We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Pre-Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Koh Lanta Resort
Ranked #19 of 151 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Krabi Trip will be our pre-honeymoon trip which is on 11-14 May 08. Its not a good time to visit Krabi due to near Monsoon season but we choose just for relaxation as Kelly is not so into water activies, so we go for inland activities. We stay here for 2 nights before staying another night in Krabi Beachside. I can tell you how my wife excited on this Resort, amazing and excited. As I didnt told her about the type or design of resort we are staying. We are moer facny to modern and nice resort rather than the traditional type. She is just jumping and excited around once the Hotel Assistant left the room. Thats how she feel.

Its really a nice place to stay if you prefer a modern and comfort one. The only negative is the location is slightly far away and its very very windy during this season. At night, we dont really want to go out as we will feel sticky due to the strong salted wind. Service is good and rooms is exccellent. Food, I will say its just nothing special, but still ok. U can walk along the beach, the good thing is there is always companion of lovely dogs. We have been followed by 2 lovely dogs (one of them is pretty fair).

The In-land activities, u can rent a motorcycle and drive around. U can see people catching fish around the seashore, cave exploration, some sight seeing. Itse creepy that you alone along the beach imagine on tsunami (as being remind by the signboard on evacuation site). The spa we taking here is not as comfortable and valueble as the one we have it in Bali.

In overall, we really enjoy and feel relax on the trip

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asdjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2009

My family just returned from an eight-night stay at the Best Western on Koh Lanta. (We're a couple in our forties with a ten-year-old boy.) We originally booked for five nights with the idea of scouting around for another, possibly cheaper, place for the last three nights. But, although I like to stay at places with a bit more personality, we were sufficiently impressed with the Best Western and decided to stay put. The rooms are quite clean and spacious and the beds are comfortable. The AC worked well, though I couldn't adjust the temperature. (Seemed like a decent temp., and I was too lazy to pursue with the management.) All of the rooms have sea views, though some are not 180 degree views of the sea--more like half beach and half sea. We spent the first five nights in the beach/sea view standard room, and the last three in a "deluxe" room. In addition to a different view, the latter was a bit bigger and had a bathtub with jets, which we never used. The incident that impressed me the most was when we forgot to close the safe around Feb. 6. When I discovered I could not open the safe, I contacted the assistant manager, who told me that the maid had discovered the open safe and contacted him. He personally closed the safe. As far as I could tell, nothing was missing from it--we had put a big wad of cash in different denominations there along with our passports. I suppose this kind of response by a hotel is normal and expected, but I could imagine very different scenarios. Anyway, the staff were friendly, but not obsequious, and the breakfast was fine. English skills of some assistant managers are not great, but they do make a sincere effort and give advice about the area and attractions. Successful communication just requires a bit of patience on the part of non-Thai-speaking guests. Breakfast is made-to-order, and you can ask for additional things not included in the version (American, Continental, etc.) you select. The hotel is right on the beach--great for going for a dip or a run. The rooms all have a balcony with two lounge chairs, and there are plenty of lounge chairs on the deck next to the pool, which is right next to the beach. I noticed a couple of people "claimed" some spots in morning and hardly used them during the day, which would have been annoying if we had needed a spot. It's a short and cheap tuk-tuk ride to the main commercial area, Saladan, and 7-11 is right across the street for beer and snack runs. Speedboats for diving and snorkeling trips to nearby sites leave from spots along this beach. The hotel was quiet at night. We all had a great time there. It's a good choice if you are not set on a bungalow and want to be fairly close to Saladan.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knickherboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

First impression was scary! After arriving at the hotel sign board we had to climp over some wooden boards and enter the hotel lobby through a small concrete walkway that was lined with a funky smelling sewer.
Stayed at the hotel for a week. Rooms were actually nicely decorated and the food was good eventhough there are much better restorants such as Lanta Tavern or Retro restaurant in the area.
Pool had damaged tiles, lobby is used as rubbish collection area, dogs are strawling throughout the hotel. Unfortunatly we paid in advance otherwise we would have changed the hotel.
If you have small kids this hotel is not meant for you!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank millinuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

After a busy week at a friend's wedding in Sydney three friends and I (all late 20s) booked in here for a week of relaxation, cocktails, sunshine and chat - we weren't dissappointed. Koh Lanta is very chilled out and the Best Western is known as one of the best hotels on the island. We were really nervous about booking it at first and were really put off by it being a chain hotel, but don't let this put you off as it's only little and there's no cheesy chain stuff going on.
The rooms are huge, spotless, airy and bright. The staff are really helpful and smiley. The breakfast is god but make sure you ask for whatever you fancy as it's not necessarily on the menu but if you just ask for some bacon and eggs they'll whip it up for you no problem. The cocktails are gorgeous and randomly so are the pizzas.
There is an amzing family run restaurant just a couple of doors down which does amazing food and is really cheap and there is a chilled out little beach bar just a couple down as well where you can sit on deckchairs with candles all around and drink some buckets and chat.
The beach is gorgeous and much nicer than the next beach along which looks a little more crowded and isn't as wide. All in all gorgeous. Finally just a little word of warnign for your journey home, make sure that you give yoyrself loads of time to get back to the airport as the car ferry can have massive tail backs - they were worried a 40 min journey could take us 4 or 5 hours! Luckily our taxi driver went all out and pulled out some amazing manouvres to make sure this didn't happen(bribing mates right at the front of the queue etc), just an examples of the lengths the staff will go to to make sure you have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Monkey3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in March and absolutely loved it. The hotel was wonderful, staff was amazing, food was great, view, beach and pool were excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here. Loved Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ednakovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We chose to stay on Koh Lanta as we didn't want to stay on one of the more touristy islands. On arrival the back of the hotel doesn't look like anything much, but it is a nice low rise 2-storey building, right on the beach, with nearly all the rooms facing the pool and sea. We had a deluxe king room, very lovely, though if I'd thought about it at the time of reservation I would have requested an upstairs room as these rooms appear more private and look over the pool instead of being at pool level and keeping the net curtains closed most of the time. The hotel was fully booked during our stay but never seemed crowded, most likely due to its small size. The room was modern and big, open plan bedroom/living area and lovely, big clean bathroom with seperate bath and walk-in shower. One bad bit of room planning is the air-con as the vent blows directly on to the bed - and if it's turned off it can get a little warm! Staff do speak limited english but unless you have the time, patience and energy to master the Thai language I'd accept it! Breakfast was included and there was a good selection of freshly cooked eggs, french toast etc and cold self-service items. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we felt it offered limited choice (there were plenty of bars and restaurants a short walk up and down the beach) and by thai standards would appear expensive but it was more steak and pizza than traditional thai or seafood. In the day sandwiches, thai soups and juice smoothies were freshly prepared - and the fresh fruit ices delivered around the pool before lunch were well received! (try Time For Lime for fantastic sea/thai food and mojitos and a great cooking class with Sugar). The loungers and umbrellas around the pool and on the beach are set up each morning, and there is a supply of towels, pool floats and lilos. We also borrowed one of the hotel's kayaks one afternoon. The pool is nice for relaxing and cooling down but not really for serious swimmers due to it's size, though it's no more than 20m to the sea. We felt the sea and beach were clean - though there were quite a few dogs on the beach on the evening... I personally wouldn't consider the pool ideal for children either due to it's depth although there were several families there using the pool during our stay. We spent our 4days by the pool and swimming/walking on the beach and just relaxing so I don't know what the rest of the island is like but as a bit of western-style luxury and relaxation after a few days of tourism and temples in northern Thailand and Bangkok we enjoyed our stay at Maya Lanta.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barry_bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

On our recent three week holiday in Thailand we stayed in Railey Beach, Koh Lanta and Patong. Koh Lanta was by far our favourite destination.

The beach was long and peaceful with a beautiful calm sea and lots of small sand crabs that you could see scurrying into their sand burrows (don't worry, they don't bite or crawl on you, they just run away).

The Best Western Maya Lanta hotel was right on the beach and had a small pool with sun loungers both pool side and on the beach. It was no problem getting loungers at any time of the day even when the hotel was full. We also had a terrace with a couple of lounging chairs outside our room.

Our room was large, airy and clean and the bathroom had both bath and shower. The bed was comfortable but the air conditioner was placed on the wrong wall so blew in your face when you lay in bed. That was irritating.

From the street the resort entrance is an unattractive path but as soon as you get to reception the sea view opens up and it is beautiful.

Service was very good although breakfast was a little weird. There was a small cold buffet and then the servers would ask if wanted various hot dishes, for example, pancakes, french toast, eggs. There was no menu and it took a couple of days before we realised that bacon, sausage, ham, cheese, omlettes, all styles of eggs, french toast and pancakes were all available in unlimited supply, you just had to order them.

The hotel bar had no problem providing us with glasses, ice buckets and bottle openers for the drinks we bought ourselves instead of drinking from their bar.

There were a lot of mosquitoes and reception provided us with a large mosquito spray upon request. We also bought a plug in mosquito killer from the local supermarket. We didn't get any bites.

Along the beach from the hotel are numerous restaurants but by far the best was the cheapest, least fancy place which could be found about 100m north of the hotel and set back 20 m from the beach. Here all the food was excellent, the settings very basic as the restaurant was backed by a minimart. It was incredibly cheap and the menu was extensive. Not surprisingly the place was full every lunch and evening while other restaurants on the beach remained almost empty.

The main port town was a 50baht, 5 min tuktuk ride away and had numerous shops, restaurants and dive shops.

We booked direct through the Best Western website and paid in advance. 4700baht per night including breakfast.

We will definitely come back to Koh Lanta and would reccommend this hotel to our friends and family.

One note of warning. Power cuts are common on Koh Lanta. During our stay there was a full day power cut on the whole island. The hotel informed us the day before by letter which meant that we could plan a boat trip away from the island that day.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SwedishCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#35 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#31 of 218 in Ko Lanta
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Koh Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Koh Lanta Resort

Address: 164 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Koh Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maya Koh Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Koh Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Best Western Ko Lanta
Ko Lanta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing