We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms are large and clean, the outside bathrooms are great! The hotel rents scooters to their guests so you can explore the island and get to the beach.
All staff are really friendly. Da in particular is really helpful and very efficient. Food in the hotel is excellent as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fubufisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    151
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
57
257
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A very good choice if you want to stay at a beautiful place and explore the island on the motorbike. There is a nice beach close to the hotel, but we travelled every day to see more beaches and always found something very special. The west coast is amazing. Don't waste time traveling the east, including old town. It's not worth it at all. You will find just smelly rocky beaches and trash at its best.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kubovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and if this hotel was located on the beach, we might not have ventured out often. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated and the outdoor shower great (I did have to get used to the outdoor sink and toilet and opted to keep toiletries indoors so as not to attract bugs). The small terrace in front of the room is a pleasant place to sit and read for a bit, although we would have liked a small table and perhaps a chair in addition to the narrow 2-seater rocking bench that we had.
The grounds and the area around the pool are nicely landscaped.
The breakfast buffet and egg choices are varied enough; lunch and dinner choices are nice (and the Thai main dishes quite spicy, which we enjoyed), but the restaurant feels a bit cold.
And I cannot say enough about the staff, Da specifically - she sets the tone with her warm welcome when you enter the hotel. Da's husband was equally friendly and was quick to solve a rattling air conditioner issue for us. While most staff do not speak much English they always have a smile and try.
Cons were: The hotel's location. It is no more than a 10 minute walk to the center of the nearest main beach and actually less of a walk to a tiny beach just up the road that is used mainly by locals. It has no restaurants, but is actually a nice small bay (if you go there, be prepared to encounter some cows grazing on the field next to the beach). We knew ahead of time that the hotel was not on the beach, but that it was as close to the road was a surprise.
No free wifi in the rooms and often spotty connectivity in the public areas where there was free access.
Overall, highly recommended - great value. Just be prepared not to be on the beach and get in a tuk-tuk for a romantic dinner on the beach watching the sun set.

Room Tip: We had a boutique double room which was located in the back of the property, furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel. We had initially only booked 4 nights but ended up stying for 7 as we loved it so much.
The grounds are so well kept and the rooms are spacious and clean. Loved the outside shower. Da is amazing, so friendly and she couldn't do enough for us.

There are a couple of points you should be aware of - be careful with your bike, when we returned ours there was a small scratch and we were demanded to pay aload of money for it and if we didn't they weren't going to let us leave the island! We gave them a token payment just to shut them up!
A couple of my tops went missing whilst we were staying there, one of which I had left to be washed and it was never returned.

These are minor things are overall it is an amazing place stay, its a shame its not on the beach though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Beautiful rooms with lots of privacy. We paid $100 a night and it was great value for money. Breakfast was not the best but we had lunch at the hotel and it was very good. No wifi in the rooms is a bit of an inconvenience but it is free in the lobby.
The only draw back to this hotel is its location....you need to rent a scooter while staying here otherwise you will need to hire tuk tuks to get to beaches and restaurants, and everywhere else. Scooters can be hired from reception. Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfetre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very nice friendly staff, comfy and clean rooms with cold AC. The breakfast was actually pretty solid by Koh Lanta Free Breakfast standards. The pool and grounds were very nice. A few recommendations:

- consider adding curtains or blinds in the room other than the sheer white screens currently in place. It gets bright in the rooms starting at dawn, which is not for everyone if you want to sleep in a bit on your holiday.
- it was quite annoying to have to walk up to the lobby to use the free wifi. Why is the wifi free in the lobby but at a cost in the rooms? Most competing hotels offer free wifi throughout.

Otherwise a fine choice if you don't mind having to walk or ride to the beach and to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannika_Ssk, Guest Relations Manager at Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear CBEB1
Thank you for stay with us and many thanks for your review.

We intend to stay a bit away from the beach and crowed to keep a quiet place for nice relaxation stay while can do all activity as same, a bit walk to nearby beach in 5-10 minute, rent a motorbike to absorb around island and visit several beach is good idea, we so sorry for guest who cannot ride that we have service for shuttle to beach every day.

We arrange white curtains for welcome sunshine and fresh air after you have full sleep at night (you will fill full sleep at hear because no so much electric light at night time), if lucky you can see bird or butterfly at your window or monkey at top of next forest tree, some one who want to have dark tell us or house keeping that we always happy to add one more dark curtains.

We are small hotel with only 28 room and every unite is separate not as a building we need to find the good technical company to shoot WiFi from Lobby to every room that why to pay when use WIFI in room because it not hotel product, free WiFi at lobby & restaurant service for 24 Hrs, however we thank you for your comment and will consider for more comfortable in future.

Again, we so sorry for any inconvenience when staying with us, still hope you come to visit us again for next good time.

Best Regards
your Chaw ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Chaw Ka Cher for 3 nights, although the hotel is not located at the beach it was a perfect stay for us. Hotel looks brand new and is beautifully decorated, especially the show in the outdoors at the room were amazing. The food is great and the people are also, we loved it here! One minor detail: the AC wasn't functioning that well, so the room heated up pretty much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertjan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
4.0 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Papillon Bungalows
Papillon Bungalows
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort

Property: Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Address: 352 Moo 2 | Long Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
800 M to beach, 7 km away from main pier, beautiful resort with tropical garden that good for relaxing stay and easy walk to the beach, all acivity can book at front desk, helpful and friendly staff. Free wi-Fi on public area and Wi-Fi access in room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing