We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel not very glamorous. I was getting worried that we not going to like it. But listening to Andaman Sky recommending this place, we decided to go. They already recommend Golden Beach for us and we like. I am very happy to listen to them. Yes, this hotel may not be 4 star or 5 star, it is still very good value for the money and the staff is super friendly servicing. I think this place is 3 star, but because of staffing i give it 4 star. Good place for honeymooning or small family.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank billonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    74
    34
    29
    25
See reviews for
34
124
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we had a wonderful 12 days stay at Baan Lanta !
Unlike others may say, we only received a lot of friendship from the owners as wel
as the staff. show respect and you get respect.
We did some really nice excursions : recommend the 4 island snorkel tour and plse do not hesitate to rent a scooter and explore the island ! Marvelous experience.

Thanks Noon, Red, Ma and Wood and all the staff for everything !
Hope to you see again !

Regards,
Martina and Luc from Belgium

Room Tip: as there are only 15 rooms, they are actually all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine_delaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Baan Lanta is a sympathetic smallish resort with an excellent location (Kantiang bay is great). It does not, however, deliver quite the level it is priced at. A few pros and cons:

Pros:
- location & beach access
- general atmosphere and cozyness (nice buildings and constructions in the hills)
- good restaurant (except for breakfast) and bar

Cons:
- The bungalows feel a bit outdated (e.g. mosquito nets have holes)
- Bathrooms are not up to par (e.g. showering causes flooding)
- Some unfriendly service. The language skills of the personnel are not very good (except for one of the younger women there). One of the younger male waiters was especially rude and unhelpful.
- We had ants in our room (may have been caused by us leaving cookie crumbs around :)
- Somewhat overpriced - with the same price we got significantly higher standard bungalows on as nice beaches
- The personnel seemed disorganized most of the time. We spent 15 minutes on the phone when we arrived at the airport and nobody was there to pick us up despite us booking it. We had to change rooms in the middle of our stay, and were not even given a proper reason for this. Our transfer onwards was also messed up, they came to pick us up 1 hour too early, and then they changed our speed boat to a longtail boat and back to a speed boat... This despite the fact that I had double checked the arrangements the night before.
- the breakfast was hostel level with instant coffee and very plain set menus

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Kantiang bay is the best beach I saw on Koh Lanta. Clean and not crowded with waves and a long lovely beach. Our room was great and because it was the rainy season we got the room for half its price. The room was huge with a nice bathroom and a little balcony (and white robes which felt like such a luxury to a backpacker). Also loved using the pool. I read some of the reviews where people had a very negative experience with the staff. We didn't have any problems. The staff weren't overly friendly but they were polite and helpful. Maybe this is because it was the low season and we just walked in without a booking. However for us the place was great value and we wished we could have stayed longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here with my better half and had a fab time, second stop on a tailor made holiday put together for us by Andaman Sky Adevntures, who got us a good price and I think one of the better rooms too. The beach here is called Kantiang and is totally unspoiled, hardly anybody on it all usually and when there was some people there’s weren’t many.

The beach is clean too, I saw a whole load of people from the 5 star up the other end of the beach cleaning the beach – nobody from the Baan Lanta lifted a finger but I guess they figure that don’t have to if the 5 star is going to do it for them. The beach is particularly nice for evening stoles, I really enjoyed just taking a wander, sitting down with just the mrs and watching the sunset accompanied by a coupleof cold ones. The Why Not bar is just a short strole away too, just down the beach a bit and they had really good music and cocktails so my wife and I had a few good nights out there, nothing wild or anything, we just chilled in a really great beach bar, remembering when we were back-packers an age ago. My wife was a bit too enthusiastic with the karaoke but nobody complained.

The rooms in this resort are really exotic with luxurious silk drapes over the bed and a well-posh bathrooms, all we wanted was there, why pay more ? The food in the resort’s restaurant was goodish value and tasty, and the resort’s Aqua bar is a social spot, we used to hang out there for a few drinks before heading out to the Why Not bar, makes for a great evening out, but nothing over the top, we didn’t come on holiday for big seshs.

If you want a good value for money on Kantiang beach, which is lanta’s best, and is away from the full-moon-partying kids on the northern beaches, then this is a great choice. The pics of this place we found didn’t really do it justice, it’s way more beautiful than it looks on the web, which was great, cos we were pleasantly surprised – at least we didn’t get the opposite, where a hotel looks great but the pix were taken a decade ago. We can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Book with Andaman Adventures as part of an island hop tour, we did and had a blast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobohonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narvik, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days just before high season kicked in. Rooms are great and stylish but the breakfast is boring and tasteless. Your usual congee and breakfast sets and horrible instant coffee. I did have some excellent curry for dinner. Location is good and has a lot of good local food around. Especially seafood

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

we loved our stay here the rooms are great beautifully decorated, with all amenities, spacious and clean. The views are amazing especially the sunset views of the beach great time to sip a sun downer on your veranda. Loved the beach definitely one of the better beaches on the island. The hotel bar Aqua, is also a great spot for a sun downer. Found the staff friendly enough.Enjoyed having an evening dip in the pool. Lovely village good selection of restaurants and coffee shops. exceptionally good value for money in low season.

Room Tip: ask for room 4 / 13 / 14 they have the best views of the bay. I think 4 + 14 are slightly more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
667 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#49 of 84 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phra Nang Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Marine Park View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Laanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Laanta Resort & Spa

Property: Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Address: 134 Moo 5 | Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Laanta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa is a beach-chic, boutique resort offering 15 stylish and elegant, traditional Thai-style villa bungalows, located on the beach in Kan Tiang Bay. Set within an unspoiled natural bay on the western coast of Ko Lanta, Baan Laanta Resort offers the perfect haven for a relaxing holiday or long weekend. Each beautifully designed villa is only a few steps away from the ocean and offers simple luxury with an elegant touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Laanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Laanta Resort And Spa
Baan Laanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing