We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Bay Cottages
Ranked #38 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We really enjoyed out stay. Nice, clean rooms. Sparkling pool. Friendly staff. Good breakfast included. Lovely beach. Great food at he restaurant. Nothing fancy here, pretty basic but very comfortable. Most guests were friendly French and Scandinavian couples. Lovely, long beach right in front. Convenient laundry next door. Rent a scooter from the resort and explore.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Location really at the last corner of the beach so little distance of walking along the beach to eat&night time. Stayed at cozy hill bungalow, but can not recommend. Air cod didnt work and saw several animals in the room: cockroaches etc. One day there was no water coming at all to shower or toilet. Friends stayed at standard room closer to the reception and was alot better choice. Little more expensive. Good thing is that you can pay with credit card the rooms and also at the restaurant. They have their own little tourist office where you can rent scooter and buy tickets to ferrys or trips. The pool is big plus right at the beach, enough big also for swimming. Best choice for families with little kids.

Room Tip: Not cozy hill bungalow, others are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

after visiting many places, walking directly from the beach, I think this little resort matched all my expectations:
1) the place is not too big, with indipendent bungalows: means privacy and space
2) they have different type of bungalows: according to your pocket (the Ocean Suite directly on the beach is really exclusive)
3) the pool is good enough, do not expect oceanic pool with dolphins and turtles but a simple and nice pool with enough space for everything you want (to play, to swim, to spend time with your baby)
4) the resort is not overcrowded even when it's full (as during our stay)
5) the resort is really facing the sea (few steps from the sand)
6) the place is clean (bungalows, paths and garden)
7) staff is very gentle and helpful, in particular Wandee, thanks for all your efforts
8) the village is at walking distance (note: if you want boom-boom bars do not come here, if you want to read a book with the sound of the waves this is your place)
9) location is very good as it's on the north part of the beach (in the middle of the beach there are some speed boats arriving/leaving that create noise in this peacuful beach, this resort is not effected by this noise)

some points to arrive to perfection:
1) breakfast: little bit more choice is appreciated
2) restaurant on the sea: good enough but little bit overpriced for what you receive (compared to other similar restaurant in town)
3) entrance and koi-pond: to be improved

other tips to choose this place:
1) there is a 7Eleven at 500 meters
2) there is a tour operator next resort (directly on the beach) or 2 other tour operators near 7Eleven
3) the beach is huge, sunny, and with few tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco_Motta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We took a pool front villa here after a disaster in Amantra resort.

The villa was very clean and nicely decorated. There were a fridge, flat screen tv, safety box and hair drier just to mention few of the conveniences.

We could also rent a scooter here so we didn't need to go elsewhere searching for it.

We ate at their seafood barbeque and the food was very good for a reasonable price.

The pool area was nice and clean and the surroundings also in very good shape.

The manager and the staff were very sweet and helpful and they even prepared a take away breakfast for us due to our early check out.

Room Tip: Pool front villa was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoHappyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a really nice, friendly hotel to say in.

The place is situated on the beach front and consists of 31 bungalows of different space and comfort depending on your budget.
We stayed in the std bungalow which was absolutely fine and for the rate we paid we felt represented excellant value for money.
The guests were in the main young scandanvian families as was the norm for the whole resort so be prepared to see many child push chairs on the beach .
The pool area is lovely but as young families tend to rise early you need to be up and about to get a sun bed around the pool.
The restaurant is of excellant standard, do not be put off by previous reviews, yes there was a little consistency on different nights but we felt it was the best place to eat in the immediate area.
The beach is large and pretty but not many tended to sunbathe there, guests tended to stick to the hotels.
Breakfast was our only slightly negative experience......no yoghurt, pastries or choice of cereal....agreed with previous reviews that this is a backpacker style breakfast and I would have been really diss appointed if I had paid for a higher rate room and received this style of breakfast.
The resort is not particularly commercialised with no football type bars or loud night clubs on the beach which suited us......not many Brits either, none in our hotel.

Worth hiring a car or moped to explore the island and visit the national park at the bottom of the island, very pretty.

Would agree with previous reviewer about the hotel being nearly great.....this hotel has so much potential to be really, really good.
If they invested in a little beach bar to go with the restaurant they already have and improve the quality of the breakfast it would not take much to make this a really special place.

Staff were very friendly and manager very hands on to ensure that all guests had a lovely stay...they even waved us off when we left.....lovely touch

Would definitely come back to this hotel or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Right on the beach and not too far from all the shops etc if you want to walk into town (about 15 mins.) Lots of bars/restaurants on the beach though so most people just walk up and down the beach at night to find a place to eat.

We had a deluxe bungalow which was spacious and well equipped right next to the pool. The hotel doesn't look like much when you arrive but we were very happy with the room and pool. Breakfast was fine (typical for Thailand at this price point) but nothing amazing.

All in all, a nice place to stay on a great beach. Very good for families but not too much excitement and certainly no big lively bars - bars were much quieter than other places so expect to relax rather than party and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francophile101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Good Comment
1) Front beach (thumd-up)
2) Clean pool
3) Friendly staff
4) Good location, just pay 20bath/pax to Saladan(small market town)
5) Koh Lanta not yet become very commercial area, still is a relaxing location.
6) Don't expectation to much on the beach, clean(depend on area) and clear but not greenish blue as picture.
(overall is good place for relaxing till now still dreaming on that relaxing mood)

Bad Comment
1) Bath room and furniture is old
2) Restaurant food is bad taste

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackCloudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#39 of 85 in Ko Lanta
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 232 in Ko Lanta
386 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lanta Miami Bungalows
Lanta Miami Bungalows
#27 of 232 in Ko Lanta
248 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Cottages

Address: 22 Moo 3 Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £42 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Bay Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Cottages Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing