We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anda Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anda Lanta Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is a great place place for a quiet beach vacation. It is on the south end of the island (waterfall bay) away from most of the night life and a 20 minute walk from the closest town. If you are looking for night life stay closer to Long Beach. The resorts beach is picturesque and quiet making you feel like you are alone in paradise. The massage tent is a must with a great location and spa treatment options, The front desk staff are very helpful with arranging excursions as well as transportation to and from Krabi airport. The food was average, I would suggest heading to the opposite end of the beach to the Sunset bar and restaurant for an excellent value for traditional Thai cooking, fish barbecues and my favorite sunset views. Take advantage of excursions such as the 3 island tour to get your full Andaman Sea experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    139
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
127
200
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this resort. The setting was just perfect for us, admittedly it was quiet at this end of the island but we had a hire car so were able to travel to see all aspects of the island.

We initially booked a superior room, which unfortunately when we arrived had no Internet working, had no cable TV working and was a connecting room where you could hear everything that the people next door were saying and doing! My husband informed reception that we were not happy with the room and we were immediately upgraded to a deluxe room at no extra cost. Admittedly it was still a connecting room but at least now we had Internet access and were able to communicate with our family.

The room was well maintained and cleaned to a high standard, albeit maybe a little dated, but that is purely personal taste. Most importantly the room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We were able to borrow DVDs free of charge from a good up to date selection, so the fact there was no cable TV didn't concern us at all. Bottled water was replenished daily, the beds were turned down with a small sweet left on your pillow each evening. There were beach towels, snorkel and masks and kayaks available free of charge.the breakfasts were buffet style and enough choice to suit everyone.

What stands out the most for us was the proffessionalism, friendliness and willingness of all the staff. We would both happily stay in this hotel again and would also highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: When booking request a non connecting room as you can hear everything from next door- we could even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artyjaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our journey from Bangkok to Ko Lanta was difficult to say the least, but when we eventually arrived on the island and were collected by the Anda Lanta resort air conditioned Land Cruiser things certainly improved!
We're puzzled by some of the bad reviews - we booked a deluxe double room on booking.com in January for just over £80 a night - never pay the rack rate! The room was spacious and very comfortable with clean en suite facilities. the resort area is quiet with a lovely beach but instead of loud music and groupies there are a lot of children! the room was fine for us and although the air conditioning was stuck on one fan speed it worked fine. The cable tv was down but dvd's were supplied free of charge. The room lacked tea and coffee making, a hair dryer, and a fridge which was disappointing but this resort is at the far end of a relatively remote island which only has six months a year tourist season - so expectations need to be managed accordingly.
We found the staff helpful and courteous, particularly reception where there was always a smile.
There is no safe in the room but you get a security box in their strong room which is a mini Fort Knox free of charge - so no worries with security.
The pool is lovely and well shaded. The rocks on the beach add character and were not a problem except at low tide when swimming was best from the far end of the beach.
Everything in the hotel is 30% marked up from the rest of the beach - the sunset bar at the far end is best for beer and lovely thai food. We ate twice at the hotel and the food was good and we didnt mind the mark up. If youre going on trips the tourist info at Klong Yark bungalows half way along the beach arrange the same speed boat trips to the islands for 30% less than the hotel.
To get there avoid the overnight sleeper & Phantip travel buses (we wished we had) just fly direct to Krabi & arrange private transfer from the airport.
Yes, the hotel could do with an upgrade but the location is fantastic and we feel that if you manage your expectations and ensure you get the right price, it's worth a tripadvisor four star rating

Room Tip: The superior rooms are lovely but up the hill and set back from the beach. So choose between luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mactravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This review must be tempered by the fact that we were paying £190 per night including taxes and that we stayed in peak season 4 - 11 January 2013, so the rates were, I hope, higher than normal.

Based upon the rate I was really hoping for something special in what is a really nice part of Ko Lanta. Having stayed in March 2012 at the Pimalai in neighbouring Kantiang Bay I was hoping for something similar (good rooms, good service, nice hotel grounds) though not as refined. The booking process and communication with the Anda Lanta was excellent and they were great in arranging a car to pick us up from Ban Saladan ferry port. The first impressions on arrival though were crushed by lots of signs advising guests what they couldn't do (bring food or drink in from outside of the hotel, though this may have been for the restaurant, and the internet usage policy.)

The check in process was straight forward and the lady who looked after us was professional and friendly. However, things went downhill from here.

The walk to the Beach Villa room showed a resort that is poorly looked after. The gardens are a mess and the garden and beach furniture was either very old and dirty or very cheap and poor quality. The room itself was large, clean and absolutely fine though the cable TV wasn't working for the duration of our stay, though not a problem for us. The garden leading to the beach is a complete mess. It looks as though they have tried to plant grass onto sand but the results are awful and furthermore despite several staff appearing to be gardening throughout our stay the walk to the beach is covered in stones, beer bottle caps, bits of plastic and other litter. It is disgraceful. The only bit of garden maintained was next to the massage centre.

The beach is not a great one for kids as the entry to the water is very stony. The beach itself infront of the hotel didn't appear to be cleaned or swept and was covered in stones and flotsam and jetsam. A significant lack of attention and detail. The beach is better at the other end (Sunset Bar end) but it is quite stony and the sand is quite coarse close to the water.

The pool is small and the sunloungers are old and tired. The pool is fine but I have concerns that the cleaning/filters are not very effective as both myself and my daughter got ear infections whilst staying at the hotel and neither of us have had an ear infections before. We certainly had no problems at the 2 hotels we stayed in prior to the Anda Lanta. However, there were a lot of young children in the water at all times and this may have made it worse.

The service in the hotel is woeful and this isn't the fault of the staff but surely the management. Plates and glasses from someone's lunch by the pool were left by the pool for a day and a half and I doubt wouldn't have been moved unless I had raised the issue with the management. Even then the glasses and bottles were left and only the plates removed. This happened on several occasions.

Breakfast was very disappointing and much of the food was cold despite the presence of bain maries. The food was also bland and uninspiring whether it was the western or asian food. The staff were inattentive and pretty unfriendly and their sheer numbers made it feel like they were there to prevent you from doing things rather than being there to assist. They seemed to enjoy sitting down and ignoring the guests.

On the advice of some people we met and based upon breakfast we didn't eat at the hotel. The food at the Last Resort Bar and at the Sunset Bar was very good and worth a trip.

The kayaks at the hotel are in good condition and most days we paddled to Kantiang Bay or Bamboo Beach for lunch.

The massage centre was fine and the massages good and reasonable value.

In summary if I had paid £70 per night I would give Anda Lanta 4 out of 5 but at £190 it is only worthy of 1 out of 5. Several people we chatted to were of the same view. Sadly this was the low point of a great 3 week trip.

Room Tip: Don't choose 102 as it has rats and the staff don't seem to understand that westerners may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timothymarkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one week in early January 2013. The location is the best on Ko Lanta. The entire staff is wonderful - very friendly, helpful, and attentive. They really made us feel very welcomed and well taken care of. However, buildings and decor, especially those of the rooms, are outdated and in desperate need of an update. At the price we payed I expected a room that was thoughtfully designed. But instead there were cracks in the walls, the bathroom was very outdated and lacked sufficient light, hooks, vanity, etc.

Room Tip: Unless you have kids, ask for a room that is far from the pool for a little more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angirutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Anda Lanta Resort is a beautiful Resort situated in a nice beach at Koh Lanta.
The Rooms were clean. The staff was friendly but some of them had big limitations at English.
I found the Air Conditioner on the room too loud even when I reduced the fan speed at mininum. So during the night with it on, I could not sleep because of the noise, with it off, I could not sleep because of the heat. I think a better Air Conditioner is not so expensive and could really enhance the quality of sleep. Or a cheap solution would be to have also a ventilator on the room.
The restaurant is ok but a bit expensive. You can get better and cheaper food on another Restaurants situated just 50meter away on the same beach!
I did not enjoy the fact that they charge a comission (100 Baht) for everything that they book. You can book the same trips, on the same beach and save 100 Baht per person. So you can just ignore the big sign that they have at the reception about Voucher bought on another places. The Trips are exactly the same. The brochures are the same, only the price is cheaper when you buy outside the resort.
I found also that 1000 Baht for transfer you from the Pier to the Resort is too much. 1000 Baht for 30 minutes drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuiPedroGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

loved the ambiance and food was delicious.
Lovely hotel and service with a smile. Our room was situated at perfect location and looked just like shown in pictures.
Rooms are clean, but there are few cons, room does not have telephone, so for every request\ask you have to walk to reception\ restaurant. Our "deluxe sea view" room is situated at far end and TV\satellite reception was not working there, also wifi signal was weak.
Overall satisfied with our stay in Anda Lanta.

Room Tip: Rooms at far end does not have good WIFI signal and TV reception does not work well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NileWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.8 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
9.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
11.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anda Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anda Lanta Resort

Property: Anda Lanta Resort
Address: 79 Moo 5 | Klong Jark Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anda Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden along the western side of Lanta island lies the Waterfall & beach and Anda Lanta Resort, a perfect hideaway for those who seek tranquility while soaking up tropical nature.& Tucked between the sea and mountain. Anda Lanta Resort offers elegantly designed cottages and rooms amidst lush natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Anda Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anda Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Anda Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing