We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good place”
Review of Relax Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relax Bay Resort
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good place”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Relax bay is really what we werr looking for when we booked. Amazing location, a bit secluded, really nice and friendly staff, nice bungalows, great beach, very relaxed atmosphere. Our only disappointment was the restaurant, it is not at level with what Relax bay can offer. The Thai menu is kind of ok but the western menu is really not good. My child did not like Thai food and she always asked for plain spaghetti, which came with palm oil and bad quality parmesan. A place like that which is very close to paradise could really afford a better chef. But all in all I would come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilda0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jardinparadis, Owner at Relax Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Sorry about your disappointment in the Western menu. However, we use via Farang Food, a Cie in Phuket imported Italian Parmesan "Gran Panado'. And as far as it concerns the Palm oil: since beginning of this season, after having read the comments on palm oil in European food magazines we stopped the use of it and use the more expensive Soja oil. If for any reason palm oil was used, then rest assure it could be because they run out of Soja and ordered palm oi , as its very difficult to get Soja oil on the island at normal prices. However, policy is Soja oil. on 31st of March i did my purchasing in Krabi and bought 180 liter of it. European food: This is Thailand, and Lanta, so there are NO staff who really can cook European apart from maybe the 5 starr hotels. However, being a chef myself in another life i do teach them, and having friends in Bangkok, we invest every 2 months in a French Guest chef from Bangkok to come and teach our staff. Off course staff sadly do change regular here, but (i hold wood) we are for the moment rather stable. So they all weer trained by the 2 French chefs (one form a 2 starr Michelin in France) on food presentation and taste. Me and my manager eat the menu around to see where we have problems with the food. Suffice to say, that regularly we need to set some things straight again concerning portioning, taste and presentation. But all in all, I do stand behind my staff and trust them to do the right thing and set things straight when they made a mistake. And between us, as i live here, we made sure that sauces, vegetables preparation and other European food dishes do taste the same or as close as it can be as in Europe. In case of a food or taste problem, please just notify our reception or the restaurant supervisor, or just ask about the Upper chief of the manager. We will take the necessary action as it is really not our intention to serve bad food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    224
    85
    30
    22
See reviews for
142
352
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We just spent 12 days at Relax Bay, and it was really worthy. The bay is very beautiful and never crowded, even when it was fully booked, you always find a semi-deserted beach, and you can always have a spot just for yourself. If you walk a little bit further you can find completely desrted smaller bays. Beautiful landscape, just in the middle of rain forest. The sea is very safe for swimming, so really good with families with small kids.
The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. The bungalows look loely, and we realy liked that they are surrounded by incredible vegetation, and they are made of natural material. The beach bar is also really nice, and the pool is an extra if you travel with children. My only disappointment was the restaurant. The food is not so good, and breakfast is the same every morning. (breakfast is mandatory). I always had thai food, but for my child I had to order western dishes and they were really below the standard. The pizzas are frozen, and the Italian pastas are really bad. A place like this, that is so beautiful, with such a good service, should really have a better restaurant, it would make it top of the top. Also, I booked an airport transfer upon arrival from Krabi airport and I was charged 2500 bath for it. On the way back we found out that with any travel agency in Koh Lanta we paid 300 bath per person, same service. So, I did not appreciate they they overcharge so much. But all in all, the place is a piece of heaven if you are looking for relax, nice beach, and tranquillity. The massage aerea is also fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truemadamushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jardinparadis, Owner at Relax Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello, i read your review with mixed feelings. so let me defend myself as i don’t understand your problem, really:

Your disappointment: about the breakfast: Every day the same. Now, this is strange. We have a Breakfast Buffet. This year for the first time we actually had reel bread. We have eggs sunny side up, but yo can order the other type of eggs. We serve bacon, sausages, cheese, yogurt, muesli or cornflakes, cold ham, fresh fruits, jam, and everyday a different set up of 2 vegetables and Thai food. So, i really do not understand the complaint ? Oh, and i forget, sometimes there are pancakes or doughnuts or Trang cake. And last but not least, orange juice and pineapple juice, fresh milk and off course coffee and tea. We are not a five starr, nor in Europe, So you should know that Danish rolls and other bread specialties are a bit to expensive to be served. And For your information a simple breakfast in a average hotel costs 120-150 THB for 2 toasts, 1 egg, 1 small glass of orange juice, 1 piece of butter and 1 piece of jam, and a sausage.
Western dishes below standard : frozen pizza ? I have totally no idea why you would think we serve frozen pizzas ? We make them a la minute. Only the bread, in order to gain time is made in mise en place. ?? As for example the hamburger meat: We buy 1st grade charolais beef and every 2 months we have a guest chef ( a friend) who comes and checks over quality and recipes. And he used to work in 2 Michelin starr hotels. Off course, our food is more of the bistro type, as it is entirely cooked by Thais. And I and my manager eat everyday in the hotel and check along the way all the dishes. That its not always 100 % we understand. Don’t expect western food on an island in Koh Lanta to taste 100 % western. But me having been a chef in another life, well, I can assure you ours taste is 90% .
Airport transfer: again i am afraid you are a bit wrong; Yes, you can book the join van, cost 350 -400 THB at the airport. They go round and round and fill up the bus until they are full. You booked the private van. So there is a driver coming with a 10 - person minivan to pick you up and bring you to the hotel. You are comparing the Join van with a private service. You can compare apple and Pears. ? Totally different product. So, its not nice to say we overcharge you. We don’t. And for your information 12 -13 persons in the join van, well they van make more then 2500 THB for a tripp.
If you booked your room via us, you would have gotten a detailed description of all possibilities. If off course you booked via an online agency, well, then i am afraid, you haven’t.
Hoping to haven been able to defend myself correctly, I would have preferred that you would have come to us first before speaking about the wrong things.
alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

our couple stayed at relax bay on 29/01/14 - 01/02/14 just 3 nights but we cannot forget the memories of relax bay resort. after coming home, we talk a lot about it again and agian and ...
Here in Korea, varely information so it was not easy to decide to visit there, but as our first step in relax bay, we felt like ancient people in jungle, and happy. For 9 nights trip, koh lanta was the best, especially relax bay resort.
Already we gave lots of tips about koh lanta and relax bay to our friends and collegues.
Natured bangulaw and peaceful beach, gourmet restaurant, nice staffs. Everything was perfect.
If you want to relax, just GO! We will visit again sooooon.

Room Tip: any bungalaw will be good. but near the bar may noise at night. and fan room has no coffepot and ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumhonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

It doesn’t have to be expensive to be good. We asked our travel agency – the crew at Andaman Sky – they did great work too ! if you could find a nice place to stay in Thailand for under 100 bucks per night. They recommended Relax Bay and we were happily surprised ( it may have helped that they got us what seemed like the best room in the house ) ! The staff was always friendly to us, the surroundings were ok clean and it has great beachside location all at low cost. Sure we were happy with Relax Bay, recommended !

Room Tip: Book with Andaman Sky as one of the stops in an island hop.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank billhonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel is set on a nice stretch of beach which when we where here 2 years ago was very private. Now a few more hotels have popped up but it did no spoil our positive experience.When we arrived we got uppgraded to a large bungalow with sea view because they had missed that we had boooked an AC-room. Nice!. The staff is extraordinary at this place.Very cheerful and helpful . The restaurant serves very good food and we had all our dinners there while admiring the sunset. The white snapper with meditreneean vegetables was really outstanding!. Breakfast was mostly good but the bacon,eggs etc where sometimes not warm enough. The Bread was very good which is not common in thai hotels. Also the coffee was good and strong as we like it. The stairs from the reception up to road level can be strenous if you are old or unfit but reception is acsessable by car so it is ok if you avoid the rooms at the top..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swede_Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I loved it here and will stay here as often as I can! The hotel is on a very private beach which had no more than 12 people on it for the most part. No loungers or commercial beach life here, converted old longtail boats with palm leaf shelters and wooden beds were dotted around for beach lounging, other than that its just you and the sand!
Snorkelling was fabulous here as there are large rocky area's with very little current which gave us an array of beautiful marine life to watch including sting ray & barracuda.
The hotel basic rooms are perfect, a rustic beach resort with a simple bed and bathroom set up(and the all important mosquito nets).
We also stayed in one of their tent rooms which are brilliant! They are set up high above the rocks overlooking the ocean! There are only two tents too so it a very private experience with an outdoor toilet and shower for anyone who is squeamish about bug, lizards, bats or frogs. I loved it though. Lots of nature without it in your bed!
I loved this place so much it will always have a place in my heart, so much so I didn't want to share it with the world. Its uncommercial island life is what makes this place different and very chilled out.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great from what we experienced but the tents aren't for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diplexalitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was a nice resort. The island of Ko Lanta is a little rough around the edges and doesn't have a lot of luxury available so this was a great compromise. The rooms are clean and spacious. The property is right on the beach and makes great use of the semi private bay shared with another resort. There isn't anyone on the beach selling you stuff so that was a nice change from the rest of Thailand. The breakfasts are good. All in all it was a very relaxing and cozy place to call home for five days.
We were traveling as two couples so the amount of small children running around was a little annoying, but if you are young family then you would love it.

Room Tip: As two couples we got one of the Family rooms that are really two adjoining rooms in the same cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessterHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
440 reviews
3.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
506 reviews
2.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Bay Resort

Property: Relax Bay Resort
Address: 111 Moo 2 | AO Phrae Ae - Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax bay is not your average hotel. If you look for a traditional hotel with AC, concrete walls and all amenities you can find in any deluxe hotel anywhere in the world. Well, we are not the place to be. Our rooms are Huts, spaced between 5 and 10 m from each other and set in a as Jungle-ish possible setting. There is almost no concrete and we constructed our bungalows under the trees. This means they are in the shade. Furthermore the grass-type roofs are overhanging and give protection against the sun and around the bungalows we planted flowers and plants to block out the sun. Shade means coolness but also darkness. Bamboo, a living natural product also soaks up the moisture in the air. We air the rooms, but they always smell a bit Bamboo-ish. They do not smell damp and not well kept, they smell natural.Our roofs are made from grass, so they disintegrate after a time. They are not as waterproof as concrete, or tar roofs. However they are much cooler. and they look much better. Prices on the net should be the same everywhere , but you are best served by making a direct reservation at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Relax Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing