We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$88
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Resort(Ko Lanta)
US$41
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pimalai Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)
US$751
US$507
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort(Ko Lanta)
US$160
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
251
171
39
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
171
39
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomtuk tuknearest beacha short scooter ridelong beachnice poolyang gardenfree shuttlethe main roadpay bahttropical gardenrooms are spaciousrent scooterspeaceful staybuilding workhotel is beautifulbeautiful island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

booked this thinking, ok well i would like to try la lanta or somewhere posh but might save a bit and get better quality given that it is on the main road and away from the beach.
was a bit disapointed.. will keep it brief
the staff are really friendly especially the ladies..
-dont drink the welcome drink .. we watered the bushes when the staff werent looking!
-we had the tropical tara and it was a very very spacious room with good facilities
-we had ants in our room but the staff sorted that by giving us ant spray to sort ..(to be honest you have to expect it if you stay anywhere in thailand that isnt an upper floor)
-the excursions are cheaper if you get them from an agent in the saladan town so hire a scooter from the hotel.. good value!
-the breakfast is limited and you feel you have to ask for more.. clearly the other reviewers were right in saying the owner is a bit tight in that respect!
-the pool wasnt that clean but nice and quiet

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIYtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

this is a wonderfull little resort. the staff is amazing, the bungalows are spotless clean and romantic, with nice details. loved the wonderfull outdoor bathroom.
rooms are cleaned every day and they also have a turndown service. theres a room near the reception with free internet.
it is not on the beach but rent a bike and explore all the beaches on your own. it`s a lot of fun and you will find very nice spots for sure.
would go back in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewel031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We recently booked a week's stay in February on the 24th January 2010 with our credit card. As we were unable to get a flight to Krabi due to the peak holidays, we had to cancel our reservation.

To our horror, Chaw Ka Cher wanted to charges us for 1 night cancellation fees even thought we cancelled it immediately on the next day, 25th January 2010.

On the reservation voucher dated 24th January 2010, the cancellation date is stated 17th January 2010!! How in the world can a reservation made on a date with cancellation dated 7 days earlier??? Our stay is still another 2 weeks away.

We tried to trashed it out with the hotel and they insist on charging for the 1 night cancellation although we totally disagree with it. We even called the reservation service provider in Switzerland to clarify and we were told that it is the hotel that is insisting and imposing the cancellation charges.

In the end, we have no other choice but to accept by force on the 1 night charge.

All we can do now is forewarn others of this incident.

I definitely would not want to stay at this hotel if they are so hard up in charging patrons on the cancellation. If the management behave in such manner, how else would they treat staying patron when things don't go their way?

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank KenJing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 24 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed at Chaw ka Cher for 3 nights while travelling around different islands.

This is a lovely little hotel, they picked us up from the pier on arrival, the rooms are gorgeous!! Lovely crisp white linen, lovely decor, and it has a lovely outside bathroom. If you see the brochure of Chaw ka Cher when you arrive you will be really happy as the brochure does not do justice to the hotel, on the back of the brochure it shows a rocky beach but the beach is infact sandy with just a few rocks at the end, so we were very pleasently suprised. We would definitely stay here again next year when we go back to ko lanta.

It is only about 10 min walk to the beach where relax bay is, this is a lovely beach with a few bars and restaurants and is very chilled. If you want a bigger beach with more choice of restaruants bars etc then that is only about 10 mins in a tuk tuk, which you will get easily the hotel have one but if it isn't avaiable then you will have no problem getting one on the road.

We saw a few of the other accomodations that were on the beach and none of them looked as nice as the rooms we had at Chaw ka cher.

The staff are so friendly and helpful, there is a room with free interenet too which you can use. Also at breakfast you can order omelettes etc and they will make them for you.

Ko lanta is a beautiful island, so chilled and the people are lovely with some lovely restaurants and bars.

p.s. the pool is gorgeous too!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaspanna0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews