We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sayang Beach Bungalows
Ranked #20 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed in the luxury villa and were very pleased with it. Clean and close to the reception and breakfast. The staff was helpfull and friendly.
The breakfast is good, but there are alot of flies. The restaurant had avarage tasting food but very good service. There are at least 5 other restaurants within 150 meters. We tried both Thai Cat and Suza hut, which weren't great either. We stayed next to Suza Hut for 3 years ago, and I think the quality of the food has dropped.
The beach is perfect, and there are some good places to snorkel just 100 meters away. I can recommend Dive and Relax, a diving / snorkeling firm which has a office at the hotell.
100 baht to get to Saladan, just 5 minutes away with "tuk-tuk", where there are alot restaurants to choose between.

Room Tip: The luxury villas are build on pillars, which is probably why there aren't so many bugs, ants an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredrik k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    88
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
131
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

After looking at all the reviews, we decided to stay at Sayang, and we were not disappointed.

The bungalows are clean, the staff friendly (like, really friendly), the breakfast delicious, the beach spotless, the bar cool and inviting. We were greeting at the hotel with a moist toilette and a glass of juice. The restaurant served really good food, and is right on the beach.

The ambiance is family/couple, so if you're looking for a party place, there are other resorts further down the island (If you're a hardcore partier, I might suggest Ko phi phi instead of koh lanta, as the attitude is a little more chill/relax). Also, the hotel is relatively close to Saladin, where the ferry arrives, which makes getting there easier. If you want to dive, there's a good dive center right on the premises, so no need to get picked up and dropped off.

I felt that the price was a little too steep for what is was, especially seeing as we came here right after Chiang Mai. Maybe we didn't negotiate enough? If you're on a budget, you can probably get the same service at another place a little further down the beach, but if comfort and charm are your priorities, you can book safely here.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are not that much farther from the beach as the more luxurious rooms, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Although we didn't experience any major problems in Bangkok, it felt good to be so safe and relaxed in Koh Lanta. We really felt we could leave the door open with money on the table, and everything would still be there when we got back!
The bungalows were basic, but you really don't need any more when you're right on the beach! The TV was not working when we were there, but who needs it when you can watch the sunset everyday. Most of the time we spent on the bungalow we were sitting on the balcony enjoying the view and drinking some cold beer we bought up the road.
The breakfast was very good, and it varied during the whole time we've been there. You are requested to take of your shows when entering the breakfast room, but after a while you get used to it.
The staff is as welcoming as everyone mentions, and they were helpful when we wanted to book a day trip around the islands. We've done it with Garden hill, as the price was good even if we booked through the hotel, and you shouldn't miss the Emerald cave.
The wifi from the room was very weak, but worked perfectly from the reception.
There were small supermarkets close to the hotel, ATMs and nice restaurant. We particularly liked Star to your right when you get to the main road. The girl didn't have a menu, but we managed to understand each other and she always cooked lovely cheap meals. To your right you have Mr. Green, where we experienced very hot food!
It might be a good idea to take a flash light for when you leave in the evening - we did found it helpful!
In Saladan there are more shops and restaurans, and a tuk tuk rides costs between 40-50B per person.
The beach was very long, as expected, and we always found it clean. It was never crowded on the sand or sea, so we always had space for ourselves, and sun beds in front of the hotel. The sea was warm and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galante78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The moment I arrived here I felt welcomed and the reception staff were always on hand to help. I felt that I could ask anything and nothing was too much trouble. My room was big but basic, it was cleaned to a good standard and it was set in lovely grounds.

The location on long beach was perfect, as was the restaurant on the beach. The breakfasts weren't bad either!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed 2 weeks in the beach bungalow, it was pretty goood except all ants in the bathroom. The hotel is operated by muslims, which means that they dont served any alcoholic beverage, but they had a solution for that. There was a bar next to to the hotel, Country Bar they did a great job and served you. The service at this hotel is good but there are a lot more to wish, The people who works there are just young kids, dont know what to do.. The breakfast is a disaster, there are so much flyes.
The beach is great it is really nice to swim there.
If you stay there, go to the Thai Cat, for dinner, they are great, good food, and good service!

Room Tip: saladan är trevligt att åka in till på kvällarna
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Got a tip from a local moto driver - he said (in Thai) that there was a beautiful resort with nice beach and staff who are good people. He was right. Really pleasant spot - bungalows spaced out through well kept gardens. One of the better 'Thai beach bungalow resort' breakfasts we have had - they clearly make an effort. The rooms are basic, a little dated, but clean and comfortable. The resort is on a quiet stretch of beach, with the restaurant spilling out from under the trees onto the beach. Food was solid with a good mixture of popular Thai classics and some regional stuff (choo chi goong/kaaw kloo kabi). Probably the best service we have had in Thailand. Fresh seafood at dinner seemed a little pricey. A couple of nice little joints to walk to for sundowners if you are bored of the hotel. Clean, sandy beach, with shallow gradient to water. Not overcrowded even in Jan in Thailand.

Room Tip: There is one beachfront bungalow - it looked great, but was full when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelah33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

very nice place. The hats are not luxurious but nice. The mostly muslim staff is super friendly and gives you the feeling to be very welcome.

The garden which surrounds the hats is wonderful.

The restaurant is well worth a visit, and for a nice dinner maybe the best choice in that bay. If you are looking for a really good coffee you can get that as well, but might also wanna try the cafe about 200m further south on the beach ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Beach Bungalows

Property: Sayang Beach Bungalows
Address: 72 Moo 3 Long Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from your busy life back home: Our 26 carefully designed, cosy bungalows sit within lush tropical gardens, just a few steps from the beautiful powder-white sands of Long Beach, providing a sanctuary of peace and calm. Our Thai-Indian restaurant sits directly on the beach with fantastic views of Phi Phi island and some of the most spectacular sunsets on the Andaman Sea. A perfect setting for those wishing to relax, we also offer beach massage and spa, scuba diving, snorkeling trips, elephant trekking, Thai cooking lessons, mangrove kayaking, game fishing and many other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayang Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing