We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Slice of Heaven! Jo Star!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fisherman's Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven! Jo Star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have literally travelled the world from adventures in true backpacker style as well as luxury business travel...but Fisherman's is one place that seems to keep calling me back. This is the 4th time i've been to Fisherman's and once again the experience was just as fab as the first time I ever went there. I've been with friends before and also just escaped London in the winter and jetted off on my own.... well you're never really on your own as you meet great people and more often than not see a familiar face from past trips...... it seems like everyone returns at some point!
There's allot I could write but the best things are..... gorgeous friendly staff who can be as much a part of your trip as you want them to be - they are really good at knowing when you want a chat or are just as happy being totally in the background when you're happy with your own company....either way they really make this place and are the biggest reason so many people go back. The service is great and they can help you organise anything during your stay.
The rooms are excellent.... as long as you're not expecting soul less 5 star luxury.... this place is what i'd call 'boutique back-packing'. The outdoor bathrooms are one of the best features... the rooms are spotless and have real characture.
The beach is a great stretch....ideal for a run at sun-rise or sun-set. The tides go in and out so some days you can't swim for a couple of hours..... but it soon comes back in so it's not a huge issue.
Sun-downers and sunsets are the best time of day....they have a great chill-out area where you can sip your gin and tonics and every single evening the sunsets are truely amazing. You never have to wait long before someone says... what would you like a drink...! and they play really cool 'chill-out' tunes which is a nice touch.
The food is great.... the seafood bbq which you can order in advance is a great thing to do if you're in a group.
What I love especially is the kind of people that this place seems to attract.... very cool, very chilled and lot's of fun.
I'm homesick for Fisherman's now i'm back in the grey rain of London! can't wait to go back

Room Tip: for more space go for rooms 1,2 and 3... to be away from the restaurant and to be tucked away at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jocollins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    20
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
94
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights. The bungalows look great and are clean.
But the manger as well as the staff was really unfriendly without any smiling or saying good morning / hello. Another big disadvantage was the loud live music until very late at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cirruswolke999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The first time I visited Fisherman's Cottage was 13 years ago, I've only missed a few seasons since then. I don't bother going to any other beaches, I've found my paradise.
Quirky, friendly, clean, yummy food and the most beautiful sunsets.
Great for solo travellers, young families, and.....well actually it's perfect for just about everyone I think.
My favourite room is number 1 (big room closest to beach) and then number 4 (tucked away and covered in flowers)...but number 10 gets my vote for the best shower. They are all great rooms.....if you are lucky enough to find availability then jump at the chance to stay here!
I've just returned from another trip there and bump into the same people now each season, that says it all I think.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footprints_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Barra, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a fantastic 7 night stay in red snapper cottage.....The staff are super friendly and helpful, there is nothing that these guys cant organise for you ....the cottage was clean and inviting I loved the outdoor shower and toilet...the food was superb, especially the seafood BBQ my king prawns were delicious and enormous! the cocktails at sunset overlooking the beach a real treat thanks Kun and Paun.....just amazing...if you want a sandy beach just hire a scooter from these guys and go explore....but at high tide it is lovely to wallow in front of the resort... Thanks so much guys ...the best time we had in our 4 weeks in Thailand! love Mick and Sharon xx

Room Tip: cottages at the back seem to be less noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzaandmickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This place is perfect. The three guys who run it are fabulous. They do an awesome job. The bungalows are situated beautifully in a lovely garden. They aren't positioned in a boring straight line and are a good distance from your neighbour. They are extremely clean. The food is first rate...we tried to eat at other places but learnt FC was the best for food. FC is brilliantly located on a bend of the beach so you feel you are on your own but just round the corner are all the other bars and restaurants...best of both worlds. I was worried from previous reviews that we would be right next door to a 7/11 - not at all....we were far enough from the main road (where the 7/11) is that you can't hear the traffic at all. I travel a lot for work and have backpacked a fair bit of the world and I would highly recommend this place. If you are a female traveller, you will feel very safe here. I think the location, the bungalows, the food and the staff really make this place very special. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceylu7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location is just great and the staff are so friendly and helpful.

The bungalows are basic but quirky (polished concrete walls and floors) and most importantly very clean. Out front there are chairs and a hammock.

The bar/restaurant is maybe 20 metres from the beach, sitting there sampling the cocktails in the evening was pretty idyllic. The food was very good, not the cheapest in Thailand terms but hey the location made up for that.

The only slight down side was that when the tide is out it's difficult to get in the sea due to the coral.

Overall we loved Koh Lanta and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Fishermans Cottage, a large part of the recommendation based on the great staff who were so friendly, funny and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

From the moment we arrived the three guys that run the place were so friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect if you want a quiet holiday, and the food is excellent. We are picky about food, but we found it absolutely brilliant. The only downside to this place is that there is a huge amount of slugs that make their way into the rooms and slime all over everything - your bags, clothes, bedding... We were obliterated by mosquitoes, in the morning and night as it is still slightly in rainy season, it would have been good if they'd have supplied mosquito coils. The main issue for us was that we had a lot of rats come into the room at night, which was obviously not good. The roof is open to the outside, so there is no way of stopping them. Reading other reviews it is obviously not a common problem, and I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.5 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#25 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.2 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Cottage

Property: Fisherman's Cottage
Address: 190 Moo 2 | Klong Khong Beach, Saladan, Ko Lanta 81500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on an idyllic palm fringed beach, 'fisherman's cottage' is a contemporary spin on a traditional theme. The spacious land is home to 11 beautifully unique bungalows. Each has an en-suite bathroom, with shower and toilet, 24hr electric supply and fan as well as a gorgeous sea view and has been designed with your comfort in mind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Cottage Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing