We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Lanta Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$88
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Resort(Ko Lanta)
US$41
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pimalai Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)
US$751
US$507
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort(Ko Lanta)
US$160
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
39
80
61
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
80
61
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswedish familieslow seasonfat monkeyklong dao beachnice beach barsaladan villagehotel restaurant isindian barexcellent locationbuffet breakfastnice resortbars and restaurantsthai foodswedesinternetislandunplug
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Southern off season, only a few other people staying there. We were given a lovley room with a sea view from the verandah, well appointed and very clean. The management is very helpful even offering a free trip into Saladan. Any problems are sorted immediately.Would definitely stay here again. Great pool. It is close to quite a few good places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We went to Lanta for a weekend to have holiday, a really nice resort hotel but problem now when it is low season that all food was finish - if nor for that i would give them a "4 star" .
If and when we go back to Lanta, we stay in same hotel.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank tyronefroberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I really want to write a lot about this place and hotel. Although we went there last June but did not have time to put this update. Location of this hotel is just amazing, we have selected the beach front suite. Do not go by the name of suite, as this is just a big room, but yes this is right on the beach. You can watch the sunset from your room only. There is a small patio outside the room where you can sit and you can spend many days just watching the sea and only the sea and just doing nothing. The room is a thai style room, bed is big enough and there is also a day bed, which you can make your child sleep at night. The pool is small but for us this was enough as we did not have to share this with anyone. At night you can hear the sea waves, the place is just amazing. They give free WiFi but only on the pool and reception area, this does not reach your room. For us this was not a problem at all.

The season when we went is low season, and that was so low, you hardly see anyone in the beach. You can walk long and long on the beach and no one would be around. We had been to many different places in southern Thailand, this is the most amazing experience we had. A hotel where you are the only guests, but this have not made their hospitality to us any less, in fact the hotel manager use to ask us if we need anything or if anything is that he can do for us. They have a shuttle to the Saladan town, but since we were the only guests, this shuttle got us any time we wanted. Most of the shops in the town was closed and very few tourist could be seen in the roads. But by a little walk in the back of the hotel there was a minimart and you could get all your necessity needs there. The food in the hotel is just good, we had dinners there since nothing was open after evening. Brkfast was served on a set menu, we have to keep in mind that we are the only guests and they can never arrange a buffet for us only.

If you are a fun loving person, this is not the place. If you are a quite and peace loving person, who just want to spend a very private time with their family only, this is JUST THE RIGHT PLACE. This is just a perfect peaceful holiday we have ever opted for, just nothing to do, and spend a lot of time together. There is no much things to do in Koh Lanta. Its just a quite island, you can make this all to yourself. We spend a week there and every moment we enjoy.

I would highly recommend this place to any peace loving person who wants to have the comfort of home on the lap of nature. If we go to Koh Lanta again, we are sure to stay here only. At the end, I want to thank the manager who really taken all the care to serve us the best.

Room Tip: the beach front suite
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawberryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This is a large resort, catering mainly to Swedish families as there is a school next door. The beach couldn't be closer and is relatively quiet. It's just a short walk along the beach to a wide choice of restaurants or a cheap tuk tuk ride into town.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViksG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

A very big resort with bungalows in rows down to the beach. Not very individual, but quite allright. The bungalows are regular. Uncomfortable chairs on the veranda. Beach front bungalows could be disturbed by noice from restaurants etc. The pool is allright but due to all the kids playing there the water qality might be poor in the afternoon. The restaurant is good, but the music can sometimes be loud by the beach. Breakfast is good. Crowded beach where the chairs get occupied before 7 am. The resort is well managed and the staff is friendly. Good location close to Baan Saladan. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellamin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews