We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Ko Lanta in the off season and hence were lucky to get a steal of a price at Twin Lotus. For what we paid, it was every penny worth. The room was big, spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated with a big balcony overlooking the beautiful green garden. Our favourite part of our stay being the amazing bathroom! It was a relief to see so much thought put into a bathroom. The staff were always helpful with smiles. They even went out of their way to help us whenever needed. Not much needs to be said, to be honest! It was a simply superb stay. We even tried to extend our stay by 1 night (after initially staying 2) just to stay longer at the resort. Not to mention the fresh breakfast which was on the better side compared to some of the others that we have seen in Thailand. As vegetarians, the fruits & juices, cereals & yogurts, breads & home-made jams were extremely appreciated.

The only thing we didn't like was the beach - it was rather dirty and stunk of sewerage. Not sure whether the resort is responsible for its cleanliness or the Ko Lanta administration. There are better and cleaner beaches down south (Twin Lotus is located in the north of the island).

A security alert for Ko Lanta in general - make sure to be back home before 9pm. My wife almost got her purse snatched on a moving scooter while we were returning after dinner at around 10:45pm. The island is still developing and the streets get pretty much empty around 9pm. The incident ruined our otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ashykoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    225
    60
    23
    24
See reviews for
40
520
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed regularly at this hotel in their beachfront bungalows and in their garden rooms set back from the beach.

The staff are always helpful whether in reception, the restaurant or the room staff. It has a very attractive location with access to one of the best beaches on the island. There is a choice of two swimming pools - the garden pool as well as a slightly raised beach front infinity pool with the illusion of blending into the Andaman sea. In low season the off shore winds can be strong and will blow sand into the grounds and the beach front pool which necessitates the temporary green net fencing that some complain about: their complaints would be louder if the pool filled with sand and detritus,

I have always stayed off season and understandably with low occupancy a full buffet breakfast is not possible but the choice is good and service friendly and helpful.

The special offers available through the various online hotel booking sites give you a good base line to negotiate a deal directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After checking in at an awful place called Mango House on Koh Lanta, we checked out again pretty quickly and went on the hunt for a nice place to stay. There are so many hotels and so many are grubby and overpriced. After a long day and a lot of searching, we were lucky enough to find this place. The room was nice and big, the bathroom was very modern, everything was lovely and clean, including the grounds, restaurant, pools, beach, and gym. We did change rooms though as the first room we were given was in the last building which backs onto the street and a Thai area, which wouldn't be a problem except for the cockerel crowing very early in the morning and the children screaming in the afternoons. The bathrooms are walled with huge bamboo sticks which gives a really nice feel, but although people can't see in, you can hear everything from outside, so no doubt everyone can hear you. However, there seemed to be hardly any people around, so although unnerving at the beginning of our stay, it really didn't bother us after a couple of days.
The only other problem we had was that when it rained, the drains really smelt, which was not particularly pleasant.

There are two pools on the resort, one next to the beach near the bar, and the other in the garden area. The one near the beach was always full of sunbathers, which was too busy for us, so we generally lounged on the beach and then went to the pool in the evening when everyone was out having dinner - it was bliss. There are sunloungers and towels for the guests, and the sand is lovely and soft, and the sea is good to swim in, no rocks and suchlike - probably the best beach we found there. The garden pool was usually empty or just one or two couples sitting around it, although we never sat there ourselves either.

Breakfast is not what you would find in a big 4 star hotel, but it was nice and offered the usual of freshly cooked eggs, sausages, beans, fresh bread, small pastries, fresh fruit, etc. The breakfast area looks out towards the beach and sea giving lovely views and making dining a real pleasure. There is also a bar area near the pool which serves snacks, which were always freshly cooked and tasty.

The gym is a little dated, but all of the equipment was in good order, there are free weights, air-conditioners, a tread-mill, cross-trainer, and a few weight machines. Overall, good enough to burn some of the breakfast and snacks off!

We rented a scooter from a shop just a few metres to the right as you exit the resort - I think we paid 100Baht a day. We had to give in a passport though, which was returned to us without a problem.

If you want to explore, rent a car. It's really easy to drive around on the island as there is hardly any traffic. It cost us 1000 Baht a day from the car rental shop in town. Much better than getting ripped off by the taxi-mafia (rick-shaws included), who will charge you 100s per person - an absolute joke - you can drive across Bangkok for 100 Baht in a meter taxi - so beware of what you pay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoinetteKerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's a beautiful well kept resort with a best breakfast ever! The two swimmingpools are great. The staff and personel is very friendly. It's a big resort an often we got a ride with a golfcar. The houses are very luxury but not 130€ p. night worth. But in Low season they gave 55% off.

Room Tip: Rent a bike or car; not expensive and you have the freedom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterBigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Honestly me and my wife loved this placed and wouldn't mind returning in the future.
Really large resort with beach access and two pools, fitness, restaurant and spa.
First the good part...
++Really nice service and everyone greeted us with a smile all the time
++Free bicycles to get around the resort and the nearby main street and the markets.
++Location! Near Saladan, with all the restaurants and shops, short bike ride to get there.
++We liked the pool by the garden, almost had it to ourselves (low season)
++We got a really nice room on the second floor overlooking the garden pool, liked it a lot.
++Liked the bed on our large balcony, never seen something like it before.
++Good breakfast with both western and thai choices, liked the coffee. We tried the dinner menu as well and it was totally OK.

And now the not so good stuff
--Restaurant was decent but expensive, 3 times the prices on the main street. Not worth it for us.
--Wifi was really poor and kept disconnecting all the time
--They don't keep the beach clean during the low season plus they put an ugly green fence so you can't see the sea. But from what we've seen most resorts have similar practice.
--Minibar was poorly stocked, no snacks

All the negative stuff didn't really bother us, we had a great time.

Room Tip: Try and get an upper-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snickarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at Twin Lotus for two nights during the low season in May. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel grounds are large, so the free bicycles they loaned us were helpful. We also used the bicycles to ride to town (5-10 minutes).

The hotel restaurant was okay, nothing to get too excited about. There are two pools that are relaxing and one of them overlooks the ocean.

The only complaint I have is that during the low season they put up a pretty ugly green fence between the resort and the beach. The green fence blocks the view of the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingduck541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked 6 nights here because the positive reviews on Tripadvisor were overwhelming. As my rating suggests, I was a bit disappointed.
Positive - 1) the location (at the beach and near Saladan) is amazing. 2) you can lend bikes for free, which is perfect if you want to go to Saladan. Don't go much further though, they are in poor condition. Tip - test the brakes and gears BEFORE you leave the premises. 3) The rooms are clean and comfortable, and you'll find a happy origami towel surprise on your bed every afternoon. 4) Great Wifi (although Skype seems to be blocked somehow). 5) they have a nice little gym 6) the garden pool. Its small, but ok, has some sun-beds, towels and parasols.
Negative - in general, it seems nobody really cares. First of all, the chef, which makes 1) the food. It's average at best, poor if you're unlucky. Breakfast is disappointing. There is no buffet, but a menu with a lot of egg options. You have to pay extra for fresh juice 2) the service. They will come by to ask what you want to order and bring you the food. After that - you're on your own. 3) the view - they put up these ugly green fences so your ocean view is gone. Tip - do not book the 'ocean-view' villa. 4) ocean front pool - it was taken over by the navy to train every day we were there. And they are very present.
Since we were there in the low season, we got a pretty reasonable price. But I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
2.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#4 of 84 in Ko Lanta
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.6 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lotus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lotus Resort & Spa

Property: Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Address: 199 Moo 1 | Klong Dao Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Twin Lotus Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twin Lotus Resort, Koh Lanta is re-opening its doors in late 2012 after a full renovation and the addition of newly constructed Villas and facilities. Situated on 12 acres of gardens and a 3-kilometer white-sand beach, new facilities include a brand new Spa & Wellness Center as well as Beachfront Bar & Restaurant. Villas are located on the beachfront, as well as in the gardens and overlooking the canal that runs through the property. Please note that according to resort policy, Twin Lotus welcomes guests aged 18 and over only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twin Lotus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Lotus Hotel Ko Lanta
Twin Lotus Resort And Spa
Twin Lotus Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing