We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price. Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Lanta Resort
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great price. Perfect location”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had only booked 2 nights here but after the first night we liked it so much we booked another 5. The rooms are a good size with large bathrooms and showers. There are 2 good sized swimming pools one which was hidden away and always empty. The buffet breakfast was very nice and had a lot of choice. Located on the best beach in koh lanta and of an evening the bars and restaurants along the beach are perfect for dining and relaxing ( indian bar was our favourite with fire shows on every evening). Very good value for money would defiantly return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    72
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
70
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is situated on the most beautiful beach in Lanta. However, they should rather close their doors during low season. There was no buffet breakfast for us, we had to eat from a set menu every morning! After the 2nd day, we really did not look forward to breakfast as it was so boring! The hotel could not cater for us for lunch or dinner, and even the drinks menu was limited to a few drinks available. When we asked for something to eat or drink, they would refer us to the Seven Eleven!

The rooms are really small and the showers in some of the bathrooms are so small that a normal sized person cannot fit into it.

The hotel is on such a beautiful beach with the most beautiful sunsets that I've ever seen. Such a pity that the hotel stays open during low season when they cannot provide the service and food that is expected.

I'll go back to Lanta island, but look for another hotel on Klong Dao beach.

Room Tip: The only decent rooms are the few delux rooms right on the beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilIls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Worcestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We decided to move from phi phi , very glad we did ,fell in love with the island , basic accommodation , good service ( not many here) but had to check each night when they stopped serving food , transport was arranged for us , quick check in , complimentary water , I would go again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelertogo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for 12 days in a bungalow with one large room and a toilet with shower. We had good airconditioning and a a TV and fridge. We had Eurosport, CNN and BBC that we could watch. All other channels were Thailndic programs. A comfortable loging. Breakfirst was ok but cheese and fruits like mango and papaya were missing. Internet was only free for 2 hours and then you have to pay. However was internet was free of charge in most restaurants so we would propose to introduce free internet for all guests at the hotel. At the beach the hotel provided sun chairs but too many were broken without any replacement. The sandbeach was very close and the water just perfect for swimming. The garden was very dry and could have been much greener with a watering system. Close to many good restaurants at the beach and along the village road. The staff is kind and helpful. It is an average hotel and can be improved.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skarvgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in Southern Lanta Resort in January 2013 for three days. The facility is very easy to find with tuk tuk, close to the boat station. The staff is very kind and helpful. Especially the lady at the reception answered kindly all of our questions and made reservations for us. She booked the boat trips and taxis etc, which made out trip much easier. The rooms are OK, they are not luxurious, but adequate and very clean. The facility is almost like in a rain forest, there are different kinds of trees, flowers everywhere. Also there were lovely cats and two dogs. The restaurant inside is almost on the beach, food is delicious, prices are average. Music is fantastic. We were there I guess Friday or Saturday night, there was a very good singer and guitar player duo. Southern Lanta is on Long Beach, the sea is so calm and clean, the beach is excellent. The guests of Southern Lanta are mostly Swedish families with children, so if you are planning to have vacation with your family, this is a perfect place. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kizilkedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over the xmas period.

There are two types of chalets, what I can only describe is very basic, quite dated chalets and the superior more modern chalets. As soon as I saw the basic (mosquito infested) room, I requested if we could upgrade to a better room but unfortunately it was fully booked so we had to stay put. The manager did source some mosquito rings and after requesting we got a kettle left in our room (apparently kettles are only available in superior rooms!?)

The positives:
- Great location - nestled beside a beautiful 2km stretch of white sandy beach
- Very Family friendly hotel
- Friendly staff

The hotel is a little dated and could be doing with some modernisation around the main reception & pool areas.

Of the 5 hotels we stay in during our stay in Thailand, this was the only hotel that charged for internet. Upon arrival,we received one hour free access but had to pay for the rest. Connection was unreliable so we found it easier to go to a bar/cafe nearby with free wifi when we required internet access.

Room Tip: My advice for anyone looking to stay here is pay for the superior room if you are after a comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Overall we had a good stay. If you are not afraid of Swedish people (a lot of them in them hotel as on Lanta in general. :-)

Though, if you compare the rate if the room to elsewhere on the islands, e.g. phangang, then it is 1000 per night to much.

We states in the superior garden view and beach view. In both rooms, the word 'superior' did not occur to me. Especially the quality of the bed including its linnen and the shower is bad.

The hotel is nicely located right at the beach and has a nice bar at the beach as well.
The staff is very friendly as well!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart_Zuidgeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#30 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#40 of 210 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Scenic Bungalow
Lanta Scenic Bungalow
#92 of 146 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
D.R. Lanta Bay Resort
D.R. Lanta Bay Resort
#47 of 210 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lanta Resort

Property: Southern Lanta Resort
Address: 105 Moo 3 Tumbon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing