We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True paradise!”
Review of Relax Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relax Bay Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I loved it here and will stay here as often as I can! The hotel is on a very private beach which had no more than 12 people on it for the most part. No loungers or commercial beach life here, converted old longtail boats with palm leaf shelters and wooden beds were dotted around for beach lounging, other than that its just you and the sand!
Snorkelling was fabulous here as there are large rocky area's with very little current which gave us an array of beautiful marine life to watch including sting ray & barracuda.
The hotel basic rooms are perfect, a rustic beach resort with a simple bed and bathroom set up(and the all important mosquito nets).
We also stayed in one of their tent rooms which are brilliant! They are set up high above the rocks overlooking the ocean! There are only two tents too so it a very private experience with an outdoor toilet and shower for anyone who is squeamish about bug, lizards, bats or frogs. I loved it though. Lots of nature without it in your bed!
I loved this place so much it will always have a place in my heart, so much so I didn't want to share it with the world. Its uncommercial island life is what makes this place different and very chilled out.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great from what we experienced but the tents aren't for everyone.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diplexalitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Relax Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was a nice resort. The island of Ko Lanta is a little rough around the edges and doesn't have a lot of luxury available so this was a great compromise. The rooms are clean and spacious. The property is right on the beach and makes great use of the semi private bay shared with another resort. There isn't anyone on the beach selling you stuff so that was a nice change from the rest of Thailand. The breakfasts are good. All in all it was a very relaxing and cozy place to call home for five days.
We were traveling as two couples so the amount of small children running around was a little annoying, but if you are young family then you would love it.

Room Tip: As two couples we got one of the Family rooms that are really two adjoining rooms in the same cabin.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wow, Relax bay was everything i thought it was going to be and more! We stayed over the christmas for 6 nights. Every minute since we left Relax bay, we have talked about nothing but when we are going back.

The hotel has it own private beach, that is much quieter and equally as beautiful as the much more touristy long beach.
The staff were all super friendly and happy to help in any way they could. The rooms were amazing, we stayed in an AC bungalow for 1 night and the rest of the time we stayed in the tent.

The Tent was right above the sea, so when your sleeping at night you can hear the waves crashing onto the rocks, and the noise of the busy jungle outside, we loved it.

There was a bonfire lit every night on the beach, every evening we would sit at the beach bar and watch the most amazing sun sets i have ever seen, then relax by the bonfire with a few cold drinks. While watching some of the hermit crabs make there way along the beach.

All in all this was a trip i will never forget, and i will defiantly be retiring many many times in the future :)

Room Tip: AC bungalows might be better for the very hot months. If you want a better experience i would stay i...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TemperedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Atmospheric and fun resort booked as the first stop off on our tour of the region with Andaman Sky Adventures. Loved this place, particularly the beach, the eco-green bungalow design, the Thai food and the evening atmosphere round the friendly and laid-back bar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmarshonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wow, what an amazing hotel. You really do feel that you are staying on a tropical island. The bungalows and tent house (we stayed in both) are built into the jungle. They are perfect but you are not looking for 5 star luxury.. if you want that go somewhere else (but i guarantee you will not be as relaxed!) The beach is really secluded and although I don't think it is a private beach it feels like you are the only one on it. The restaurant and bar are open air and the food was really really good. They catered for most tastes and we dined here about 6 times and had something new every time and really enjoyed. Ko Lanta reminds me of what Phuket would have been like before it got too commercialised.. It has a real laid back feeling to it. If you are looking for a very relaxing time this is the place you need to go. For me it was a great break from the real world and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smccor_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I tend to read all the reviews prior to booking, and consider the negatives to see if they are a genuine concern for myself. Relax Bay had a number of negative reviews which did concern me a little.

However, I found none of them to be an issue and in all cases saw no examples of them. Specifically the food was great, we were there for the New Year and the variety and quality of the food was excellent. The staff were very helpful, polite and jovial, especially Maen (not the correct spelling).

'Wildlife' was there in it's abundance, it is a jungle setting, which is made very clear….things live in jungles…we saw one very large lizard run across the path, but based on his pace he was clearly more frightened of us than me of him….we did see two cockroaches, but these are native in the jungle, we saw a few ants/termites, but not in our rooms, we had a small frog in the bathroom one night, the amazing this was how he got in…..but again, he lived there as well….we did see one very large snake but that was not in resort, it was near the Muay Thai stadium.

The room had a mosquito net so if all else fails put it up….

The location is idyllic and the comments about not being able to swim are completely unfounded, yes there are rocks but they do not invade the area, in fact snorkelling around them is amazing..

very open mind and try and make sure I know what I am getting for my money, Relax Bay Resort was everything we could have wanted….especially with a cold beer watching the sun set, there are very few better situations that this….

I am sure some will disagree, but we look for different things in our holiday….and as for WIFI is weak in the room……Grrrrrr you are on holiday, either relax or talk to someone….rant over :-)

Room Tip: we stayed in an AC Bungalow, it is a little more robust than the more rugged fan bungalows….
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jardinparadis, Owner at Relax Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hello sir, What can i say. After having to answer to 2 bad reviews, .... big mile and Thanks. Makes my day good again.
alain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

hi,

I don't normally write reviews when I am still staying in a place but felt moved to after reading some about relax bay.

I wonder if some european visitors are judging certain aspects by european standards? Complaining about damp/mold/termites while staying Ina bamboo structure on a sub-tropical island is a bit like saying I would have liked the Bordeaux region if it wasn't for all of the vineyards.

We are only recently arrived and would have a few v minor quibbles - but the setting is great, staff lovely and food fine.

It's a relaxed vibe - like the name suggests - and we don't mind sharing with a few termites.

Will probably write a fuller review after we leave but really enjoying so far and would almost certainly recommend to friends,

Thanks - Josef

Room Tip: Try the front - sadly we couldn't get the bigger bungalow we wanted
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Josef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
560 reviews
1.2 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,474 reviews
3.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Bay Resort

Address: 111 Moo 2 | AO Phrae Ae - Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £18 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax bay is not your average hotel. If you look for a traditional hotel with AC, concrete walls and all amenities you can find in any deluxe hotel anywhere in the world. Well, we are not the place to be. Our rooms are Huts, spaced between 5 and 10 m from each other and set in a as Jungle-ish possible setting. There is almost no concrete and we constructed our bungalows under the trees. This means they are in the shade. Furthermore the grass-type roofs are overhanging and give protection against the sun and around the bungalows we planted flowers and plants to block out the sun. Shade means coolness but also darkness. Bamboo, a living natural product also soaks up the moisture in the air. We air the rooms, but they always smell a bit Bamboo-ish. They do not smell damp and not well kept, they smell natural.Our roofs are made from grass, so they disintegrate after a time. They are not as waterproof as concrete, or tar roofs. However they are much cooler. and they look much better. Prices on the net should be the same everywhere , but you are best served by making a direct reservation at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Relax Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing