We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love love love this place!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of March 2014. We had bungalow 10 which was just beautiful - sure there are a few steps to get in, but there are perhaps 15 steps to get from reception up to the pool area, then another 10 steps up to each bungalow.

The staff were so friendly and always smiling even though they seem to all work incredibly long hours! We were allowed to check in early, they organised trips and our airport pick-up for us (even calling the airport taxi transfer company on our last morning to check that we were definitely on their list for collection - we didn't even ask them to, they were just super-organised!)

The bungalows are gorgeous - lovely dark wood, it probably depends which one you're is as to how bright it is in your room... bungalow 10 was perfect. Another reviewed mentioned the blinds don't work - don't worry, they have just been fixed up using velcro so you can easily take the blinds off the window if you want more light in. Our mosquito net was brand new with no holes, but we didn't need to use it - we didn't see any mozzys.

The pool is lovely, it has brown tiles in so looks like a natural waterhole - and you overlook the beach from the end of the pool too. There are at least 10 sunbeds, and people didn't seem to hog them. There are also chairs on each bungalows balcony which all look out over the pool too.

We booked a 4-island longtail boat trip through the hotel and it was the same price as if we'd booked it elsewhere. The boat leaves from the beach right next to the hotel which was perfect - and a great day of beaches and snorkling on other islands as well as a wonderful swim through a dark tunnel through the "emerald cave".

The beach is lovely and the water very warm. It's just past the hotel restaurant down about 10 steps from the reception area and you're on the sand. The 5* Pimali Resort is the biggest development on the beach but a lot of it is totally undeveloped. You can swim at high or low tide, but at low tide there are more rocks visable. I tried snorkling a few times but the water was a bit too murky to see anything much, better to bob around on a lilo instead!

The hotel breakfast isn't really a buffet like you get at most other resorts - they only have a few rooms (14 or so I think) so there's no point in preparing a huge banquet of food that will go to waste... instead you order what you like from the breakfast selection and they cook it fresh, it's the usual eggs done how you like them, or rice, or my favourite the museli with fresh fruit and yoghurt... they do have a help-yourself selection of fresh fruits, bread/toast, juices and instant coffee and a variety of teas.

Hotel lunches and dinners were super-yummy and we chatted to lots of diners who had walked down from the 5* resort to eat here as the food is so good. There's also some quiet little shops just up the road (only 20m away) with souveniers, a 7/11 supermarket with cans of coke just 13 baht and beers for 35 baht, more restaurants, a pancake stall, etc etc...

A great place to stay, we enjoyed every second :-)

Room Tip: Bungalow 10 was at the head of the pool, a little separate from the other bungalows - our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wibblewibble123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    73
    34
    29
    25
See reviews for
34
123
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

There are a lot of positive and negative points to this hotel which with a little renovation could turn it into a great find.
First the positives.
The hotel is in a wonderful location on Kantiang Bay. This is by far one of the best beaches in Ko Lanta and incredibly peaceful. The beach is beautiful and very undeveloped. A few hotels and one or two bars (Why Not Bar and Same Same But Different) and that's it. Nothing noisy, no large crowds a perfect dream place.
The restaurant at Baan Laanta is very good. Very popular in the evenings especially with non-residents. The food is fresh offering a seafood B-B-Q every evening but even the menu has a very large choice of Thai dishes or Western. The hotel has a very good chef. We dined there every evening including lunch and each dish we had from the menu was beautifully done.
The staff in the restaurant once they get to know you are very friendly, helpful and professional. No problem in reserving a table in the evenings.
Located next to the restaurant is the bar which is separate from the restaurant but works alongside it. Again very efficient staff and the musical taste is very suitable for a tropical island.
The pool is of a sufficient size for the number of bungalows at the hotel but can get crowded if every guest decides to use it.
The gardens around the area are very well kept and provides a very nice ambience of tropical planting.
Now for the negatives.
The hotel provides a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel which we booked. After several emails enquiring about cost, timings and confirmations everything should have run smoothly. However arriving at the pick up point there was no-one there to meet us. After receiving help from one of the other agents who lent us his phone to ring the hotel who did confirm that the transportation should be there we waited over an hour before an agent for the hotel turned up for another customer on a different flight who could sort us out. Arriving at the hotel and asking politely what the trouble was the reply was unsatisfactory - this company has let us down three times before. No apology.
The bungalows are on a hillside and there are a lot of steps to reach them something to be aware of if you do have trouble climbing. No problem if you are fit and robust. The steepness of the steps could make it a safety issue for very small children.
The bungalows are very basic and tired and this is an area which could be resolved with some renovation. Natural dark wood which is typical of Thailand and attractive but the lighting inside the rooms should therefore be bright enough to allow for this. The fixtures are dated and inadequate for the task. Above the sink a bright torch would have provided better lighting. Equally the areas which were painted should be painted in a lighter reflective colour which would have made the room more cheerful and less depressing. The lighting outside the room which allows you to climb down the steps should work as once the rooms interior lights switch off you are literally in the dark. (The torch provided is inadequate so bring your own)
There is no hot water at the sink area so wet shaving can be painful. Equally the mirror is placed not above the sink which meant you had to move to see yourself.
The room has insufficient storage space. No drawers at all. An open closet with shelf space and a belief that three coat hangers is sufficient for a couples needs. (Try telling that to my wife!)
The fridge area is covered with what can only be described as a picket fence (bizarre).
The cleanliness of the room is questionable. The bin was not always emptied. Thick layer of dust over the television (which was a step back in the past) and also over the blinds which were in a permanent down position as they could not be raised.
The bathroom is more of a wet bathroom with toilet. If the plumbing is insufficient for tissue then the bin provided should be a closed one for hygienic reasons. Hot water is provided but it can be hit or miss.
The pool area is small and does not allow a sufficient number of sunbeds. Equally it can occasionally be used to teach novice scuba divers from the nearby diving centre. This stops guests from using the pool themselves.
On checking out our bill could not be paid by card as the telephone signal was causing problems and was not processing electronic billing. A mad scrabble for sufficient funding which turned into a farce was enacted with several card attempts at the 7 Eleven ATM around the corner which then failed on us because of a power cut. The reception staff allowed us to leave in our taxi to stop at another village on the way to retrieve more money which could then be paid to the taxi driver who would settle the bill for us. (Unbelievable) My advice is pay your bill the night before so you therefore have sufficient time to remedy the problem.
Ok this has been not my usual type of review. Did we enjoy ourselves at the Baan Laanta? - yes because we made the most of it and did not allow the negative things to get us down. This hotel sells itself on being Eco friendly. Providing energy saving light bulbs and not allowing toilet tissue to be flushed does not make the hotel Eco friendly. It also rates itself as 4 star. By no stretch of the imagination is this true. The hotel cannot rely on its location alone. At it's current level two or three would be a better rating. The saving grace of this hotel is its restaurant and the staff who work there. A very relaxing holiday guaranteed but as my title suggested don't expect too much just go with the flow.

Room Tip: 4 bungalows have sea views. The lower ones have a very restrictive view. Better to get one higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borneogeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Baan Laanta was quite last minute booking for me and my friend, since the hotel we originally had booked failed our reservation. However, we were very happy there. The bungalows are located on a hillside, so you have to climb some stairs every time you leave the resort, or want to go to the beach. We did not really mind this at all, because there was this lovely tropical garden feeling at the resort and on the poolside which you don't really get on the beach. The pool was lovely and peaceful. Our bungalow was quite basic and a bit worn out, but still very clean and cozy. We had a lovely view from our terrace to the beach and over the bay.

Staff was kind and helpful; restaurant was good, and quite popular in the evenings. Breakfast was very modest and basic, but then again it is in most of the resorts in Ko Lanta. All in all we had nothing to complain, and I would recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: Ask a bungalow with seaview from the terrace.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank distantdreamer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel not very glamorous. I was getting worried that we not going to like it. But listening to Andaman Sky recommending this place, we decided to go. They already recommend Golden Beach for us and we like. I am very happy to listen to them. Yes, this hotel may not be 4 star or 5 star, it is still very good value for the money and the staff is super friendly servicing. I think this place is 3 star, but because of staffing i give it 4 star. Good place for honeymooning or small family.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank billonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we had a wonderful 12 days stay at Baan Lanta !
Unlike others may say, we only received a lot of friendship from the owners as wel
as the staff. show respect and you get respect.
We did some really nice excursions : recommend the 4 island snorkel tour and plse do not hesitate to rent a scooter and explore the island ! Marvelous experience.

Thanks Noon, Red, Ma and Wood and all the staff for everything !
Hope to you see again !

Regards,
Martina and Luc from Belgium

Room Tip: as there are only 15 rooms, they are actually all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine_delaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Baan Lanta is a sympathetic smallish resort with an excellent location (Kantiang bay is great). It does not, however, deliver quite the level it is priced at. A few pros and cons:

Pros:
- location & beach access
- general atmosphere and cozyness (nice buildings and constructions in the hills)
- good restaurant (except for breakfast) and bar

Cons:
- The bungalows feel a bit outdated (e.g. mosquito nets have holes)
- Bathrooms are not up to par (e.g. showering causes flooding)
- Some unfriendly service. The language skills of the personnel are not very good (except for one of the younger women there). One of the younger male waiters was especially rude and unhelpful.
- We had ants in our room (may have been caused by us leaving cookie crumbs around :)
- Somewhat overpriced - with the same price we got significantly higher standard bungalows on as nice beaches
- The personnel seemed disorganized most of the time. We spent 15 minutes on the phone when we arrived at the airport and nobody was there to pick us up despite us booking it. We had to change rooms in the middle of our stay, and were not even given a proper reason for this. Our transfer onwards was also messed up, they came to pick us up 1 hour too early, and then they changed our speed boat to a longtail boat and back to a speed boat... This despite the fact that I had double checked the arrangements the night before.
- the breakfast was hostel level with instant coffee and very plain set menus

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Kantiang bay is the best beach I saw on Koh Lanta. Clean and not crowded with waves and a long lovely beach. Our room was great and because it was the rainy season we got the room for half its price. The room was huge with a nice bathroom and a little balcony (and white robes which felt like such a luxury to a backpacker). Also loved using the pool. I read some of the reviews where people had a very negative experience with the staff. We didn't have any problems. The staff weren't overly friendly but they were polite and helpful. Maybe this is because it was the low season and we just walked in without a booking. However for us the place was great value and we wished we could have stayed longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#4 of 84 in Ko Lanta
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phra Nang Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lanta Marine Park View Resort
0.1 mi away
Kantiang Bay View Resort
Kantiang Bay View Resort
#156 of 210 in Ko Lanta
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Laanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Laanta Resort & Spa

Property: Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Address: 134 Moo 5 | Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Laanta Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa is a beach-chic, boutique resort offering 15 stylish and elegant, traditional Thai-style villa bungalows, located on the beach in Kan Tiang Bay. Set within an unspoiled natural bay on the western coast of Ko Lanta, Baan Laanta Resort offers the perfect haven for a relaxing holiday or long weekend. Each beautifully designed villa is only a few steps away from the ocean and offers simple luxury with an elegant touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Laanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Laanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Baan Laanta Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing