We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well managed and perfectly located” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Lanta Resort
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well managed and perfectly located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

We just came back from our 5th holidays in Thailand, this time went to Ko Lanta. The hotel we stayed the second week was Southern Lanta, which is just on the beach, with many good restaurants around. The management is really efficient, professional. The rooms are clean, not new but good value for money. The place is good for families with smaill children, as the swimming pool is not too deep.
Overall nice athmosphere, cozy place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seeking_light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    71
    52
    21
    9
See reviews for
70
69
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

If you want a big cheap and good location to stay i will do recomend this place. me my wife and 4 childern stayed in a 80 sq. m flat in Southern Lanta Resort Apartment for 2 months this have a queen size bed and 2 sofa bed and another 2 extra beds and w/ a big balcony plus complete kitchen ware.
compare w/ the family house that cost 5,000 bth per day we cut our rent cost almost in half and very accesible to all places.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

Nice location direct at the beach. Stayed for 6 days in superior garden view bungalow. Friendly staff. Nice beach . Despite low tide nice to swim. But something burned in the sea water, maybe very small jellyfishes or like said plangton. Not enough sunbeds. If you want to occupy sunbed, you should wake up at least at 6 a.m. Old furniture ant towels in bungalow. There was not anything from mosquitos in bungalow. There are a lot of Swedish families with children, therefore at 10 p.m. very silently.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trahtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Stayed for 10 days in Family House. Got very good price. Pictures from hotel of the family house was not giving the rooms justice... They were better than the pictures suggested. Two BIG rooms, two bathrooms, a livingroom/kitchen and nice veranda. A bit old furniture but clean.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends but I would tell them that they get what they pay for. A family hotel with good food, poor breakfast, clean rooms and a very nice beach. The hotelcomplex in need of some work in several areas.
Bathrooms a bit old and in need of some work but functional. Beds were firm...
Breakfast not good, basic goods only. To me the breakfast is important and should consist of several choices of bread, cheese, meat and so on. No yogurt only milk. One sort cerials. One sort of bread, toast. Some thaifood. Omeletts made as you want them but without seasoning... The coffee you made yourself. One sort of tea. Two sorts of juice, very sweet. Only pineapple and watermelon as fresh fruit.
The pool is too small if you look att the demografics om their guests. Lots of children even during low season. The pool area is used by villaowners that live next door. The pool water was looking bad by early afternoon probably due to all the kids that use it...

The hotelstaff was helpful when you needed help but some of them need a SAS-course in smiling. Thai people always smile but this staff didnt. A/C broke down twice and was fixed within hours, very good.

Internet was ok and cheap. 500 baht/10 hours. 1500 baht/free internet 30 days.

They carged you if wanted to use their fitnesscenter and tenniscourt. Crazy...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theboldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valby, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

After having spent a week at Southern Lanta with kids aged 5 & 7, it is definetely a place to go back to. Extremely friendly staff and management and very family oriented:

The room:
We were in a family bungalow and it was HUGE. Outside a nice big veranda with tables and chairs and space for assorted clutter. Inside there is a small, simply furnished sitting area with a basin for rinsing out swimming things etc. Two very big bedrooms which sleeps 5 altogether, both with en-suite bathrooms, fridges and separate A/C. The showes have flow heaters, ensuring hot water. Lots of closet space and saftey boxes. It did not have a view but the place is laid out with lots of flowers and trees and rustic pathways, so a nice garden setting, and the beach is 1 minute away. good houssekeeping and fraa bottles of drinking water in the room.

The pool:
The pool is fun but only medium sized. We were in low season, so plenty of space, and i imagine the beach will draw most of the crowd in high season. There's a deep and, a shallow end and an enclosed ares for young children. The water slide is great.

The restaurant:
We ate at the restautrant a lot - some very good thai food, and they went out of their way to accomodate picky children. In low season the advange of having a reastaurent overlooking the pool cannot be emphsized enough, as the kids want to swim, even in the rain, and the parents can have coffe or a beer in the dry of the restaurant. It was my husband's birthday while visiting and everyone (including the hotel manager) went out of their way to make the birthday dinner special, including a poolside table with flowers and candles and dishes not normally on the menu.

The beach and beach bar:
The beach is cleaned daily for flotsam and debris (important in the low season as lots of stuff blows in) and is perfect for kids - shallow and small waves, lots of shells to collect and good sand for sand castles. The beach bar was not in function as we were there out of season, but the restaurant staff were happy to trek down to serve you even so.

Overall, a great family stay, but if you dont like kids in the pool, this is not for you :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#30 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa
Holiday Villa
#52 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andaman Lanta Resort
Andaman Lanta Resort
#76 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#38 of 194 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lanta Resort

Property: Southern Lanta Resort
Address: 105 Moo 3 Tumbon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Sawasdee, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Southern Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing