We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely big rooms with ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Kantiang bay is the best beach I saw on Koh Lanta. Clean and not crowded with waves and a long lovely beach. Our room was great and because it was the rainy season we got the room for half its price. The room was huge with a nice bathroom and a little balcony (and white robes which felt like such a luxury to a backpacker). Also loved using the pool. I read some of the reviews where people had a very negative experience with the staff. We didn't have any problems. The staff weren't overly friendly but they were polite and helpful. Maybe this is because it was the low season and we just walked in without a booking. However for us the place was great value and we wished we could have stayed longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here with my better half and had a fab time, second stop on a tailor made holiday put together for us by Andaman Sky Adevntures, who got us a good price and I think one of the better rooms too. The beach here is called Kantiang and is totally unspoiled, hardly anybody on it all usually and when there was some people there’s weren’t many.

The beach is clean too, I saw a whole load of people from the 5 star up the other end of the beach cleaning the beach – nobody from the Baan Lanta lifted a finger but I guess they figure that don’t have to if the 5 star is going to do it for them. The beach is particularly nice for evening stoles, I really enjoyed just taking a wander, sitting down with just the mrs and watching the sunset accompanied by a coupleof cold ones. The Why Not bar is just a short strole away too, just down the beach a bit and they had really good music and cocktails so my wife and I had a few good nights out there, nothing wild or anything, we just chilled in a really great beach bar, remembering when we were back-packers an age ago. My wife was a bit too enthusiastic with the karaoke but nobody complained.

The rooms in this resort are really exotic with luxurious silk drapes over the bed and a well-posh bathrooms, all we wanted was there, why pay more ? The food in the resort’s restaurant was goodish value and tasty, and the resort’s Aqua bar is a social spot, we used to hang out there for a few drinks before heading out to the Why Not bar, makes for a great evening out, but nothing over the top, we didn’t come on holiday for big seshs.

If you want a good value for money on Kantiang beach, which is lanta’s best, and is away from the full-moon-partying kids on the northern beaches, then this is a great choice. The pics of this place we found didn’t really do it justice, it’s way more beautiful than it looks on the web, which was great, cos we were pleasantly surprised – at least we didn’t get the opposite, where a hotel looks great but the pix were taken a decade ago. We can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Book with Andaman Adventures as part of an island hop tour, we did and had a blast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobohonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days just before high season kicked in. Rooms are great and stylish but the breakfast is boring and tasteless. Your usual congee and breakfast sets and horrible instant coffee. I did have some excellent curry for dinner. Location is good and has a lot of good local food around. Especially seafood

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rune O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

we loved our stay here the rooms are great beautifully decorated, with all amenities, spacious and clean. The views are amazing especially the sunset views of the beach great time to sip a sun downer on your veranda. Loved the beach definitely one of the better beaches on the island. The hotel bar Aqua, is also a great spot for a sun downer. Found the staff friendly enough.Enjoyed having an evening dip in the pool. Lovely village good selection of restaurants and coffee shops. exceptionally good value for money in low season.

Room Tip: ask for room 4 / 13 / 14 they have the best views of the bay. I think 4 + 14 are slightly more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful pool and really well priced in low season. Definite must if you are looking for somewhere quiet to relax in Thailand. The restaurants staff would benefit from a little extra service training and a greater grasp of English.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LookinLooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It is very close to the beach, like right on the beach. The huts are located up the backside of the hill so it is protected from storms. We have been coming here for 4 years now. The dive shop next door is perfect for our needs. They use the dock just 5 min beach walk (no tuk tuks gasing you in the early morning crazy to the local docks), during high season. It's a great place to stay and dive (diving is the best). There is no need to rent or drive a death on wheels scooter. If you miss the "civilized world" there is 7/11 just around the corner and an ATM. The little shops that have sprung up in the area are very cool. Drunken Sailor is just one of them.

The staff can be very rude. It is family owned and operated and so the professional levels can vary. There is a massage house just above the reception area. The setting is very low key and noncommercial. You won't find a Hilton anywhere soon.

In the Thailand of 2013, it's a little like it used to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow next to the pool. There are two that are over looking the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunoveristambul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed three nights for a relaxing getaway in August 2013.

Location; in the calm and quiet area of koh lanta in kantiang bay, on a hill, beachfront with stunning views and with only a few steps to the beach. Next door to other restaurants, a few bars, spa, pharmacy and a 7 eleven next door. In one word; fantastic location.

Pick up service from ferry point very good service and convenient.

Facilities;
Great pool with sun beds,stunning views and lush garden. Transportation and excursions can be booked easily by the agency at the resort.

Rooms; stayed in one of the not beach front Bungalows. Beautiful spacious rooms with large comfy bed, mosquito net, tv, air condition and large bathroom. Impeccably clean and well maintained. Nice porch with chairs to every bungalow overlooking the pool area. Huge plus for providing beach pool and normal towels. The bungalow is one of the best I've ever stayed in.

Service; staff at restaurant are rude, service is very slow even with two occupied tables in the whole restaurant. Reception staff are rude aswell and with very limited English. Bar and restaurant are separated as the island is Muslim, we were ushered out of the restaurant one night at 9pm just after ordering a watermelon fruit shake, they closed at 9.30pm.

Restaurant: food is delicious and fairly priced, nice restaurant setting. Breakfast included in stay but we had to negotiate to get our fruit plates, waiting over 20 min, and staff were rude, again Such a shame service is so poor.

Value for money;
Got a great last minute deal in low season and the bungalows are amazing so I'd say yes good value for money.for the original 5000baht a night price, if you don't mind the awful service

Room Tip: Book tip or negotiate to get the a bungalow with a sea view, it is definitely worth it. Steep stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
10.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#21 of 85 in Ko Lanta
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Phra Nang Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta
#31 of 85 in Ko Lanta
256 reviews
10.4 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#26 of 85 in Ko Lanta
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Narima Bungalow Resort
Narima Bungalow Resort
#23 of 85 in Ko Lanta
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Laanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Laanta Resort & Spa

Address: 134 Moo 5 | Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £36 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Laanta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa is a beach-chic, boutique resort offering 15 stylish and elegant, traditional Thai-style villa bungalows, located on the beach in Kan Tiang Bay. Set within an unspoiled natural bay on the western coast of Ko Lanta, Baan Laanta Resort offers the perfect haven for a relaxing holiday or long weekend. Each beautifully designed villa is only a few steps away from the ocean and offers simple luxury with an elegant touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Laanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Laanta Resort And Spa
Baan Laanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing