We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't exactly call this a Resort, Fan room is more adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kantiang Bay View Resort
Ranked #163 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed for one night only, canceled the originally three nights reservation.

Location; beachfront in kantiang bay, a 5min walk from restaurants and convenient store. Koh Lantas most visited and famous beach bar called the why not bar, with live band on the actual resort.

Facilities; bar, restaurant and travel agency. Rooms in top of the bar and restaurant and bungalows.

Room; stayed in one of the so called fan rooms on top of the restaurant.
Worn and dated rooms, very sterile looking and with a window facing a wall, with bathroom, only furniture in the room are the beds and a ready to fall apart closet, Beds are comfy and clean though.
Noise from the bar until 2am was ok in comparison to the noise of the kitchen staff starting at 6am, and the fish smell…

Value; 600baht night in low season is hefty for the standard compared to other hotel deals in kantiang bay.

Room Tip: I'd stay in one of the beach bungalows, or in a actual resort in koh lanta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

I had a great time staying here. The rooms were decent, insect free (a big plus after encountering six cockroaches at once in my bungalow in Railay!), and air conditioned. The resort is located right on the beach, and the restaurant is a wonderful place to enjoy some food while watching the waves. Nearby there are helpful businesses such as 7/11, a few Thai massage parlours, and of course the awesome Drunken Sailors and Pad Thai restaurants. The best part of my experience here, however, were the staff, who took the time to get to know me personally and even show me around the island. The fellows at Why Not Bar were particularly friendly - they learned my name and were happy to see me there. I felt like I was their friend, not so much their patron. The bar owner even drove me to the animal shelter when I told him that a taxi would be too expensive - and the only payment he asked of me was to hang out the bar that evening. Will definitely be spending more time here next time I'm in Thailand and highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccardiff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Kantiang Bay View Resort is located right by a wonderful beach.
The room was ok, it somehow looked like it was "top of its class" 30 years ago..
The "Whats Up" bar lying next to it is super nice, with live music every night.
Its indeed nice for relaxing after over-crowed Phi Phi! The staff is also helpful with renting a scooter ect, but I wasnt really impressed by the service...
The resturant is also ok, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bugge89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the most expensive rooms. The bungalows had just recently been built. They were very nice and upmarket with a big bed and big bathroom. Nice porch too. Having just been built though, there was not yet a pathway built to our rooms and since it was raining in Koh Lanta in our stay there, we had to walk through sludge to reach our room. Fortunately there was a tap at the bottom of the stairs to hose off the mud. The downfall of the room was the TV. There was around 100 channels and not one channel was in English!! They were all in Thai. Restaurant on site was good. Nice location but again it was raining so we did not get to enjoy the beach which was a shame.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavieremp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Not a 5-star resort, but I enjoyed it there. You spend most of your time on the beach, in the beacg bar, on a boat or at the Drunken sailor at night, so the aircon room was fine for me. Spent hardly any time in it. Preferred Koh anta vibe to over-commercialised Phuket or over-crowded Phi Phi. Enjoyed the relaxing beach bar and the food was OK. Didn't have much to do with the reception staff, but everyone seemed friendly enough. Waiters nice, fresh fish braai on the beach was good. Lots of other places to eat nearby, so go out and explore! :)

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhanr292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

This place was really wonderful. It certainly had its negative aspects and you can find cheaper and nicer accommodations but the location is most desirable. The beach here is mesmerizing and I saw fireflies out on the beach at night. Kayaking out onto the andaman sea in the middle of the night was one of the most exciting parts of my trip. They won't charge you if they don't notice when you borrow the kayaks ;)
The service was crappy but a few of the people working were very charming. The bungalow was almost fallen over and the angle in the bathroom was so extreme I could barely stand up to bathe and the front door wouldnt close, but if you can suck it up and not be a whiney baby, it's just wonderful. No one cared when we partied on the beach and the surrounding bars and such were really fun and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theexplodingawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at the Kantiang Bay View resort in Jan 2013. We paid extra to get the Beach Bungalow (E1), but even with paying extra the room was quiet cheap.
The resort location is great. A quiet resort with great views. The resort has "hosts" the Why Not bar, and has a restaurant. The restaurant food was OK - however we found plenty of other places to eat nearby with better food. The Why Not bar has a great atmosphere with live music, but we found the entertainment repetative after a few nights.
The room had Air Con, and 2 double beds. The balcony looked direct out to sea with great views. The bathroom had a bath with cold water, toilet, and hot and cold shower.
Overall the room and bathroom looked tired. A good clean and coat of paint would do wonders. Beds were very comfortable.
A tired looking room, but the views and location were great, so we would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: If want the views and direct access to beach - go for the Beach Bungalow (E1). The balcony looked d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Zeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#52 of 85 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.3 mi away
Kantiang View Resort
Kantiang View Resort
#74 of 159 in Ko Lanta
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Marine Park View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantiang Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantiang Bay View Resort

Address: 9 Moo 5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £29 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kantiang Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local family own and operated. Located right on one of the most beautiful beaches on Koh Lanta. The most famous Why Not Bar is located on the premise. Beach BBQ seafood available during high season. We open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kantiang Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantiang Bay View Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing