We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot”
Review of Blue Moon Bar

Blue Moon Bar
Ranked #140 of 309 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Cuisines: European, Thai
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome spot”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Have been to the Blue Moon Bar a few times in the last week, Great location on a lovely stretch of beach (with seating overlooking and on the beach) and friendly staff. Best Tom Ka's I've ever had too and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattHardieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    9
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go here!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

It seems like things are hit or miss during low season in ko lanta. We were motor biking around looking for a nicer beach and a drink - Blue Moon was perfect! Ended up spending the entire afternoon there. Ordered fruit shakes (with rum added in) and a bucket of Mojito - both were tasty! Stayed long enough we were hungry - salads were fresh and the steamed fish with garlic was very fresh tasting. Great location on the beach, with beach chairs and beach toys. They even have a shower for you to rinse off in after a swim. Overall, great stop in ko lanta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cms20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vina del Mar, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I went in 2011 and loved the place, food and drinks were really really good. And of course the owner Gang was the best part! always with a smile on his face and super friendly. Anybody knows how to get in touch with him??

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Chill and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stopped in for a beer and ended up staying a couple of hours. Staff were super friendly and welcoming, atmosphere was perfect. We didn't eat but everything smelled and looked incredible. Beers and drinks have great prices, good music playing, and great seating all around. We would have been back for dinner today but they are closed on Mondays. We'll be back next time we are in Lanta, thanks for everything!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Bird85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice beach, just bring your own food.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had seafood noodle and mango shake for THB120, shake was refreshing but the noodle is soggy. Their burger it's big but it's the worst I've had, the bread is hard and the patty tastes like egg.

Service wasn't great either, the farang waiter who took our order was impolite and we think it's because he couldn't understand my friend's thai accent.

Aside from their great location, what I like about this place is they have those mon thai or the thai triangle pillow and beach umbrella available. My suggestion is to bring food from elsewhere and just buy the drink from them to be able to use those.

Massage, foot spa, manicure & pedicure are offered upstairs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank berjimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Moon Bar also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Blue Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing