We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mook Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mook Lanta Resort
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Although this was my first trip to Ko Lanta, when I arrived a Mook Lanta Resort I was welcomed like an old friend by Nick and Melissa. The room was very comfortable and quiet and the hospitality was great. Defiantly worth a visit and I look forward to checking in again on my next visit

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkdeBurgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    122
    43
    24
    14
See reviews for
39
217
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have been back in the Uk for three weeks now after returning from a two week stay in Mook Lanta Resort and are having serious post holiday blues.

We chose the resort, for initially 7 nights, mainly based on reviews we had read prior to booking accommodation for Koh Lanta. We had booked into the double fan unit. The room itself came with a mosquito net, ensuite bathroom, cable tv and outdoor seating. The room is clean and we thought was great value for money if you are backpacking, on a budget and is great for a short stay. It is suitable for a couple, single travel or two friends.

After viewing the double air con though, we couldn't resist and treated ourselves to the upgrade. The bungalow itself is spacious, has a balcony outdoor seating, fridge, cable tv and ensuite bathroom. The room has a quirky outdoor style shower ( completely private) and felt very surreal showering while listening to the birds and other wildlife.

The resort is set amongst a tropical garden with lots of lovely plants and flowers. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and within walking distance to some of the best eateries on the island. The resort offers a variety of breakfast options. The cooked breakfast is yummy . The bar is open throughout the day for bar food and drinks. I should also add they do a traditional Sunday roast which was the best Western meal we had in our trip if Asia.

If you are deciding to go to Koh Lanta for the diving, go to Mook Lanta reception, the owners will advise on the different options for courses etc. The owner is an experienced diving instructor. If that's not your thing though the island offers various other activities, one of which is a visit to the islands animal welfare centre which again is walking distant from the resort. There is scooters to rent from reception.

The resort would be most suited for families, couples and small groups and for all ages. The island is more chilled out than other places we visited but you can still do most things on Koh Lanta that you can do on any other island ie if you are after a bit of nightlife, there is some great bars, just ask the staff for recommendations.

We cannot thank the owners Nick and Melissa enough for their hospitality throughout our stay. They advised us on what to do on the island as well as recommendations and help with booking onward travel.

We decided to extend our trip for another 7 nights as we really didn't want to leave.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday in Thailand and our stay at Mook Lanta made it so memorable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona1231985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thanks so much for your review Fiona, we too, enjoyed your stay and it means so much to us to receive such nice feedback. Hope you and Derek return for the wedding! Mellisa & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I should explain that we did not stay at Mook Lanta - we went there to have a nice Sunday lunch and to meet and enjoy the hospitality of the hosts, Nick and Melissa. It was a charming spot (if a little challenging to find), but once there we were greeted like old friends and introduced to the other people in the bar.

We were treated to lovely meal in the quaint bar area, and were able to sit and enjoy the live feed of English football.

The resort has a number of comfortable cabins nestling in the undergrowth and all linked by elevated walkways. Nick and Melissa seem to be the perfect hosts, and I would recommend Mook Lanta to anyone.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gorsefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks Andy for your wonderful comments and I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed the food and the game whilst you were with us. However I think your team winning the football did make it all the more enjoyable for you ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Throughly recommend Mook Lanta. Lovely setting for the bungalows and very quiet and peaceful, feels like you are secluded from the more mainstream part of koh lanta, close to nature, birds, butterflies all around. All nice and clean and big beds. As well as the green setting, what set this place apart was the lovely welcome from Melissa and her partner who were both super helpful and also fun. The first night there was a Sunday roast which was fab as we live in singapore so a bit deprived of good English food. Breakfasts were also very good which is unusual I think for Thailand. The beach is a short walk away but lovely. Mellisa also helped with arranging a good deal for us on our next accommodation and helped us throughout our stay with her which we extended as so comfortable there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you Georgia for your lovely review, our cats are missing the kids, come back soon. Mellisa xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed a mook lanta for 3 nights however originally planned to stay just 2. I was back packing with 2 girls and all of us would of happily stayed for longer but unfortunately we made the mistake of already booking and paying for our next hotel! This was by far one of our favourite resorts during our travels in Thailand! The staff where fantastic and Mellisa and Nick were more than helpful and welcoming! We visited during low season however our intentions where to go scuba diving anyway so that was no problem! Fantastic location right next to a gorgeous beach, that one day we had all to ourselves! Five minute walk up the road is the Lanta Animal
Welfare centre! It is a 100% must do activity! We walked the local dogs, had a tour and if we had the time it would be the perfect place to do some volunteering!
As we were traveling we were on a budget however the price of the room was an added bonus as we would of expected to pay more for the size and luxury of the accommodation! The locals were super friendly and were already missing Benji and Sam! Hope to visit again next year :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi Christy, thank you so much for the review, I wish there was a Customer Advisor site so I could write one about you and the girls! We loved having you here and hope you will return again so you can stay a little longer.
Your comments about Lanta Animal Welfare are absolutely right, we have just adopted 2 kittens from there and as a resident and volunteer there, i really commend their work and know people regularly cite it as a real 'must do' on Lanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in a fan bungalow for 5 nights. The bungalow was basic and clean. The bed was very very comfortable with a mosquito net above it (the net had many holes which we managed to fix temporarily with pegs but it should really be changed).
The location of the resort was in the quieter end of the Phra ae beach, 100m from the beach itself. Unfortunately, due to the low season, the beach wasn't in the best condition. The resort was very tranquil, the huts were very picturesque, especially at night with the surrounding sound of the wildlife.
The staff was friendly and helpful. You can rent scooters from them to go around the island which is really the best way to explore it.
All in all, very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank combatgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review and nice comments, but I really wish you had let us know about the mosquito net whilst you were here as we could have easily have changed this for you (nets are plentiful and cheap and I apologise that we did not realise yours needed replacing). Two of the fan rooms have just had new nets so I will check the other two and have them changed tomorrow if necessary.

Our beach is fantastic, but during Green Season it does get quite battered by the storms and so you are right that is is not so pretty. But if you go further up the beach there are huge stretches of beach with no rocks exposed and we are also walking distance from Relax Bay beach as well which is beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked for 4 nights ended up leaving after 3. It was Green season on Koh Lanta when we stayed which meant that most of the island was building or closed. The room we stayed in was a fan room with a TV (We needed that TV). The lady at the reception was very friendly and helped every way she could but the resort was empty and staff went home at around 4pm. I think Koh Lanta is aimed at a more mature type of traveler so I will not complain to much and will focus on the positives. We rented a scooter which allowed us to go to the national park which is worth a look. Overall the resort as nice and the room adequate, it is around 100 meters from the beach which I'm sure in the high season is beautiful. No sign of a Spa though and the restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyKing91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hi Toby
Thanks for your review, I am pleased you liked our accommodation and Gin our wonderful receptionist and I apologise that I was not there to meet you in person. My partner and I had taken that week to do our visa run as we had no bookings (yours arrived as we left), hence the quiet resort you found (our bar and restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner throughout the year), except that week!

You are indeed correct that Koh Lanta appeals to individuals looking for a more relaxed type of holiday than Koh Phi Phi (a much more party island) does. However Green Season can be a lot of fun as there is a lively night, every night on Koh Lanta you just need to know where to look.

I hope you return and Nick and I will show you where the party is at next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#26 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#36 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Papillon Bungalows
Papillon Bungalows
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mook Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mook Lanta Resort

Property: Mook Lanta Resort
Address: 343 Moo 2, Pra-Ae (Long Beach) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mook Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mook Lanta Eco Resort, offers beautiuful Thai style bungalows in a picturesque secluded gardens. Located on the most popular beach of Phra Ae (Long Beach) we are close to all that Koh Lanta has to offer. Our bungalows range from large family air conditioned bungalows through to inexpensive fan Bungalows. We have Free Wifi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mook Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mook Lanta Boutique Resort And Spa
Mook Lanta Boutique Hotel Ko Lanta
Mook Lanta Boutique Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing