We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bungalows...”
Review of Mook Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mook Lanta Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Booked via email last minute and had pick of rooms as season seemed to be slow.

Beautiful all wooded stilted bunglaw only finished just before Christmas '07. Awfully hard bed, but all in all it was a very romantic room!
We choose a aircon room but the new fan rooms looked great as well for those with a tighter budget.

As others have said not on the beach, but very very few resorts on Ko Lanta really are. Couple of min walk to beach, but you really need to walk to all the other end to be on the beach where there is a bit going on!

Do take a visit up the road as this is where the best bars and restaurants are. The best was the jamacian bar, you can not miss it it is always packed! They have some fabulous food including BBQ'd chicken and Barracuda, You must also try the garlic Rice.

We hired bikes from Mook Lanta which were fine - this is a real must as there is so much to see and do.

I would recommend Mook as a good, reliable pretty resort to explore the rest of the Island from.

Slightly annoying you had to pay for internet.
I would highly advise not eating in the restaurant, no one in there for the whole of our stay, no view, over priced food.

We also decided to go and pay for breakfast shunning the very simple free breakfast. We choose to pay £2 each for huge freshly made musili pancakes topped with tropical fruit and yogurt plus a couple of freshly squeezed juices or shakes. (Coffee Asylum, plus free WiFi!)

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2008

Mook Lanta is a great place for a low key Lanta experience. Rooms were bright, clean and simple with great privacy. Restaurant was great with free breakie and great red curry. We had a small seaview in Bungalow A1. Great (but extremely HARD king size bed), TV, Air-con was terrific. Outside bathroom a quirky addition.

Make sure to hire a scooter for 300 baht for 24 hours direct from Mook Lanta and explore the island yourself.

Make sure to get a voucher if you book any tours/trips through the Mook Lanta management - we didn't and they said we were booked but at crunch time we didn't get to go.

They also lost some of our laundry and then recovered them 2 days later.

The management/owner are amazing people - very friendly and helpful. The chef prepares great food, is a fun character and sings really well!!!

Overall - we had a great experience. Wouldn't mind a closer beach access without the rocks but overall awesome and I'd probably go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GemtheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Our room was very spacious with a king sized bed and nicely appointed with A/C, cable TV, fridge. The shower being outside with a big plant in the middle was a cool design touch. The garden view is very nice although we had a so-called seaview room when there aren't really any seaviews to be had in the place (but we had previously been warned about this from other reviewers). They picked us up at the pier which was good although it would be nice if they'd asked us which boat we were on so they'd been waiting at the right pier.

Overall I'd recommend it although I'm not sure it's the best value, somewhat more than the other places around which are closer to beach and have perhaps more unique touches (but may not have AC).

I did like the location though on the South side of Long Beach (the second beach) -- there are lots of interesting places at this end of the beach, restaurants, etc. Try Papaya restaurant on the main road which was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ddosdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2007

I stayed here with my Mum and loved it. Found it after a miserable night at Riviera, so it was also a huge relief. Stunning gardens, no beach front bungalows but the beach is about 2 minutes away it makes no difference. Right next to amazing massages nr the Sanctuary. Quiet
end of Long Beach.

Only thing is that at night I found it a bit scary walking across the
rocks to get to the busier end of Long Beach - which you have to if you a looking for anything a bit livelier, as you are a little cut
off from things here. But perfect as I was with my Mum and we were never disturbed at night. If i went back with friends I might want to be somewhere a little more lively.

Food is amazing, probably one of the best meals we had in Koh Lanta so visit the restaurant even if you dont stay here. It is cooked by a delightful friendly couple.

Manager sorts out everything you could possibly need. Its all very relaxed - you pay him for it all at the end of your stay.

Other reviews are correct, your rooms dont get cleaned every day - they could have been a bit more, but am sure they would if you asked.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank sk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

This was a pleasant resort overall with spacious rooms, fully functioning air-conditioning and a lovely terrace to each bungalow to look out onto the garden. The staff spoke decent english and were helpful. It's located within walking distance to good eating places and 2 of the hippest clubs (Earth Bar & Opium).

A few things to note though:
1. The open air toilet/bathroom might seem interesting but when you're using this at night, the light tends to attract insects of all sorts and unless you don't mind taking a shower with bugs and flying cockroaches, you should reconsider getting this resort.
2. The beach directly in front of the resort was rocky. You have to walk further north to get clear sandy beaches.
3. There is no beach bar here. You've to go to the neighbouring resort's bar, granted it's only a minute's walk away.
4. Towels aren't changed daily. But if you ask the staff for a new set, they'll willing give it to you.
5. The television occasionally switches itself off and there doesn't seem to be any hot water after midnight and in the early morning.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank weiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Overall, Mook Lanta was a good stay with fully working airconditioning, english TV channels and spacious rooms for more than a couple of luggages. The garden view is beautiful although all 12 bungalows seemed to be of the garden view variety. There weren't any beach front huts at all so don't try booking one of those, chances are you might just be paying for a bigger room without any view of the sea. The staff spoke decent english and was extremely helpful.

It costs abt 50 baht/person for a "tuktuk", or cab, from the pier to the resort.

There were a few little nitty gritties that could have been improved though. Firstly, if you like me, were seduced by the tropical idea of an open-air toilet/bathroom, think abt what your holiday schedule is like. If you're likely to return back to your resort late at night to take a shower, the light attracts quite a few bugs and if you're squeamish (as I am) abt insects and flying cockroaches joining you for a bath, perhaps this isn't the best resort. Also, the hot water heater didn't seem to work late at night and in the early morning. You aren't provided with a fresh change of towels daily, but if you ask the staff for these, they'll be glad to give you new sets. Also, I got the impression the sheets weren't changed daily, they were just made. The beach directly in front of the resort was full of rocks, be prepared to walk to another section of the beach if you want a sandy beach. Also there isn't a beach bar at the resort, you have to walk (a short distance) to the neighbouring marina resort's beach bar. If these don't bother you, then bya ll means, get Mook Lanta! It's within walking distance (abt 10-15 minutes) to quite a few good restaurants and 2 of the hippest clubs (Earth Bar & Opium).

Stayed: January 2007
Thank weiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.3 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
3.1 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.2 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mook Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mook Lanta Resort

Address: 343 Moo 2, Pra-Ae | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £10 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mook Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mook Lanta Eco Resort, offers beautiuful Thai style bungalows in a picturesque secluded gardens. Located on the most popular beach of Phra Ae (Long Beach) we are close to all that Koh Lanta has to offer. Our bungalows range from large family air conditioned bungalows through to inexpensive fan Bungalows. We have Free Wifi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mook Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mook Lanta Boutique Hotel Ko Lanta
Mook Lanta Boutique Resort And Spa
Mook Lanta Boutique Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing