We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely budget hotel and much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here in January. First I must say that the staff make this place. They are so helpful and friendly. They really make you feel at home. We had a lovely room (even though we took the cheapest option) with a large bed and decent quality bed linen. Loved the outside bathroom, despite being spied on by monkeys! Great pool and never crowded. Although not on the beach it was nicely positioned and only a short drive on the motor scooter we hired for the eleven days we were there. The hotel gardens were delightful and the place is well looked after. If I am Koh Lanta again will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

What a delightful surprise awaited us in this gem of a hotel. All the bungalows are set amidst beautiful gardens giving each property total privacy. Our bungalow was superb, well equipped, very clean, quiet and comfortable with an outdoor wet room. Monkeys leapt about in the trees each evening, being very timid they are not a problem. The reception area and dining space are delightfully decked out with antique bicycles sporting baskets of flowers, classical music plays quietly in the background. The pool and surrounding area is beautiful and superbly tended. The buffet breakfast each morning was extensive and delicious. Lunch and dinner had a mixture of continental dishes on offer in addition to Thai food and was all of a very high standard.The staff we found very helpful, obliging, always smiling and attractively dressed. The nearest beach is about 15mins walk away or there are always passing "tuk-tuks" available for hire. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farawaynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Or in Chaw Ka Chers case, the lack there of.

The overall impression is that the Chaw Ka Cher has a somewhat warped sense of self. That it presents itself as a nicer place than it can live up to.

The restaurant has an expensively printed menu where half of the courses are carefully taped over with white paper. The setting is cold and uninviting where it could quite easily be otherwise. The pretty photographs of enticing foods are on the wall purely for decor. Waffles with ice-cream is not available.
At breakfast a meagre buffet is on offer, and this would suffice very well if it wasn't for the fact that it's difficult to "use". Plates are not placed by the food but on each individual table. Tea and coffee cups likewise. So you end up running back and forth between the buffet table and your own and rather than feeling it's a luxurious breakfast you end up feeling it's a hassle.
When I asked for a bottle of water while sitting at my breakfast table it was pointed out to me with a gesture that there was water on the buffet.

The rooms also, while quite lovely, have no storage for clothes. A mere two hangers are found in the wardrobe. The bathroom in our room could have been quite lovely if it hadn't been for the peeling paint of the flesh colored flooring, and the toilet which looked quite worse for wear.
The shower was lovely.

The pool is beautiful. It does though seem somewhat ridiculous posting a sign asking guests to please remove their shoes before stepping out on the pool deck, when the deck gets so hot that stepping on it barefoot is no option.

It's as if nothing at this hotel has been tested for functionality.

Given this, the setting is still very nice. The free shuttle that takes you to the beach or to Ban Saladan is a nice touch. The proximity to several excellent restaurants is a plus.

Room Tip: Room number 10 is perfectly situated, next to the pool so that you can look out over it from your de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofielejdstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Located about 7kms from main town of Saladan and about a 10 min walk to local beach. Set in own beautiful very green tropical gardens and individual chalets were large and spotlessly clean.
We were warmly welcomed by delightful staff who worked hard to please and overcome any communication difficulties.
Getting about was easy with numerous tuk tuks- Saladin 100-200bahts depending on your bartering skills and a 20 min walk to a range of inexpensive eating places.
Breakfast was more than adequate.
We would highly recommend this hotel if you like to be away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokestone44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

stayed at the hotel in january 5th 2012 for 5 nights , we had pool verandah rooms , which were absolutely fantastic with very large rooms with sunbeds overlooking the pool surrounded by coconut and banana trees , outside bathroom was really different but cool , but no need to worry though you still had total privacy !, on the down side though breakfast was very poor with little choice , and do not book taxis or tuk tuks or trips through the hotel they were 3-4 times more expensive , go into saladan town where the market is where you pay a fraction of the price. would stay here again if breakfast was better .

Room Tip: choose the pool verandah rooms well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasurehunter1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Chaw ka cher is set in a beautiful tropical garden... Lush greens, sweet smelling flowers, and twinkly lights in the evening. The pool was tranquil and perfect for a dip anytime of the day! Our room was big with everything you needed... Loved the decor! Outside bathroom was awesome... Shower was like raindrops! However was not so keen on going to the toilet in the middle of the night! The robes and slippers in our wardrobe had been used before which was off putting! Location isn't very good, u need to hire a motorbike or get a taxi to wherever! Breakfast was just what u needed... a choice of bout 6 things. Staff were very friendly but did have some difficulties with language. The restaurant food wasn't great but ok. We stayed here because it was our Xmas treat! I loved my stay but think for what we payed I would expect more!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent 5 nights here and really enjoyed. The resort is very green and beautiful with nice, tranquil athmosphere. The bungalow was big and nicely furnished, with an exciting open-roof bathroom; before coming here I wasn't quite sure how it would work out, but it was great! The big rainwater shower was amazing and one morning I saw monkeys on the trees just outside the bathroom!
We were welcomed to the hotel very warmly and the service was good, even though there was sometimes a bit of a language barrier with the staff. The brakfast was ok, there could have been some more stuff to put on your toast, but the fruity pancakes the staff cooked you if asked, were yummy :) The pool area was beautiful and never crowded due to the small size of the resort.
Location is not so convenient, the resort is a bit far from everything, but on the other side, motorcycle rental from the front desk is easy and cheap and our bike worked like a dream. Also tuk tuks go past the hotel all the time so getting transport to nearby beaches wasn't difficult.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiMo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
581 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
432 reviews
3.7 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,499 reviews
2.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort

Address: 352 Moo 2 | Long Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £42 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Beaches nearby, 500-800 M to nearest beach Bamboo and next Relax Beach, 7 km away from main pier, beautiful resort with green tropical garden that good for relaxing stay and easy walk to the beach, all activity could book at front desk, warm welcome and friendly staff. Free WiFi all public area and Free WiFi in room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing