We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your island carefully!! Not what we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Bay Cottages
Ranked #37 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Choose your island carefully!! Not what we expected!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our two and a half week tour of Thailand. We were shocked with Ko Lanta, not as described in the guide books. Dirty beaches, dirty streets with trash everywhere and muddy water, not clear or greenish blue as pictured in the guide books. I would never swim in the water or walk the beach without shoes due to glass! To get to this hotel, you must walk about 5-7 minutes from the main road down a lane filled with garbage, sewer smells, old building materials and miscellaneous junk. So disgusting. All that to be said, the resort was OK but very expensive for Thailand, we paid close to $90/night USD. It was filled with Swedish families who come to Ko Lanta for extended holidays after having babies. We were so surprised to see dozens and dozens of young Swedish families all over the island, hard to believe they are able to look past the trash! Apparently, there's a direct flight now from Stockholm to Krabi for the Swedes, they even have two schools on the island for their older toddlers and young kids so they can continue school during their long holiday/maternity leave! The resort was OK, bathroom was old with floorboards that let in cockroaches. The restaurant breakfast was very good and plentiful and the staff seemed very nice. Just be aware of the island conditions! Ko Lanta is very, very poor and almost totally Muslim. Would never go back to Ko Lanta, would choose an island with beautiful beaches and water. Phi Phi? I don't know...none of the islands are undiscovered. All are filled with tourists during the high season! Not impressed with Thailand overall!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe cottage, will cost more but you won't have a view of your neighbor's A/C un...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    94
    45
    12
    12
See reviews for
47
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Garden a mess because of construction of new rooms. The new rooms don't make the complex better. They should have made a good plan before starting the construction. It all feels a bit depressing despite its in the sea. Maybe it looks all better after they redo the garden.
Rooms ok, very clean, the bed is good as well. Breakfast also ok.
We went next door. Royal lanta. Was not on booking because it was full but they arranged a nice room. Just a very little bit more expensive and 10x nicer!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RubenStekelenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Went here just for the restaurant, not the hotel. Tried the Salami Pizza. Tasted very very bad! This was not home made. It really tasted like they bought it at the supermarked next door. And the service was really bad too, they where all standing there, 5-6 people, and we had to yell to get the bill. No contact with customer! I have absolutly no good experience from this place, and will never go back, unless i want to make sure that i will use my whole holiday at the toilett.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stensaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Went there in a group of 3 people for lunch. The prices Are very high and the food is terrible. We had pizza all 3 and they used one hour to make the first one, then 15 minutes more for number 2, and 15 more for number 3. It was horrible!! Guess they went to 7/11 too buy frozenpizza and heat it and add some salami! It was discusting, horrible and dry. Im still on the toilet shitting cacao 5 days later. NEVER eat at this place!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhtings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

In this period there was some renovation going on, but with not much disturbance. Good value with very kind staff, great swimming pool and good food. The beach on ko lanta we find not special. You can rent a bike, they are helpfull with your tickets and can give you lots of information. The rooms are nice (standard as well as luxury) with all the essentials you need. The garden is upgrated and gives you a view right to the see.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingridvdkruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Golden Bay Cottages is well worth a visit if you are planing on staying in Ko Lanta for a few days.

The staff are very friendly and always there to help, or give advice on where to visit or eat. As soon as you pull up at the resort there is someone there waiting to carry your bags to your room.

As it is low season there is some construction work, but to be honest it doesn't really make much of a difference, it's still very quite and you can deffinately get a good nights sleap. As said in other reveiws there is a kind of work net across the view of the beach but this is only partly in place and you can still get somewhat of a view if you venture down that way, the beach is also cleared of any rubbish daily by the staff.

There is a good size swimming pool, ideal if the sea is a bit too rough or you just fancy a swim by your room. Very good laundry service and some cheap bike rentals from the resort itself for exploring the island (in very good condition aswel)

The rooms themselves are very clean with en suite bathroom with hot running water and the rooms are also cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. All rooms have AC which works very well.....we stayed in the very basic rooms aswel and it still had a tv and very comfortable bed so this is well worth the money (also very cheap because of low season)

We would definately return in the future and would highly recommend you stay atleast one night.

Room Tip: As far as i could see all the rooms looked great, it's not the bigest of resorts so it's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_Feast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Prior reviewers are spot on....heavy construction during low season...cannot see the beach/ocean due to a heavy tarp across entire beachfront and the restaurant closed for construction although a small dining area was adequate. Breakfast was not appetizing and coffee terrible. With that said, however, the manager and staff were lovely and accommodating in offering a reduced rate due to circumstances, the bed sheets crisp and clean, shower water hot, they served the best spring rolls we ever had and their suggestions for places to eat fresh seafood were fantastic and only a five minute tuk tuk away. Oh and the Air Con worked fine. We would return!

Room Tip: Cottages "in the front" which look toward the reception area and beach are the best for vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCoolBreezeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#57 of 84 in Ko Lanta
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#28 of 84 in Ko Lanta
151 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#3 of 213 in Ko Lanta
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Cottages

Property: Golden Bay Cottages
Address: 22 Moo 3 Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Bay Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Cottages Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing