We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel, could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Koh Lanta Resort
Ranked #20 of 151 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The Maya Lanta is a modern hotel with a nice design and nice rooms. The location on Klong Dao beach is excellent. This could've been a five star hotel if it was better looked after.

Cleaning was not excellent. A lot of dirt left in the corners. They put more effort into making funny towel animals than keeping the room really clean.

The breakfast was below average in this price range. Only a small selection of fruit, bread and yoghurt and you could order egg, bacon and omelette.

The pool area is not as nice as described. The smaller pool/jacuzzi is hidden behind some bushes and not very clean

The staff were layed back, but nice. A bit too layed back until the manager/owner visited the hotel. A bit more attentive would be nice.

Overall, this is an ok hotel for relaxation and probably one of the nicer hotels on Klong Dao. If you're travelling with kids and don't mind swedes, Klong Dao is very good. Otherwise, go to Long Beach or elsewhere in Thailand.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plq1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

Read so many good reviews of the hotel - was sorely dissapointed to say the least. Booked the one of two suite rooms available expecting to be blown away and instead we were eaten alive by bed bugs on our first night. We got the staff to change sheets in the middle of the night but didnt help much. We checked out immediately after our first sleepless, torturous night at this 3 star shack. We checked into the Sheraton Krabi which for the same price - was complete and utter bliss and saved my holiday.

Hotel only refunded us for the nights we didnt stay - we were still charged for a full nite stay which is terrible.

Avoid this hotel at all costs. Staff were polite, views were ok...nothing to scream about except the nitemare of a night well forgotten.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doby218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed here with my girlfriend in november 2009, great little hotel. Rooms are right on the beach.. very modern rooms very clean, nice breakfeast. Hotels on a beach that you can walk up and down where theres a great selection of bars and restaurants. Dont be put off by people saying about the walk into it... once your in off the main road paradise opens open like.
We needed to get to a doctor one morning and a staff member brought us in her own car , translated, stuck around with us and made sure we got seen too and drove us back to the hotel,, really nice staff!
Great hotel for chilling out, you can also rent a moped for really cheap off the hotel or else get a very cheap tuk tuk up the road to some other bars which were really busy.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

this hotel (note not a best western anymore) is a great find, at the other end of klong dao beach, the rooms are modern, spacious and right on the beach, the staff are friendly and the food in the restuarant is brilliant.

definatly recommended for a good value stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 18 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 18 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This is my third time of staying on Koh Lanta and each time ive returned to the Maya.

I have tried other resorts on the island as i wanted to stay on different beaches and immediately checked back out and returned to Maya.

The standard of room and location are fabulous....the staff are very friendly and big recommendation for the manager 'Mr Nice' he is the kindest and most accomodating man.

All of the rooms have a panoramic view of the beach and ocean and such a wonderful size that along with a king size bed there is a sofa area to relax and watch dvds!

The bathrooms (along with the rooms) are of a 5* standard with waterfall showers and baths...plenty of room for you to spread out all of your cosmetics :-)

Cant fault this hotel for value!

Thanks to Mr Nice and all his staff for a wonderful Christmas

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#25 of 84 in Ko Lanta
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bay Cottages
Golden Bay Cottages
#32 of 218 in Ko Lanta
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Koh Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Koh Lanta Resort

Address: 164 Moo 3, Klong Dao Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Koh Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maya Koh Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Koh Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Best Western Ko Lanta
Ko Lanta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing