We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is an excellent hotel with great rooms, staff and swimming pool.

The bathrooms are outside, which we were a little worried about before we arrived, imagining a whole host of undesirable wild things awaiting us on our middle-of-the-night visit to the loo, in fact they are fully closed in except for the ceiling above the shower and you can look up at night and see all the stars (and there are lots of them visible in Koh Lanta). They became one of our favourite things about the hotel and when we moved on to a pre-booked second hotel we really missed our outdoor showers under the stars. Other good things include the rooms, which are spacious and very clean, the staff, who were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and the swimming pool excellent. The price is a bargain and if the hotel was nearer the sea then it'd be double the price, as it is it takes about 10-15 mins to walk to the beach (three very private alcoves in a row and then one longer beach, I had one to myself for a whole day!), which sounds ok but in the heat of late March you don't want to do too often. There are a few bars and restaurants along the longer beach and so you can always go there during the hottest part of the day.

I loved staying here and would definitely go back. It's a shame internet is only available in the restaurant and I spent two nights here on my own before my friend arrived and it is very couply and I felt a bit odd on my own and you're a little removed from things. Once I wasn't solo I loved the place even more!

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all quite similar and you don't need to pay extra for a 'superior'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ChrisSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Amazing place! Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing, a perfect place to stay with children (and without). We were there for four days with our 16 months old daughter. We stayed in a room next to a pool. It was spacious and clean, with open shower and high level of privacy. Resort is beautifully landscaped and designed, with nice pool and vegetation.
But the best of all was the staff, all of them in all shifts, unbelievably great people. Everyone in Thailand is nice, but they were really special. They would ‘babysit’ our daughter while we were having breakfast and played with her whenever possible. She loved them and so did we.
We would definitely go there again as this turned out to be the best hotel we stayed on our two weeks trip to Thailand, because of the great people and atmosphere. Even the guests were different (in a positive way) than in other places. Strongly recommended for those who are looking for a cosy and relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wow wow wow!!!!!
We were only meant to stay in koh lanta for two nights but extended our trip to 5 days staying at the chaw ka Cher and they offered the price slightly discounted as well. The staff there are so lovely and polite. Breakfast was great offering you a cooked option if you preferred. My partner and I rented a moped from the hotel at 250 baht a day which was great we went round the whole of the island which is so beautiful. We had a deluxe room which was massive and right outside the front door were two beds on your own terrace to sunbathe and view of the pool. The outside shower is tranquil looking up at the beautiful scenery the toilet is also outside but is covered. Absolutely beautiful and only a short ride from some great bars and restaurants would definitely suggest mays bar great food run by tony an Irish man and his Thai girlfriend who does all the cooking, there is a live band on every night at the live music bar which is great and encourage people to get up and sing. Absolutely brilliant stay in koh lanta and all because of our paradise hotel char ka Cher.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sgriff14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for a very enjoyable month in January/February. This small hotel made up of comfortable bungalows is not on the beach but there is a beach which has a beautiful sunset within walking distance. The hotel has a lovely small pool and beautiful gardens which are extremely well looked after. Ate here a few times and thoroughly enjoyed the food, especially the fish. I would like to thank all the staff for being so helpful and friendly and making our stay so pleasant. Would as always recommend this hotel. It feels like a real home from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked this place based on the pictures of the attractive bungalows with outside rain shower and beautiful garden. Upon arrival, we weren't disappointed. This place is wonderful, the staff is super friendly, the location is great as it's pretty much in the centre of the island. You can rent a scooter at the resort for only 250 baht (about 5 dollars) and explore the many amazing beaches Ko Lanta has to offer.
If you're looking for a place that's right at the beach, this isn't the best option. The nearest beach is about 10-15 minutes by foot and you have to walk along the busy main street first. However, if you don't mind going by scooter of tuk-tuk (super cheap), then I would definitely recommend choosing Chaw Ka Cher, as it offers a great luxurious experience with a personal touch for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MuchachaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were due to stay for 4 nights at this Resort but after reading some doubtful reviews we decided to visit in advance of our stay. Our overall impression was that the resort is in need of renovation and overpriced considering the amount of good value accommodation on Ko Lanta. We asked to view our room which was the standard double room but it was not available, but we were shown the poolside villa which is a step up. We were disappointed to see a concrete floor and furniture and fittings well over due for redecoration. The gardens and pool area were ok but not worth the price that we had paid for the stay we felt. The structure of the resort meant that the reception and dining area faced right on to the busy main road. The Wifi was not working either. We tried to discuss our concerns with the duty manager but she spoke little english and was not willing to consider our concerns. We were offered an upgrade but our request for a refund of the deposit paid was refused. We decided not to stay even though we lost our deposit, and we easily found much better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lecourtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

most recently stayed here for two nights and did very much appreciate the quiet surroundings and rather more family atmosphere of this little hotel: very clean rooms and nice chalet style resort embedded into an jungle garden with a nice pool, helpful and friendly staff; take scooters and you are good connected to the rest of the island

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andy_Hausser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
3.7 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
2.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort

Address: 352 Moo 2 | Long Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £32 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
800 M to beach, 7 km away from main pier, beautiful resort with tropical garden that good for relaxing stay and easy walk to the beach, all acivity can book at front desk, helpful and friendly staff. Free wi-Fi on public area and Wi-Fi access in room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing