We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaman Lanta Resort
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Maidstone ,UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“most enjoyable”
Reviewed 31 January 2008

Stayed over xmas .Lovely place, staff, views etc. Beach a little rocky in front of hotel but no problems. Xmas gala meal and drinks expensive. Lovely relaxing trip.

  • Liked — far from town
  • Disliked — far from town
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    58
    60
    19
    19
See reviews for
31
75
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at this resort for four nights. We had booked in advance as the pictures looked nice enough but when we were pulling in (there were a bunch of us in a taxi) everyone looked horrified! There was a dump (seriously, a garbage dump!) at the enterance and there was a hotel. We were a bit relieved as we saw the bungalows that we had booked but they messed up our reservation and we had to stay in that hotel for one night. It was full of cockroaches and flies everywhere! I didn't dare sleep in the bed!
The bungalow was old and not that great, tv was not working that great and the air conditioning was poor.
The pool and food were okay but the beach was not the best and it was the worse place we stayed in our months trip!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

(this review is from the point of view of a year long budget traveller)

We booked this resort in advance, and only choose it because it was the only place with availability for xmas.

The resort itself is nice, we paid 1000 baht for the building rooms, which were spacious and clean, with hot water and a/c, but i think holiday makers (rather than backpackers) would find the room a bit basic. There were also a few bugs, mosquitos got in quite easily.

There were individual detached villa style rooms, which i'm sure would be much nicer, though obviously more money!

The grounds were nice and well kept.

There was a good sized pool, with enough deck chairs, and also 3 open style beach huts which were nice to sit in.

The restaurant had a good menu at reasonable prices.

We had no problems with reception, but we saw quite a few people complaining that looked a bit frustrated with the staff's response.

The main downside to this resort is its location.

It is based on the rocky, unswimmable Khlong Khong beach, which is a good 20 mins car ride away from the main beaches of Khlong Dao and Phra-Ae. There is very little to do near by and you feel isolated. Though it only costs 30 baht to go to the main beaches by tuk tuk.

If i came to Koh Lanta again, i would definutley stay on Khlong Dao beach, as this is where most of the hotels and restaurants are.

Koh Lanta is a very spaced out, 'open' island, and we missed the village feel of places such as Krabi and Phuket, were you can wander to places easily. To get the most out of Koh Lanta you need to hire a motor bike, which is very cheap to do.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2007

This is the worst place I have ever stayed in my life!

Looked nice enough - right on the beach front, nice pool etc.
Problem came when we were shown to our room. It was along a very dark and rather grim looking corridor, the hotel was build about 25 years ago, and nothing has been done in those 25 years to upkeep it.

The room was missing basics like towels and toilet rolls and the shower was broken – when I asked staff for the items they acted as though I was really putting them out, which I found very unusual as from my few weeks in Thailand I’d stayed in a number of places from basic beach bungalows to posh spa hotels and they’d all been really helpful and friendly.

When we came back to our room in the evening however we got a nasty surprise. Every cockroach in the area seemed to be in our room - climbing through the rather dated dirty curtains and coming out of the ceiling. By then it was 10pm and no one was around on reception. The room was so disgusting there was no way we could spend the night there. We explained to a security guard, who called someone up. I assume this was a duty manager type, he didn’t seem to think it was a big deal sleeping in a room full of cockroaches and gave us a spray (which was useless), by 2am he finally showed us to another room on the upper floor – equally grotty but not as many cockroaches. We check out at 7am the next day, without any kind of apology from the staff and had to argue to get a refund on the money we’d paid for the next night.

Do not stay in the is hotel, it is grim, dirty, depressing and the staff are rude and seem to know nothing about customer service.
They rely on people staying there as Lanta is such a popular place but make no effort with the upkeep or service.

  • Liked — Checking Out the next day
  • Disliked — Surly Staff, Cockroaches
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kittyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

I am a travel agent and i loved this hotel, beautiful beach fantastic staff great food and on one of the most beautiful islands in the owrld. Fully recovered after the tsunami and are crying out for your tourism. Go here its lovely. Great for kids and young children. Not much going on for teenagers. Large pool and right on the beach. They have a few beachfront bungalows which you can literally step onto the sand from. If you can afford it the upgrade to the superior room is well worth it. Lovely views and superb service. The rooms are traditional thai style, quite basic but very clean and airy.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keelyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2006

After 3 weeks of travelling on a low budget we wanted to indulge ourselves with a stay in a nice bungalow at the beach front. Well, the bungalows of the Andaman Lanta Resort are definitely located at the beach but a sea view bungalow does not necessarely face the sea! We booked a so called sea view bungalow but had a pool view instead. You might be lucky and get hold of one of the "sea view" bungalows that actually have a sea view but this doesn't make the poor breakfast any better! They offer white toast, one type of sausage and some thai food for breakfast. Well, maybe that doesn't sound too bad but if you stay in a 3.5 star hotel and pay 3300 Baht/91 US$/69 € per night (peak season) you expect a bit more than that! The rooms did have a tv (only 2 english channels) and aircon but were loveless and old-fashioned furnished. We were very disappointed from this hotel. The place is not worth the money. There are definitely better deals on the island!

  • Disliked — room and breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — better deals on the island
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

I paid 2400bt p/n for this place through a travel agent last minute. Too much I would say given the accommodation.
Rooms have tv and aircon and a bed. decor is tired bathroom is old.
We stayed in a deluxe bungalow?
Look elsewhere I think you will get a better price or better accom.
Good for ple on a budget who are not fussed by accommodation.
Good beach close to the front of the hotel, but the place is very quiet with nothing to do really.
I got food poisoning from on of the beach restaurants, I think it was called Picasso... dodgy green curry. it put me out for 2days. Great pasta at a up market place a lil further down the beach from there though. But you will pay for it..
tuk tuk 40bt to most places. Free transfers to hotels..

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else or pay less for this place
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oneofurbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#28 of 84 in Ko Lanta
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Resort
Ocean View Resort
#66 of 84 in Ko Lanta
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#60 of 84 in Ko Lanta
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Island Resort
Lanta Island Resort
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saladan Beach Resort
Saladan Beach Resort
#50 of 84 in Ko Lanta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Lanta Resort

Property: Andaman Lanta Resort
Address: 142 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Sala Dan Sub District, Krabi Province, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andaman Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaman Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing