We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Comfortable Luxurious Local Brand.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rawi Warin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Luxurious Local Brand.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The whole resort themed like a hillside villa houses overlooking the sea. Rooms are big enough with fantastic ocean view, complete with a small balcony. Facilities are great, restaurant a bit expensive, not totally unexpected though. The highlights of this resort is the rubber jetty with an enclosure right at the end, means you could see a pool in the middle of the sea, something I've never experienced. The free kayak offered by the resort is a beautiful feature which I used almost daily, going out to the sea on the sunset hour and watch primitive fishermen doing their work each in their small row boats. Very relaxing experience!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDI-SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawiwarinkrabi, General Manager at Rawi Warin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the time and effort. The new management team and I are using your comment to keep in focus what really works at the resort and what should not be forgotten.

Kind regards


Jesper Doepping
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    260
    90
    56
    42
See reviews for
174
450
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

By their web site this place looks incredible. And on the surface of it, absolutely. However, what 4 to 5 star has mouldy bedding? It was changed after the second time we complained which was nice but for the advertised 5 star prices it's almost a non-recoverable failure. Who wants to walk into their 5 star room for the first time and smell old mould? Perhaps a nice oil scent? Maybe?? Service at the pool bar was 2 star for 5 star prices and the bill included a compulsory 10% service tip along with the 7% VAT. At one point a front of house staff member walked away from me because they could not understand English. The service and food 5 mins down the beach at the backpacker bars was much better. I recommend walking down the road for some value food. Overall, it is a very beautiful place, but they need to hire some better staff and wash the linen more regularly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanKennaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawiwarinkrabi, General Manager at Rawi Warin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Sean,

First thank you for taking the time to evaluate our resort. the new management team and I have used your comments to change several aspects which I will comment on below.

Mouldy bedding can in our Thai climate happen inside 24 hours if the room is not proper aired and the bedding was not completely dry when applied. You are completely correct a bedding can not have mouldy smell in even a 3 star Hotel. Therefore we have changed the standard procedures for setting up the room before the guests arrived. We have established a new quality checking procedure for the cleaning and airing of the rooms on a daily basis.

The service charge of 10% and the VAT of 7% is fairly standard for all Thai Hotel's. The service charge is an internal employee compensation which is basically not relevant for the guests and teh VAT is a standard tax that everybody have to pay. All of this is off course now included in the price. And personal service tips have to be added on top of the guests want to provide this.

Concerning the English level in the staffwe are the first to admit that it needs continued improvement. However, we still stick to our policy of trying to employ locals as much as possible in order to make sure that they also benefits from the presence of Hotels in the area. This does however, mean that we have to continously use money on training staff in English which we are now doing.

Again thank you for using your valuable time to evaluate us.

Kind regards

Jesper Doepping
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I would definitely not stay at this hotel again. It isn't worth the money, especially compared to other places on the island.

We were overcharged on the hotel transfer. We were told it was 400 baht per van. There happened to be another couple that shared the van with us, yet we were both charged 400 baht, not 200 per couple.

As it was Chrimstas, we were forced to buy the compulsory dinner for US$70. This did not include drinks, even water or soda. It was a buffet. The food was cold and not very tasty. The show was dreadful and I was glad when it was over. I expected more for $70. At a minimum, I expected a glass of water.

The room was advertised as having free Internet, however it didn't work in any of the rooms. It only worked in the common areas. Not the end of the world, but false advertising.

The travel agent was not knowledgeable. She gave us the wrong information. Thankfully we double-checked with other travel agents.

The pool was filthy. We saw weird colored foam in the corners.

Unlike everywhere else we stayed in Thailand, some of the staff was friendly, but not all. I was prepared to say something about our stay upon checkout, however the receptionist did not ask us how our stay was. He just agave us the bill. Not even a thank you was said.

The rooms and the property were nice enough, although a little outdated. The breakfast buffet was fine.

Had this property been a fraction of the price, it would have been tolerable and I would have given it a 3 - Average rating. However, considering this place cost more than twice as much as the Le Meridien in Chiang Rai and 70% more than the Le Meridien in Bangkok, it was a total rip off and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

After travelling around Thailand for 3 weeks and many stays at similar types of resorts on this trip and prior travel, I had a reasonably high expectation of the resort based on the photos and the price tag per night.

The property is heavily developed for the space available and the pool feels a little cramped with not much seating. The beach is not bad though as most people stay by the pool.

The resort is a few years old now, and is a little tired around the edges.

Where this resort fails is in expectations. Thailand for those traveling on US dollars is pretty cheap, and here we have a resort that is charging western prices yet doesn't deliver that truly polished experience for the money.

Here are some examples

1. A forced acceptance of a pre paid Christmas dinner with the room booking at $70 a person
2. Dinner didnt include any alcohol included in the price and the food was an average buffet at best. For $140 for two people in Thailand even at the resorts this is a huge price for a dinner; even water was additional!
3. Internet didn't work during the entire stay despite repeated escalations to the front desk and helpdesk.
4. The hotel requires you to sign out an internet code even if you are using the lobby PC's. Its the most antiquated system and is just another small niggle that typifies how this hotel operates.

On the positive side the staff try very hard to be friendly and helpful but they don't have the processes and leadership to deliver the final experience.

To sum up, this hotel acts like it wants to be a top tier resort, charges prices for a top tier resort yet feels like those that run this place have never been to a high end resort and know what it really takes to deliver that experience.

Whilst not boutique give me a Starwood Le Meridien any day over this.





.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gavinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great setting with beautiful gardens but the rooms are in those gardens and often up the hills. A long walk to the main hotel area. They have golf carts but it's a hassle.The beach is not really good in front of the hotel - too rocky. Great infinity swimming pool though. The rooms are well appointed and large. The breakfast buffet is above average. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Quiet and definitely not for party people

The wi-fi does not work as advertised. The swimming pool closes at 7pm. The restaurant is a bit overpriced for Koh Lanta. The in-room safety deposit box did not work. The occasional language barrier.

Room Tip: Book your Phi Phi Island Tours from the agency next to the 7-eleven outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystalperido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Rawi Warin is amazing, but nothing is perfect. We stayed for 14 nights. The rooms are very good, specialy the bathroom. The bed was a bit to hard for us though, maybe because we are used to quite soft beds in scandinavia. If you get a room with sea view you are lucky, the sight and sunset is amazing. The only thing I can complain about is a bad smell of suage on the balcony.

The breakfast buffet was stunning and free of charge, and the food served in the restaurants was very tasty. What I didn't like was that they charged 10% service charge, wich is fear enough, but on top of that they did expect a tip as well? What is service charge if it's not a tip? If you want to stay in touch with the world by WiFi on Rawi Warin, forget about it! The WiFi is free of charge, but it is soooo slow, takes about 15 min to download each website. There is a tailor on the resort, he is very good with makeing suits and dresses, but not order a wintercoat from him. The Thais does not know how to make winter clothes.

Enjoy your stay at Rawi Warin, it is a very nice resort.

Room Tip: Choose the Pound rooms, they are a lot more accesible to the pool and beach. And they are more likel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawi_Warin, Public Relations Manager at Rawi Warin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear brister, Oslo, Norway
Thank you for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to
makingyou feel more than welcome again soon.

Have a safe and pleasant journey to your next destination.

Warmest Regards,
KT
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Rawi Warin in November. The resort is very well located in the middle of Ko Lanta island giving us the opportunity to qickly go to Saladan Town in the north and to beautiful beaches in the south. The quality of the resort and of the room were very good but the first day we had to fight with a lot of Ants in the See front Villa. The Ocean swimming pool was not available even if the Mousson season was over and we were very dispointed about that as you cannot swimm from the private beach because of Rocks. The staff was nice but as usual in Thailand says YES and take no action when requesting something. The housekeeping was inconsistent, one day one towel missing, one day the trash bin not emptied, one day the dead ants not removed.... every day a surprise which for the pay you pay for Thailand is unacceptable. The breakfast was very good but lunch and diner was not good. Thai food was not cooked in the Thai way so I tried a Pizza and it was the second worst I had in my life. The swimming pool is great but you have to move to the bar to get something to drink, I beleive that there is a lack of Management as the staff was chating in their bungallow and do not turn around to check if you want something. We love Ko Lanta because it is a very peaceful place compare to many other island in the Andaman sea but we will not go back to Rawi Warin and choose either a cheaper but better service somewhere elsa or spend more money and go to the Pimalay which is Faultness.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLemoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawi_Warin, Public Relations Manager at Rawi Warin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear SLemoine
Thank you for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to
makingyou feel more than welcome again soon.

Have a safe and pleasant journey to your next destination.

Warmest Regards,
KT
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
3.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.2 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
6.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawi Warin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawi Warin Resort & Spa

Property: Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Address: 139 Moo 8 | Krabi, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rawi Warin Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rawi Warin Resort & Spa offers a luxurious escape from the stresses of the modern world. Situated on 34 rai of land, into the foothills of the Koh Lanta Yai and overlooking the crystal waters of Klong Tob Bay, this beautiful, award-winning resort offers a choice of rooms, each with its own distinct style and ambience, numerous sports activities, superb dining options and private swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Holiday Gems and TravelUp so you can book your Rawi Warin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawi Warin Hotel Ko Lanta
Rawi Warin Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing