We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite dinner place on Long Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayang Beach Bungalows
Ranked #26 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This was our favorite place to eat dinner on Long Beach. The staff were super friendly and were happy to oblige when we asked them to give Jack Johson a break and put on Bob Marley.

The food was delicious and the same price or cheaper than some of their competitors. We enjoyed the Mussamun Gai, grilled squid and samosas, but by far the best thing is the deep fried snapper with sweet and sour sauce.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Subotnikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a pleasant surprise Sayang Beach Bunglows were! We arrived in Ko Lanta from Phi Phi Island, unsure of what to expect. I booked our stay via Sawasdee.com which is a Thailand travel site. I knew we were staying in a deluxe bungalow but did not expect it to be so nice! We were given a brand new beach bungalow which was beyond what we imagined!

The service is outstanding - warm, friendly, welcoming and helpful
The rooms are wonderful - big comfortable beds, modern and clean bathroom and plenty of room in the bungalow with great storage!
The restaurant is yummy - delicious food with many cuisines. The Thai food was great with lovely fruit shakes!
Location is perfect - right on the beach, providing beach chairs and beds, and their own massage (which is lovely, the massage at Thai cat next door was extremely painful!)
I am happy with our stay and would highly recommend this to anyone else.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The resort is located in a very good location, just in front of the beach. The size of the room was just nice. The complimentary breakfast was good, make sure to be there as early as possible to enjoy all the items. We would highly recommend to try out their lunch and dinner menu, the food was outstanding with a nominal cost. The support staff's were very helpful, they even extended their support in arranging a transport for us to airport in the last minute. (with no cost).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satish_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Located at the better end of the Ao Phra (Long Beach), just 3 km from Saladan town. Even though this is not a luxyry hotel, it was the best place we stayed at during our vacation (we stayed in 4 different places, all the others were more expensive than Sayang).

The most important plus points from our point of view:
- Location at the beautiful and peaceful beach, very good to swim
- Nice and helpful staff
- Very clean and well kept hotel area and bungalows
- Good beds, aircon worked well, silent hotel (no alcohol served) -> good sleeping quality
- Good breakfast and food in the hotel restaurant at the beach.

We have no minus points to report. But if you are looking for luxury or night life, this hotel or the Long Beach is most likely not your place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A nice location where the bungalows were simple but clean. Very close to the beach with loungers, however just be aware that this is a dry hotel - that said there is a bar next door (Thai Cat) that has good food and very friendly staff.
The service that went the extra mile was that one of our group left their phone charger in the room. Unbeknown to us that point but one of the staff travelled from the hotel to the port, searched for us and found us as we were sat on the ferry to give us the charger. Outstanding service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in 2 different garden air con bungalows. They are dated but nice enough and clean. The hotel staff will help you with what you need but aren't the smiliest or happiest people. The location on Long beach is great. We only ordered appetizers from the hotel restaurant but they were delicious and the rest of the menu looked great too, breakfast is nothing special but there should be something for everyone to sustain them for the morning. The Country Bar next door is a perfect laid back place to spend the evenings and watch the sunset. There are seats in the sand and in the bar area and they have fire-dancer shows most night which are great.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early I would recommend a bungalow towards the back so you don't hear the bar m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickTessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed here for just under a week, in a clean, though somewhat dated room (bamboo thatched walls, smelled a bit stale from the AC), with a nice clean functioning bathroom.
All rooms have a garden view except the beach villa (only 1 of those), and are split into broadly 2 groups: the newly renovated ones, and those which are a bit dated (we stayed in the latter and it was fine, but less so given the price). Booked via their website, with a price per night just around 2,000 THB. Breakfast was included, though it's western fare and sits in a buffet style setup from 7 to 10. Be sure to order fresh food if you come towards the end. The restaurant in the evening is good, though pricy compared with all other alternatives we saw on the beach and in saladan.

The resort is right on long beach, about 7-10min drive from Saladan main town (where boats arrive). Having been around the island on a motorbike we hired from the resort (300 THB per day which is also relatively expensive for Lanta), long beach is definitely one of the best beaches: good swimming depth, clean, scenic, with excellent facilities /food places etc..

All in all, it's a good place, albeit on the pricy side of things (rooms, food, bike rental all at the top end of price ranges). A

fter the first evening with dinner at the resort and breakfast the following day, we chose to eat our meals elsewhere for the remainder of the week. We mainly hung out at "somewhere else", a close by family-run operation on the beach. Looking at their upper end rooms with aircon, we would stay there if coming back to Lanta - as it's much better value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#16 of 85 in Ko Lanta
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#19 of 85 in Ko Lanta
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#5 of 240 in Ko Lanta
394 reviews
6 mi away
Lanta Miami Bungalows
Lanta Miami Bungalows
#28 of 240 in Ko Lanta
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Beach Bungalows

Address: 72 Moo 3 Long Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £39 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from your busy life back home: Our 26 carefully designed, cosy bungalows sit within lush tropical gardens, just a few steps from the beautiful powder-white sands of Long Beach, providing a sanctuary of peace and calm. Our Thai-Indian restaurant sits directly on the beach with fantastic views of Phi Phi island and some of the most spectacular sunsets on the Andaman Sea. A perfect setting for those wishing to relax, we also offer beach massage and spa, scuba diving, snorkeling trips, elephant trekking, Thai cooking lessons, mangrove kayaking, game fishing and many other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayang Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing