We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could possibly want to take your holiday to the next level”
Review of Mook Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mook Lanta Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could possibly want to take your holiday to the next level”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The unbelievable ingredients the owners of this hotel alone add to your holiday is sensational! That's something worth considering, even before the amazing jungle setting on a spectacular unspoilt coastline.

Our stay here really took our already awesome travels of Thailand to the next level. After long travels, this was the idyllic spot to be able to see many more stunning 'not to be missed' places, without travelling too far, but remaining hidden away from too many tourists.

The intangible service you receive from the 'beautiful couple' (Nick & Melissa) that own this hotel and their team of local staff - can not be expected anywhere from any venue on any scale of the spectrum to be fair. However, these guys insist you have it all! By this I mean the genuine care, fun, trust and assurance of friends that you always wish you could take on holiday with you but can't. This is despite you not having to pay through the nose to enjoy a slice of heaven each and very day.

You can tell that the trust and care other service providers give to Mook Lanta residents reflects on the respect and appreciation they have for the owners of Mook Lanta. Priceless business relationships for you to benefit from as a guest, when you have not had the time to build and establish any local relationships by your self or as a group. Through Mook Lanta you can be sure of safety and fairness in all that you chose to do.

Local friends and family of the hotel also welcome guests in a unique and memorable way that can be cherished with family and friends for many years to come. I was able to watch each of the guests arriving before and after us, be made to feel like long lost friends by people who were friends with the owners. We were also able to benefit from the same experience despite this being our first visit. That said, the location also means that it is never a problem when you're looking for that peaceful moment alone of with someone special. That said too, you can still reach a local beach party within a non threatening environment, that's not too commercialised, very easily and be sure to return home easily and safely.

There isn't anything to not be relaxed about at Mook Lanta. A great privelage and rest bite for the mind, soul and spirit due to its warm, genuine and trustworthy owners, staff and friends. Particularly before and after you need to focus on airports, transfers or anything that requires thinking, stress or strain.

Mook Lanta can take the sting out of any of the things you don't want to worry about on holiday but have to. It is the greatest combination of elements. Great nightlife, sports and activities that you can indulge in, or escape from, as you wish with no real effort at all =)

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel about exactly what you are looking for to accommodate your individual budget and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Aw Nicolette, thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review. It makes our job so worthwhile to read something like this.

I cannot top that with a long reply just a huge thank you and to reiterate what you said, if customers are unsure as to which room is appropriate for them or what to do here, ask us, we want you to be happy and we will be honest if we don't think we have what you need and we only recommend trips that we would be happy to do ourselves.

Mellisa & Nick x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    127
    44
    24
    14
See reviews for
40
235
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Booked for 5 days/nights

Owners are very friendly and always ready to help us - no regards what it was (transfers, diving, motorbike rental etc.)

Professional and always friendly staff

Clean rooms and fresh towels every day

Breakfast is good and above the average thai-resort-breakfasts

Located approx. 100m from beach at the end of Long Beach (Phra Ae)


Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin_V_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellisa B, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Ah Martin, we miss you and your lovely wife!

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and got some good diving whilst you were here. We have been in Koh Lanta for a long while now and we think we know some of the best places to go and things to do, whilst you are on the island, so we are only to pleased to share this information with our guests.

Nick loves that you like his breakfasts, he takes a lot of time, trying to source good products and offering a range of options.

Hopefully see you again sometime,

Kindest regards

Mellisa & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Me and my parents spent 2 nights at Mook Lanta in Feb. And we enjoyed our stay there.

It's located on the far southern end of the Long Beach so it is really quiet. There were enough of restaurants if you walk up to the street, and the 7-11 is also 5-7 mins walking distance. When I sent out a bunch of inquiry emails to many resorts and guest houses, the host of Mook Lanta was the very first one who replied my email, and they were very friendly in person. I made the reservation and airport pick up with them via email. And the house keeping ladies there were always smiling, always.

One thing I was really impressed was that during our stay there (2 rooms for 2 nights) we didn't get any mosquito bites when we were there. They probably did a good job for pest control or something, because we constantly got bites when we were out in the restaurants and after we move to other places.

The beach was 1-2 mins walking from Mook Lanta, it was the nice and quiet end of the Long Beach, but not really good for swimming as there were rocks and you may see them in my pictures.

Room Tip: We stayed in the AC rooms (Room G5&G8) as the walls of their bungalows were thin and the day lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellisa B, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you Taylor Li for a lovely review, it was a delight to meet you and your family and we are glad that you were happy with your stay here.

I am glad you noted my housekeeping smiles, we are so lucky to have such wonderful staff and they often get overlooked in reviews, but they do a magnificent job.

I am very happy the mosquitoes did not get you, this is Thailand, so you had a lucky escape, but I think the wonderfully hot dry days also helps with that one!

You are right about the beach it is a bit rocky at the beginning but a few minutes north on it (it is 3km long) there are perfect places to swim. We are also walking distance from Relax Bay beach too.

Hope you get the chance to return, I will do everything possible to keep the mosquitoes at bay.

Kindest regards
Mellisa & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked a basic room and it was perfect for us. I will say it gets warm and humid during the day so if you plan on staying in the room then book the rooms with air conditioning. We are not people to sit inside so the basic room worked for us. At night it cools off very nice, great sleeping weather.

The staff is fantastic!! Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They did give us some great places to visit and eat. Although I do recommend eating at Mook Lanta at least once for lunch or dinner, it was delicious.

Our stay was perfect and I will be back. Thank you to the staff for making it great.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellisa B, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you Steve and Kathleen for such a lovely review, we really enjoyed having you at our resort.

You are absolutely right that the standard fan rooms get a bit warm during the day, but cool off considerably overnight (even had requests for extra blankets!).

Nick is chuffed you like his food, he takes great pride in that.

I hope you will come back again, it is always such a pleasure having customers like you in the resort.

Kindest regards Mellisa & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We booked a standard room directly with the hotel. We were planning to stay 4 nights. When we arrived the room we were assigned was beyond basic. No bed side tables, dry paint stains all over (bed furniture, floor, chairs, plugs...) No wardrobe, only a bar with 4 old bent plastic hangers, the bathroom mat looked like it had been chewed by a dog, No proper window, only a mosquito net...we tried to get a luxury room but it was full, so we ended up staying one night and moved to NAKARA RESORT, on Long Beach for the rest of our stay. The beach next to the resort is nothing special, neither is the area surrounding it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROL1NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It is true sometimes that you cannot please all the people all the time and I am afraid Carolina it is true here. We knew as soon as you arrived that you were unhappy and that is why, despite the fact that I fully explained to your husband that I only had a basic fan room left and he was happy to take that,, I had no problem in cancelling your booking and did not charge you a cancellation fee, even though it was even though it was well within my rights to do so.

I could tell from your delightful husband that you were not happy and in an effort to help the situation, even gave him one of my own personal Valentine's roses to give to you on Valentine's morning to make you feel better!

I hope your holiday improved from here,

Mellisa & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After reading all of the glowing traveler reviews of Mook Lanta, I decided to book here. It was a great decision. Mellisa and Nick are wonderful hosts; the entire staff knows how to take care of the guests with a warm, personalized touch. I am a relatively high-strung city girl, so it was fantastic to have the gentle smiles and reminders to slow down and not fret about the little details. I was on island time! My bungalow was clean, the fan worked great and shower was always refreshing. (Some bungalows do have air-con, but I opted for a fan bungalow -- which was just fine for my purposes.) The resort is convenient to Long Beach and to some shops and restaurants in the neighborhood -- but I highly recommend renting a motorbike (250 baht per day) and exploring the island further afield. Go south for pristine beaches and more solitude; go north for the port city and touristy souvenir shopping. Koh Lanta is an uncrowded, un-commercialized island (at least relative to some others I visited in Thailand), a perfect place to sink into the rhythm of the beach and ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIReMOE2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi Erica

Thank you sweetie for such a lovely review, we loved having you here too (I never thought you were a high strung city girl!). I totally agree with you, a motorbike is the best way to see the island but you should always ask for some local advice on the best way to negotiate the roads.

Really hope you make a return trip but as a travel writer, I think that is unlikely ;-(

Love & hugs Mellisa & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The bungalow is very simple but has everything you need, including hot shower. The location is perfect- 1 minute from the beach. The breakfast is great.
The best thing is the owners, they are super nice and helpfull, and did above and beyond for us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiverLis, Owner at Mook Lanta Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you Tal so much for such a lovely response, it makes this job so worthwhile when we get a review such as yours. Mellisa & Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,386 reviews
4.5 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mook Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mook Lanta Resort

Property: Mook Lanta Resort
Address: 343 Moo 2, Pra-Ae (Long Beach) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mook Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mook Lanta Eco Resort, offers beautiuful Thai style bungalows in a picturesque secluded gardens. Located on the most popular beach of Phra Ae (Long Beach) we are close to all that Koh Lanta has to offer. Our bungalows range from large family air conditioned bungalows through to inexpensive fan Bungalows. We have Free Wifi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Mook Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mook Lanta Boutique Resort And Spa
Mook Lanta Boutique Hotel Ko Lanta
Mook Lanta Boutique Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing