We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never ever again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kantiang Bay View Resort
Ranked #147 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 13 February 2008

We stayed in the Kantiang Bay View Resort and paid Baht 2200 per night (no breakfast) for a so-called “beachfront cottage” which in fact was far away from the beach and the only panorama was the massage hut...
The once beautiful Kantiang Bay is ruined by the huge Pimalay Resort and their long ‘plastic’ boatjettie.
Kantiang Bay View Resort was one Big disappointment, everything there is wrong: Unfriendly uninterested – underpaid - staff and an arrogant manager, NO room service, a housecat sleeping (!) on the fresh bread, too loud music from the beach bar and bad food and so on. With other words a NO GO PLACE

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank inaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2007

Ao Kantiang (Kantiang Bay) has a gently curving white sand beach about a mile long with a few midrange hotels on it. It is on the whole quiet and low key with no irritating jetskis. The Kantiang Bay View Resort is at the Northern end of the beach and comprises chiefly of detached bungalows set in its grounds. Unfortunately they are really crammed together so there is no sense of space. The rooms are of good size but have no tv (hurrah!) and cold water shower - I think there was a hot tap but it didn't seem to work (not that you need hot water on Ko Lanta anyway). We paid 1000B a night for room only which is about GBP15 or US$25 - I thought this was slightly overpriced but the place was nigh on full and had a good atmosphere. The "Why Not?" Restaurant and Bar is on the beach and serves pretty good and well priced Thai food - service is ok but a bit unenthusiastic. There are a couple of other places to eat if you want a change of scenery. The hotel will organise day snorkelling trips (800B including lunch) and elephant rides nearby. There is an outdoor massage area which was popular with the guests. Nearby there are two small shops for provisions. No transport unless you hire a bike or scooter. The endless Jack Johnson songs pumping out from 6pm till 2am got on our nerves but the bar is definately not a wild partying place; mellow-out beach music. Clientele mostly 25-40 looking for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank raskolnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank emman627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Marjoeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Evgenii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#46 of 85 in Ko Lanta
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#56 of 85 in Ko Lanta
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kantiang View Resort
Kantiang View Resort
#62 of 171 in Ko Lanta
75 reviews
0 mi away
Phra Nang Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta
#33 of 85 in Ko Lanta
259 reviews
5.5 mi away
Nice 'N Easy House
Nice 'N Easy House
#9 of 240 in Ko Lanta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantiang Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantiang Bay View Resort

Address: 9 Moo 5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £31 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantiang Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local family own and operated. Located right on one of the most beautiful beaches on Koh Lanta. The most famous Why Not Bar is located on the premise. Beach BBQ seafood available during high season. We open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kantiang Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantiang Bay View Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing