We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Staff! Amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relax Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relax Bay Resort
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Staff! Amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We are in the middle of a seven night stay at Relax Bay. I want to say the staff is amazing at this property. They are attentive, friendly, accommodating and professional in every way! I would return to this lovely property for the staff alone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alainrelax, Owner at Relax Bay Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello, thank you for your comment on our staff. It is well noted and i will take it into account when poying out the bonuses. :-)

Relax bay should be relax for the Customer , the staff and off course the Boss. But i am still deciding who should be first to relax. :-)

alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    212
    83
    29
    22
See reviews for
136
337
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

You can definitely find cheaper places in Koh Lanta, but I still found this to be a really nice value considering the location. My friend and I had an air-conditioned bungalow that overlooked the ocean and cost us about $60 US per night. I think it might have been one of the most expensive rooms at the resort. This was during low season, so it might get more expensive in the winter.

Breakfast was amazing and was included in the room price. Other food was a little pricey, but very very good (same with the drinks) and the restaurant overlooks the ocean.. The staff was really nice and helpful. Massages are slightly cheaper if you go somewhere else for them, and laundry is about twice as expensive here as anywhere else in the area. Still, compared to American prices everything was very reasonable. There are hammocks all around the property to hang out in and a lovely swimming pool.

Room Tip: We had room 35 and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely location and very friendly staff, a bit too expensive place to stay though. Located just by the beautiful and quiet beach, very nice beach bar. Great massage spot just by the sea - I recommend to have a relaxing massage during the sunset while listening to the waves. Outstanding place, make sure you have a trip around Ko Lanta, motorbike would be a perfect choice for that as Lanta is less crowdy and crazy than other islands around. Watch out for monkeys on the south - they are mad;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HiCeiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at Relax Bay at the end of April 2014. We originally booked 2 nights, and ended up staying a week. We were lucky to basically have a private beach as low season was approaching and it was a great time of year to go. The bungalows were lovely (stayed in a VIP suite with an ocean view) and the food was the best we had in Thailand. The only thing that really put a damper on our stay was that my cell phone was stollen from our cabana, along with other travellers cell phones that same morning. There was also a break in while we stayed there and passports (along with other items) were stollen. Be very careful while staying at Relax Bay.
Make sure you rent scooters and check out Red Snapper restaurant (walking distance) for dinner and the Living Room for a latte.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

After traveling thru Thailand we found that this resort offered a full range of acccomodation options from beach front pool side hill side bungalows and our favourite the two tents pearched on the cliff side with an outside bathroom . A wonderful place to view your own personel sunset. We orginaly planned on spending 2 nites and we left 1 week later. The staff make you feel part of their family . The breakfast buffet was secound to none, from western to thai, also a treat was fresh warm and crunchy bread daily. For the value and offerings it was a 5 star rating with mid range costs. We will definetly will return to Relax bay, Frank

Room Tip: To recapture the memories of your childhood camping trips choose the tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We fell in love with this place!
As a guest you can see & feel that the owner paid attention to every single detail by building and decorating this hotel. And the staff is incredible! Always professional, friendly and attentive. We had the feeling that just everyone loves to work here. We intented to stay 3 nights but extended our stay with a week.

*LOCATION*
Relax Bay Resort is located at -surprise, surprise- Relax Bay, one bay after the famous Pra Ae (Long Beach). Relax Bay is a small, rustic and charming stretch of white sandy beach. Only Relax Bay Resort and some small bars/restaurants/hostals are located here. This makes it a hidden gem in central Koh Lanta! You can walk to the mainroad in 7 min. and find yourself lots of restaurants, bars, massage salons and even a second hand book shop and a gym/Muay Thai training center.

*FACILITIES*
The resort has all facilities you could wish for: a good restaurant, a nice swimming pool, a lovely massage salon, a yoga studio, diving facilities & you can book a dozen excursions. So there's really no need to go anywhere else. But if you want to explore more of Koh Lanta: for 250 baht a day you can rent a motorbike, including helmets.

*THE ROOMS*
The resort has 40+ bamboo bungalows. All are nicely located with some privacy. Each bungalow has their one balcony, with chairs and a hammock. There are fan rooms (started from 2150 bath) and also bigger airco bungalows and family cottages. Rooms are cosy & comfortable and daily cleaned. The only thing we missed was a fridge.

*FOOD*
The restaurant serves an extensive Thai & western buffet breakfast with everything you wish for - and more, like fresh baguette, cakes, cheese and fried eggs that are specially made for you on request. We had a few times lunch & dinner at the restaurant and were never dissapointed. Our favourite dish: wok fried chicken with vegetables & cashewnuts.

Relax Bay Resort, keep up the good work! We'll recommend your place to our friends and will definitely visit you again if we're heading to Koh Lanta!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Struggy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed 10 nights at the beginning of March and had the perfect holiday at Relax Bay! The bungalows are in a lovely, jungle setting, really pretty. We loved the fact that Relax Bay is nice and tucked away, not crowded. The beach is gorgeous, paradise! The sea is so nice and refreshing after a sunbathing session!
The hotel restaurant was great. We ate there every day for breakfast, lunch and evening meal and all the food we tried was delicious. Also, the coffee served with breakfast was really, really good. For lunch and evening meals we ate from both the Thai and Western menus and both were great. My particular favourite was the Thai Green curry!
The beach bar was lovely and the perfect setting for a sunset drink. Only suggestion would be to maybe play some more chilled kind of music, sometimes it was a bit of a jumbled mix but it's not really a problem!
All the hotel staff were very friendly, particularly the staff at reception who were very knowledgeable and really helpful whenever we needed anything or wanted to book a taxi and the transfer back to Krabi at the end of our stay.
We loved Relax Bay and will definately be coming back again. Thank you for a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Papillon Bungalows
Papillon Bungalows
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Bay Resort

Property: Relax Bay Resort
Address: 111 Moo 2 | AO Phrae Ae - Koh Lanta, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relax Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax bay is not your average hotel. If you look for a traditional hotel with AC, concrete walls and all amenities you can find in any deluxe hotel anywhere in the world. Well, we are not the place to be. Our rooms are Huts, spaced between 5 and 10 m from each other and set in a as Jungle-ish possible setting. There is almost no concrete and we constructed our bungalows under the trees. This means they are in the shade. Furthermore the grass-type roofs are overhanging and give protection against the sun and around the bungalows we planted flowers and plants to block out the sun. Shade means coolness but also darkness. Bamboo, a living natural product also soaks up the moisture in the air. We air the rooms, but they always smell a bit Bamboo-ish. They do not smell damp and not well kept, they smell natural.Our roofs are made from grass, so they disintegrate after a time. They are not as waterproof as concrete, or tar roofs. However they are much cooler. and they look much better. Prices on the net should be the same everywhere , but you are best served by making a direct reservation at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Relax Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Bay Hotel Ko Lanta
Relax Bay Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing