We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”
Review of Anda Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anda Lanta Resort
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

it's so beautiful and fantasy, great view and happiness trip this time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank alinkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a fantastic week here - really peaceful resort with friendly staff and lovely rooms. - Pool was great and lovely surroundings. It was the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. It is well away from the busy north end of the island but that is easily accessible by taxi or hire car if you want to expolre - and some of the other beaches nearby have other more lively restaurants/beach bars etc. The food was OK - some things very good (benchmark Green Curry was excellent!) - others not bad.. - and the other beach bars along from Anda Lanta had OK food too and also a bit more atmosphere in the evenings - So one slight criticism is that they really could do with their own beach bar that is a bit more rustic and atmospheric - though as I said yiou got this from the other places along the beach. One other crit was the beach dogs that were a bit territorial and scared some of the children - staff could have shoo'd them away more effectively in the evenings. My final criticism is that the sea was not as crystal clear and clean as I had had in other parts of Thailand in the past - the river was a bit scummy and at some tides this made the sea the same way - I may have been spoilt in years gone by with isolated undeveloped island resorts but I did think this was a downside here. So I have been pretty harsh here highlighting one or two not-so-good aspects of the place, however it really was a fantastic resort overall and we had a really wonderful week.

Room Tip: Superior rooms (i.e. most basic rooms - actually not basic at all - very nice big room!) are set bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James_Goldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed over at Anda Lanta during the Songkran holiday and the experience as a whole was positive. The hotel is nice and well maintained. It is on a very quiet beach where the water tends to be calm, so ideal for swimming, but not at low tide when it becomes treacherous because of the rocky bottom. The hotel is quite isolated (south of the Pimalai and of Ba Kan Tiang Beach), so you'll be dependent on the hotel restaurant (their Thai food is quite good, and a lot more affordable than the Western food on the menu) and on transport organized by the hotel. Please note that Anda Lanta will pick you up for free anywhere on Ko Lanta, but the return transfer to the pier, Krabi airport, Ao Nang, Phuket or anywhere else, is a surcharge. The hotel charged me 800 THB to get to Ao Nang from the hotel, including the hotel car from the hotel to the pier in Saladan, and the ferry ticket from Saladan to Ao Nang. Not an unreasonable price at all, especially when you consider that hotels in Ao Nang will charge you the same price to get you to Krabi airport by hotel car.
Some previous reviewers mentioned that the Sunset Bar, just south of the Anda Lanta, was a nice place for drinks at sunset. To that, I'd say that the only thing worth going there for is the sunset view. The place itself looks like it is about to crumble, the staff is aloof and the drinks are not attractively nor professionally made. One of the drinks I had (Mai Tai) was average and the other one (Pina Colada) was plain bad. The Last Beach restaurant next to Anda Lanta sat empty during my entire stay and as such did not seem like a palatable option to eat out.
Getting back to the resort, the rooms themselves are comfortable, modern and clean. Everything worked well in the room, except for two things: 1- the hot water was lukewarm at best - I'd even say the temperature of the water in the resort swimming pool was warmer than the hot water I got in the shower; and 2- the Internet kept disconnecting on me - to fix the problem, turn off your wifi, wait a couple of seconds and turn it back on again. Worked for me most of the time, although sometimes I had to reboot my phone or computer. Quite annoying, I don't understand why this kept happening.
I was in a Superior Seaview room, and from what I could see they have 12 of those rooms - rooms 501 to 504 have the most unobstructed view of the sea (and 503 & 504 being the upstairs units, they would probably benefit from a better view than the downstairs ones). I was in the next building of four units up the stairs, in 506, with a partly obstructed view of the ocean (see picture). There is another building above the one I was in, and in that one I'd say units 511 and 512 would offer the best views. Do bring a flashlight with you as some of the walkways to these rooms are poorly lit at night.
Now the one thing that unnerved me quite a lot about Anda Lanta was that the hotel was using some of the same staff from morning to evening during my entire stay. I noticed one man and one woman (I'm sure they were not the only ones) who were working in the restaurant from breakfast until dinner, and unless I'm mistaken this went on for four consecutive days. Perhaps this hotel is a family business and if so, it might explain things, but I doubt a hotel of this size could be a family operation. It would be nice to hear back from the hotel management on this issue, because everything seems to indicate that some of their staff members have unreasonable, I'd even say "inhuman", work schedules. Perhaps this explains why, even though the staff is efficient, there seems to be a rather serious lack of smiles at this resort, quite unusual when you realize that you're in Thailand. And quite unfortunate too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great location on a beautiful beach. However, don't expect a good nights sleep. Beds are hard beyond belief - even beyond the usual thai standard. Paying premium price does not get you any additional comfort.

Watch out for the deluxe rooms which have very poor sound insulation. We spent the first night listening to the couple next door have sex... Through earplugs it still seemed like they were in the same room.

Consequently we left 2 nights into a 4 night stay. No apology as is the usual Thai standard of hospitality.

This place cannot be recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We only planned to stay for 2 night, but ending staying for 5 as we loved this place. The beach here is quiet, unspoilt and there were very people on it ( we counted 12!). Our room had a sea view, lovely big comfy bed and the staff were really friendly and helpful. This is the place to go if you want to unwind and chill out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLind01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I first travelled Thailand 12 years ago and have been pretty shocked by the rapid development that has occurred since, so I was determined to find that unspoilt beach from my memories. Well that beach is completely ruined but Klong Jark beach is still totally unspoilt, and Anda Lanta resort is lucky enough to be on it. The resort is low key and calm and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It's spotless too, with people constantly cleaning rooms, paths, tables, etc., so that helped to quell my mild OCD. You can borrow books and DVDs for free and there's a small cafe and bar area too. The beach is remote at the bottom of the east coast of the island, and there's not much around in terms of shops or general amenities, so you really will be coming here to switch off and unwind. Kantiang Bay which is the next bay further north also has a lovely beach and a bit more life to it, but we found accommodation to be overpriced so we opted for Klong Jark instead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Nice and quiet place for a relaxing holiday away from all the hustle and bustle in the other beaches further up north. Close by to Ba Kan Tiang Bay for some shops. Place is very well maintained with the beautiful trees and plants as the landscape around the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
9.2 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,488 reviews
11.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
5.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
11.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anda Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anda Lanta Resort

Address: 79 Moo 5 | Klong Jark Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £38 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anda Lanta Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden along the western side of Lanta island lies the Waterfall & beach and Anda Lanta Resort, a perfect hideaway for those who seek tranquility while soaking up tropical nature.& Tucked between the sea and mountain. Anda Lanta Resort offers elegantly designed cottages and rooms amidst lush natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anda Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anda Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Anda Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing