We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southern Lanta Resort
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    72
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
71
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Stayed for 10 days in Family House. Got very good price. Pictures from hotel of the family house was not giving the rooms justice... They were better than the pictures suggested. Two BIG rooms, two bathrooms, a livingroom/kitchen and nice veranda. A bit old furniture but clean.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends but I would tell them that they get what they pay for. A family hotel with good food, poor breakfast, clean rooms and a very nice beach. The hotelcomplex in need of some work in several areas.
Bathrooms a bit old and in need of some work but functional. Beds were firm...
Breakfast not good, basic goods only. To me the breakfast is important and should consist of several choices of bread, cheese, meat and so on. No yogurt only milk. One sort cerials. One sort of bread, toast. Some thaifood. Omeletts made as you want them but without seasoning... The coffee you made yourself. One sort of tea. Two sorts of juice, very sweet. Only pineapple and watermelon as fresh fruit.
The pool is too small if you look att the demografics om their guests. Lots of children even during low season. The pool area is used by villaowners that live next door. The pool water was looking bad by early afternoon probably due to all the kids that use it...

The hotelstaff was helpful when you needed help but some of them need a SAS-course in smiling. Thai people always smile but this staff didnt. A/C broke down twice and was fixed within hours, very good.

Internet was ok and cheap. 500 baht/10 hours. 1500 baht/free internet 30 days.

They carged you if wanted to use their fitnesscenter and tenniscourt. Crazy...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theboldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valby, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

After having spent a week at Southern Lanta with kids aged 5 & 7, it is definetely a place to go back to. Extremely friendly staff and management and very family oriented:

The room:
We were in a family bungalow and it was HUGE. Outside a nice big veranda with tables and chairs and space for assorted clutter. Inside there is a small, simply furnished sitting area with a basin for rinsing out swimming things etc. Two very big bedrooms which sleeps 5 altogether, both with en-suite bathrooms, fridges and separate A/C. The showes have flow heaters, ensuring hot water. Lots of closet space and saftey boxes. It did not have a view but the place is laid out with lots of flowers and trees and rustic pathways, so a nice garden setting, and the beach is 1 minute away. good houssekeeping and fraa bottles of drinking water in the room.

The pool:
The pool is fun but only medium sized. We were in low season, so plenty of space, and i imagine the beach will draw most of the crowd in high season. There's a deep and, a shallow end and an enclosed ares for young children. The water slide is great.

The restaurant:
We ate at the restautrant a lot - some very good thai food, and they went out of their way to accomodate picky children. In low season the advange of having a reastaurent overlooking the pool cannot be emphsized enough, as the kids want to swim, even in the rain, and the parents can have coffe or a beer in the dry of the restaurant. It was my husband's birthday while visiting and everyone (including the hotel manager) went out of their way to make the birthday dinner special, including a poolside table with flowers and candles and dishes not normally on the menu.

The beach and beach bar:
The beach is cleaned daily for flotsam and debris (important in the low season as lots of stuff blows in) and is perfect for kids - shallow and small waves, lots of shells to collect and good sand for sand castles. The beach bar was not in function as we were there out of season, but the restaurant staff were happy to trek down to serve you even so.

Overall, a great family stay, but if you dont like kids in the pool, this is not for you :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

we stayed in this hotel during the low season, and we had a room with sea view for about 1000 Baht (incl breakfast), which is really cheap! The room was not the most expensive one, it was a bungalow with beach view, just next to the more expensive (and larger) bungalows with sea view. But the view was almost the same!
Food was very good, people super-friendly. They offer a free shuttle service twice a day to the small village in the north of Ko Lanta.
The swimming pool was also good.
The hotel is rather difficult to fiend when coming from the main road.
Outside the hotel, in walking distance on the main road, there is everything you want (and it is cheap!): bike rental, internet, laundry service, good restaurants, travel booking, ...
We had a perfect holiday there!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsterBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My bofriend and I stayed here for 2 nights. We booked as the blurb in the rough guide sounded good and the price was reasonable.

The staff are not at all friendly, and as someone else metioned in their review, they do not smile at you or acknowledge you. One of the first things we were told on arrival was "If you lose your towels we will charge you 500 baht, if you lose your key we will charge you 1000 baht" not the warmest of welcomes!

We booked a superior garden room- what we got was a dark, dirty room with dated decor. One strip of wall paper had been ripped off the wall, the mirror was filthy. The towels that we had been warned not to lose were very stained and threadbare.

We only ate cereal at the breakfast buffet as all the other food was not covered so the flies were able to land on it.

After 2 nights we moved to Lanta Sand on Long Beach which was only 900 baht more per night and worlds apart from the unfriendly staff and dingy rooms at the Southern.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VixBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Southern Lanta for a weekend trip to Ko Lanta in February. Our bungalow had A/C and was within a 4 minute walk to the beach. However, we did not fit the demographic of the rest of the hotel guests as they were mostly older couples or families with young children. Other than breakfast at the hotel (included), we didn't really stay on property. The Hat Khlong Dao Beach (where the hotel is located) is a great swimming beach, and we enjoyed the variety of restaurants and bars that were on this section of the island. I would recommend this hotel to families, but not to singles/couples in their 20s or 30s. Cost was about $60/night for a bungalow with A/C.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerForGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#27 of 84 in Ko Lanta
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Villa Resort
Lanta Villa Resort
#49 of 84 in Ko Lanta
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#35 of 215 in Ko Lanta
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lanta Resort

Property: Southern Lanta Resort
Address: 105 Moo 3 Tumbon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing