We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, esp. in low season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Lanta Resort
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I am staying here and so far, so good. The place is right on the beach and has lush greenery all around. The breakfast is also good as is most of the staff. Another plus is the 20-percent discount at the bar and restaurant on the beach in low season.

That said, watch out for ants in the room and a few staff members have long faces and such. Nonetheless, I swung a nice deal at this place after prepaying for four nights. Don't expect nightlife or parties because that's not Koh Lanta (though this could change but I digress). Expect serenity, peace and nature.

Room Tip: Hit the bar Irish Embassy around Long Beach. The staff there are so helpful and owner Darren is a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, and had a very pleasant time. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient ( especially the phillipino lady on reception who spoke very good english ). The beach is great here and the rooms were good value for money. A bit dissapointed with the food, but it was okay. Would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisw673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

So, it's not a very good choise to stay at SL but very expensive. :) I think we payed mostly for the perfect location and for the beach.
Yes it's quite and safe...
There is a big communication problem with the stuff especially at reception and also at the restaurant.
Sad that the beautiful garden is mostly full of garbage, our child was collecting them.
The room is smelly beacause of the bathroom (they didn't use the siphon system i think, that's why...).

Room Tip: The beach front bungalow is a better choise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grind2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This resort is a favorite for families with small children and for Swedes. the complimentary breakfast was amazing. It felt very safe and relaxed. Friendly staff and massage available right outside your door.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roscoe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our family stayed in a two-bedroom villa for five nights. Yes - in "green season". We chose this resort because it is right on a major beach - and handy to everything else. A central location is essential in low season! Many shops and restaurants are closed all over the island for a few months. Green netting lines the beachside resorts and many owners take the opportunity to renovate or work elsewhere. Southern Lanta stays open year round. That means a regular army of workers groom the gardens daily and makes sure there are no stray leaves cluttering the pretty, tree-lined paths. Receptionists and managers are always around to help out.

We ventured all around the island over a few days to check out the scenery. It really is a beautiful island. There is not much happening here out of season - but most action is at the northern end of Klong Dao. Unlike most accommodation on Lanta, you can wander up the road from this resort and get a good choice of restaurants and bars which are actually open for business. A couple of bakeries, laundries, massage houses and a great travel service (Sunsmile Tours). Even a bank! Sure, everything is quieter than in peak season. No crowds.

The layout of the two-bedroom "family house" is unusual. But it works well. Two huge A/C bedrooms (each with a bathroom) are connected with a central fan-cooled sitting room. Plus a front verandah with deck chairs. Not the latest fashions or gadgets - but everything works.okay. Internet access is available via shared computers in a common room plus a limited WiFi network.

We were expecting monsoon rains at this time of year - but just copped the occasional tropical downpour. The major downside of green season is the choppy seas. This means few boat trips run at all and off-shore reefs and islands are not accessible. Also, rubbish is washed up along all of the main beaches - just like Phuket. Still, there are plenty of sandcastles being built here by travellers' children and local kids play on the beach later in the day.

There is a strong Swedish community on Koh Lanta. Many Swedes stay at this resort or the adjoining apartments and send their children to the Swedish school next door. There is a shallow swimming pool at the front of this resort plus a deeper pool back near the tennis courts. Both are small but worthwhile.

Resort restaurant facilities are basic in low season. But it is easy to imagine the beach-side restaurant and bar buzzing in peak season.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the resort are quieter and generally more convenient. Ocean-front rooms will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I am not sure what the people here writting reviews mean, when they say they got rooms where they could see the ocean because you can not! First thing you see is this green shields which try to protect the resport from the gargabe from the beach. So, when you book a sea view bungalow like I did, be prepared that you will not see the sea!

But, the hotel is really nice! The rooms are great, clean, food is nice and the people there are really really friendly, helpful and concerned that you enjoy your stay! It is not their fault that Koh Lanta is a dead place during low season (July - August) and that the beach is not usable! There is sooo much gargabe at the beach and nobody bothers to put it away that you sometimes can't even walk along the beach, not talking about swimming ...
The beach bar of the Resort was closed and again those green shields hindered any sight from the sea.
It was true that as there were maybe about 10 people in the resort, you sort of had a private pool and 3-5 person taking care of you which was of course very nice ... Nevertheless I was travelling alone and did not expect the island to be that dead and again the beach at the side of the hotel is a catastrophe ...

So, check out this hotel in high season and I am sure you will absolutely enjoy it but definitly avoid in low season!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Southern off season, only a few other people staying there. We were given a lovley room with a sea view from the verandah, well appointed and very clean. The management is very helpful even offering a free trip into Saladan. Any problems are sorted immediately.Would definitely stay here again. Great pool. It is close to quite a few good places to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pambicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#37 of 84 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#25 of 84 in Ko Lanta
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laguna Beach Club
Laguna Beach Club
#39 of 84 in Ko Lanta
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Villa Resort
Lanta Villa Resort
#51 of 84 in Ko Lanta
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lanta Resort

Address: 105 Moo 3 Tumbon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £16 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing