ground. we can recomment long beach/phra ae beach very much. when we are back on koh lanta we will go there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    456
    151
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Enough of services, not too many tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Lovely, long, relaxing beach, where swimming is easier than in the Klong Dao beach, as the beach is steaper. Enough of services/bars/restaurants, but not so developed as the Klong Dao (which is knid of boring because of it).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The hot spot on koh lanta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Long beach is long so even when lots of people are there ... it never seems too crowded. Nice sand, clear water, lots of seafront places to eat and drink. Beach parties at night with performers etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giddybootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet beach - empty sea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here over Xmas & expected it to be busy. In fact, the beach was really quiet most of the time and we had loads of space to ourselves. The sand is gorgeous and soft and there is some shade from trees at several points along the beach. The only strange thing was that hardly anyone was swimming. We soon discovered why... There seemed to be tiny jellyfish in the water during the week we were there. As we were swimming we felt tiny stings and could touch things with our fingers, but we couldn't see them. The stings don't leave any marks and don't actually hurt - it was just a momentary stinging sensation. The people at our resort said that it was probably baby jellyfish...
Weird! A good place to eat on this beach is Lym's Rice Bowl.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emyfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's Postcard Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Long Beach is, literally, the ideal beach. It's huge. Stretching forever in both directions. The water is bathtub warm, the sun is always overhead (except when it grants you the most beautiful sunsets on earth and while there are people everywhere, it never feels crowded because it's just so big.

There are bars, restaurants and massage places everywhere - so whenever you get a hankering for anything, it's just a quick stroll through the sand to whatever you desire. We enjoyed great food, cool drinks and some wonderful Thai Massages - all without ever leaving the beach.

Go. Enjoy. It is postcard perfect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Beach also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing