We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“a hidden amazing sweet place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fisherman's Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a hidden amazing sweet place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My girlfriend and I we arrived at Fisherman's in a rainy day after travelling for weeks by buses and train all over north Thailand. We had easilly booked two days before only basing on tripadvisor just with a phone call. On the road to Fisherman's we saw lot of so called "luxury resort" but Fisherman's beats them all!It's written "bungalow with style" on the banner at the entrance of the ground path and it's absolutley true!!!!!The bungalows are made of concrete with palm leaves roofs and they are minimal and perfectly clean. No wood forniture inside means no insects and dirty, and the concrete shelf raising by the floor (as the bed) it's eonough for all the clothes we had for a one-month trip. I don't want to tell anything about the bathroom because it was really surprising, clean and lightfull, you'll discover the rest.
Usefull mosquito net over the confortable bed and fan on the wall is all you'll find in the room.
But trust, you don't need anything else. No tv, no air con, no fridge, Useless stuff here, as you open the door and you have a paradise in front of you!The concrete keep the inside fresh and if you don't want to eat or drink at fisherman's (but it would be a pity at all!!!!!!!!) there a 7eleven just on the street, 3 minutes by walk.
We planned to stay a week and finally we doubled because we cannot leave a place like this.
And this was only the place!About the staff we just can say that they are adorable, you'll become friend in few hours and they provide you everything you need, most of all nice and funny talks!
We fall in love with fisherman's and after travelling in Thailand is the perfect place to relax in complete freedom and easy and familiar ambient.
The only stain is the orrible music coming from the neighbors at night, but you could not hear it if you'll lay down in the common area in front of the sea drinking a cold beer and listening to the relaxing dub and chill out of Fisherman's!
Definitly lovely experience, and lovely people we never forget!
And eat at Fisherman's if you love food! ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudovicoPensato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    19
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
91
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

...my Sole would always be at rest here with the 'boys'; Kun, Kun's Dad, Pon, Lap (employee of the month :-), Lam and Jae. My mate Laz came 3 years ago and raved about it but within 5 minutes of arriving I realised words can't do justice to the place or the boys...I think they were worried when they kept catching me laughing to myself until they realised I just couldn't keep the happiness in....superb cottages with outdoor bathrooms, has to be the best food on the island (order some fresh fish), totally chilled but totally looked after, coollest music, great beach, but most of all it's the boys that make it; great guys, nothing too much trouble, great fun, and not too bad at football and backgammon either (:-)...Fishermans' motto is 'no sea, no fish, no fisherman'; I'd add 'no Fishermans' Cottages' which would be a tragedy....you won't want to leave.....everyone who stayed when we were here booked extra nights....

Room Tip: All great some bigger some smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I can not recommend this place highly enough. I read another person's review on tripadvisor as my girlfriend and i were travelling across from Phi Phi and had no place booked.
We arrived and were greeted by the chilled and pleasant owners i have known.
The place is set off the main road and runs straight on to the beach with 9 Bungalows to choose from all very cool. Nice comfy beds, netting to keep the mosi's off and a bathroom set amongst a range of plants.
The place is so chilled its ridiculous. The food is immense and all the other guests were so friendly towards each other.
The bar plays chilled music so you can unwind in the hammocks or on low slung seats scattered across the beach and bar.

We paid 900bht for a room which i felt was an absolute steal.

This place is a gem and the two of us would have stayed longer but we had to move to the Half moon party on Koh Phangan.

Book without hesitation......

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms set further back from the beach as the bars locally have music playing u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Århus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed 5 nights in february after 4 weeks in total in Thailand. In the 4 weeks we had been at a lot of Hotels/resorts from 250 baht pr. night till 6.000 baht per night. The best place?? FISHERMANS COTTAGE! We had a great time here, and it was the only place we chose to stay more than two nights.

The staff is incredibly nice and polite. They have got the real holiday spirit. Take it easy, relax. They are very informant, helpful and willing to give out advice about the surrounding islands or what food to choose. (we ate at they're place 3 times a day for the 5 days, except one evening, because the food is great and very reasonable priced. (try pad thai with chicken ,chicken no name and the fish you have to order three hours before. GREAT!!!)

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed some great evenings on Fishermans, drinking, playing backgammon with the staff and just having a great time.

I will recommend this place to everyone I know (already have) and we will definetely go back there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and thought it was a great property with a simple and lovely style to it. The grounds look great, the bungalows are nice with fun bathrooms and the guys who run the place are extremely friendly. The big downside to this otherwise outstanding spot is that the bar next door has loud live outdoor music until very late at night. Music blasts from about 10pm to 2-3am or later every night. If you can handle the noise, Fisherman's couldn't really be any better. But if not, stay away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beckcommar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Well hidden behind huge palms and away from farang routes. Incredible service, one of the nicest persons met in Thailand - the owner of the place. Nice downtempo, lounge music in the bar, relaxing and watching the sunset sipping on the cocktail - a perfect holiday, off the popular track. Planned two days, stayed all five. Try the food - the sound of the mortar and pestle from the kitchen the morning is the best indication of what to expect on your plate. Overall - very nice stay with friendly people, thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creepinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anywhere
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Fishermans cottages are pretty and quirky, but they are concrete render, dark inside, and bamboo roof. Cold shower and very airy,so mozzie net (included) needed. BUT - as per website so as expected and okay for price paid. Staff friendly and food good. Beach okay (not great) and a nice chilled place to be.
Only complaints are that it was a little noisy (mosque and music) and as the huts are fairly open noise travels. But, this is as expected and no marks lost.
Biggest moan, one of the staff kept coughing from deep throat (hope not the chef) - and hearing this every 10 minutes wasn't pleasant. But - each to their own.
Overall, good budget place, but don't expect 5* quality for the price. Check their website so you know what you are getting.
We were happy enough to stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-8 are towards the back away from beach and better (away from bar). 6-9 are on the better si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanAndMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.9 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#5 of 194 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Cottage

Property: Fisherman's Cottage
Address: 190 Moo 2 | Klong Khong Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 194 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on an idyllic palm fringed beach, 'fisherman's cottage' is a contemporary spin on a traditional theme. The spacious land is home to 11 beautifully unique bungalows. Each has an en-suite bathroom, with shower and toilet, 24hr electric supply and fan as well as a gorgeous sea view and has been designed with your comfort in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Cottage Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing