We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to get back here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We arrived to Koh Lanta by ferry. There were lots of tuk-tuk drivers on the ferry trying to sell their service with higly overpriced! Luckily we didn't book a ride from them, because there was a free tuk-tuk ride provided by the hotel. So we got easily to the hotel, and while we were checking in the friendly staff gave us a welcome drink. Don't know what it was, ice tea perhaps, but the smell was much worse than the taste.

We got a nice room (#121) near the pool. And the hotel was so lovely! Nice little pathways squirming between the rooms (cottages) and palm trees. If possible, it got even nicer when the dark came and the lights went on. But the absolutely best part of this hotel is the restroom! Showering under the full moon and stars while crickets are singing, that is the memory I will always remember and get back to.

Breakfast was good, not so much choices than in other hotels but you could manage with that quite long. There were fruits, bread, cereals and yogurt for everyone, and you could also make an order from the list (its included in the room price). We had omelettes every mornign, it was ok. We also ate at this restaurant couple times, the food was ok.

The hotel is situated in a quite long walking distance from the markets and restaurants, and therefore its nicely quiet. We rented a scooter from the hotel for our stay, so we could easily drive to restaurants in the evening. It is cheaper if you book it for more than just one day.

We stayed here in december 2012 for five nights. Travelled as a one couple and one family with three children aged 3, 8 and 10 years.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PikloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

If, like me, you prefer small and intimate, rather than huge, crowded and impersonal, then you'll like Chaw-Ka-Cher.. We had a de-luxe room right by the pool, which is small & really pretty, and set amongst lush trees & plants. Room very spacious, and we loved the outdoor shower room, with monkeys scampering past in the mornings. It's quiet and relaxing, despite being located on the main road between Long Beach and Khlong Khong Beach - a 10-15 min. walk in the daytime in either direction. (You have to catch a passing tuk-tuk at night because the road is not lit). If you don't mind not staying actually on the beach, Chaw Ka Cher is good value, and its location means you can explore several beaches quite easily. Staff were pleasant & helpful - only complaint being a rather mediocre breakfast....

Room Tip: Ask for direct pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DemeterShufflewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

... depending on what you are expecting and what you need.
The hotel itself was ok - a typical three star hotel. The rooms are ok and spacious, the idea of an outdoor bathroom is great but the realization is rather bad as they used very cheap material.
Breakfast is worse than in a hostel. We did not have breakfast there and also no dinner. Ko Lanta is full of good restaurants, so I would recommend to eat outside.
We did not really spend a lot of time in the hotel and were just there to sleep - next time I would use a much cheaper hotel, as they also have clean rooms with A/C.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raupi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Good, clean rooms with original outdoor bathroom (surrounded by walls). Unfortunately the staff was grumpy all the time, no service but swimming pool and terrace were ok. Breakfast was just bad, no choice and again no service so didn't even bother to try the diner as there are enough good restaurants around.

It's also quite a walk to the beach but that didn't bother me as there are enough tuk-tuks around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Staff was excellent, very friendly, always saw to our every need. Location of property is within walking distance of a nice beach on Lanta; hotel surroundings seem secluded and is full of great landscaping and a comfortable pool...feels very private. High value for the money of comparable properties; highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

A feeling of quietness and peace. Beautiful big rooms in bungalows of two rooms in one bungalow. Clean, safe rooms, a lot of space for placing your stuff. The most amazing toilet and shower in completely open-air space with high enough walls to ensure your privacy. The only problem is that your nextdoor-neighbour will hear everything you do in bathroom since the bathrooms are side by side. Smallish common pool with wooden sun chairs and wooden floor nearby.

We were there the Christmas 2011 so it was already high season, even so there was always not more than one or two other persons by the pool or absolutely no one.

Very friendly service 24hrs. Internet access with two computers at the lobby for free. Scooters to rent with reasonable price. Walking distance from the beach.

They came to pick us up from the airport with a minibus for extra charge, that worked well. I would definitely go again to this hotel.

A nice extra were a group of monkeys that came every afternoon to run on the bigger walls behind the backyard of our bungalow. Behind the walls there was real jungle with calming nature sounds. The monkeys stayed there further away from me and did not bother me. I could watch and photograph them from my bathroom but felt safe there hence the high walls of the bathroom.

Room Tip: If you wish to experience the closeness of the jungle, ask for a room close to the big walls in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisaKuopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My self and partner went to char ka Cher in November - after arriving from phi phi , it was literally a very last minute booking, driving to the hotel wasn't great as we were driving through what looked like a rundown area - we got to the hotel and were greeted by 1 traditionally dressed lady Called NAh - we where served some cold drinks on arrival with some old towels to cool down with.

The place is absolutely beautiful - a vintage /tropical setting , we were shown to our rooms and could not be more impressed clean , very airy , huge and everything you could need- the bathroom area is stunning - with a massive shower !

Our first lunch was great - we ordered to much food - and NAh being the perfect host promptly told us no charge for the food we didn't eat ! Dah one of the other girls could also not be nicer, she did everything to make our stay feel more comfortable - and gave us some great suggestions of sights to check out

The local waterfall is beautiful, a bit of a trek to get there but stunning , and the hammocks at nicks bar on the beach are breathtaking - and very relaxing !

The hotel is on the main road , and easy to get to anywhere in ko lanta either by tuk tuk , which can be flagged down in 2 minutes , or scooter.

Since its on the main road , it's surprisingly quiet - no cars can be heard either at night , are outside during the day .

The pool area is also very beautiful quiet and tranquil no cars or traffic can be heard and it is very very quiet .

We were only meant to stay for 1 day but extended our stay to 3 - on the day of our departure we were very sad to leave - our final lunch we had was again complimentary,

As we left we were given a little token (a diary) hand made by the staff - and seen off with complimentary coconuts !

All in all our stay at char ka Cher was amazing - the staff could not have been more attentive , and welcoming - the surroundings are beautiful , and the food phenomenal - NAH and DAH could not have been more welcoming -

We would go back there just for the service - the saying " Thailand the land of smiles" is what these amazing host really portray !

Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoethebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
581 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
432 reviews
3.7 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,499 reviews
2.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort

Address: 352 Moo 2 | Long Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £42 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Beaches nearby, 500-800 M to nearest beach Bamboo and next Relax Beach, 7 km away from main pier, beautiful resort with green tropical garden that good for relaxing stay and easy walk to the beach, all activity could book at front desk, warm welcome and friendly staff. Free WiFi all public area and Free WiFi in room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing