We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Memories at Mango House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Guesthouse + Villas
Ranked #114 of 151 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Both myself and my girlfriend stayed at Mango House for two weeks during June as our first destination on our travels and have nothing but fond memories.
We felt very much at home in the stilted house we stayed in for those two weeks with the facilities being more than adequate, what really made it so special though was the views from the terrace out on the back decking.
The owner Duane was very welcoming and made every effort to help us settle in and enjoy our stay on Lanta, which was greatly appreciated.
Old Town in Lanta really is quite a special place to visit and provides an authenticity/different feel that some of the mainstream resort areas can lack.
We would definitely stay at Mango House again (fingers crossed we may get the opportunity).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Mango Guesthouse + Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

This will be short for now. I have been feeling guilty about not writing a review.. We stayed here as part of our Honeymoon for 3 days in January. The pole house, food and hospitality of Tan and Duane were amazing. We really felt at home here and wished we could have stayed for a few more days. We will be coming back here for sure! I little more descriptive review to come soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I did not stay in that place, only visited cafe for a cup of coffee and use of internet. As I was working on an article, I asked the owner (a foreigner) to change the music: some terrible techno pop was blasted, spoiling tranquility of the old Lanta town. I was the only guest. The owner began insulting me, using vulgarities. Then he screamed at me that I should get out. Very scary dude. More like a gangster than the owner of hotel. This place should be avoided by all means!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namtarn K, Owner at Mango Guesthouse + Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

This lovely fellow came into our restaurant and proceeded to yell at his wife for over 15 minutes scaring my staff and other patrons. I suggested he please calm down or take arguments elsewhere. He then started ranting about the style of music we play and I suggested he leave. He's has never stayed in our rooms and he'll never be allowed to showcase his rudeness in our restaurnat ever again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in this place 12 nights, with our 2 children, and felt at home! Old Lanta is a very Nice village, the villas are lovely; it's fishermens houses, and you can hear the see under your house, very relaxing! The staff is very friendly. It's easy to reach the beaches (15-20 minutes) with a motorise or tuk- tuk (you CAN rent it!)
Nice snorkeling excursion from there (We booked in a shop on the street), but it's a long journey, and quite expensive.
So, I really recommend this
Peaceful place, we'd love to go again!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liliwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is a very special location situated in the middle of the so called Old Village at the non-touristic east coast of Koh Lanta. We had the biggest bungalow which is very spacy with a huge veranda at the seaside with lots of privacy and incredible views. For those who can't stand the noise of the sea under your guesthouse standing on poles (or other noises early at morning from locals and/or from neighbors throughout the day) maybe not advisable because the house has openings everywhere under the ceiling for ventilation which even allows birds and innocent bats to fly through. We got used to that and liked it actually. And no need for airco because of this ventilation at all!

Tan the hostess is extremely friendly and helpful although we had some service problems at the start which were solved soon. And ask and you will always be helped in the best way. It is a pity that we were not able to meet Duane the owner (and partner of Tan) who was away for business all the time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roboele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at Mango House in Feb 2010 and it was wonderful. Staff was so accommodating..we booked for a couple of night and wanted to stay for a week and Dwayne and his staff managed to find us rooms, even though it was during Festival. As for lack of AC? you are over the water..what do you even need AC for, you complainers? Must be from Europe...nothing is every good enough for you!! It's a fabulouse place and we are excited to be coming back this winter...just hope that they have space for us...the best place on Koh Lanta!!! Lynn and Murray

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay, as it embodies what a trip to Thailand should be about: great Thai people (friendly, great service, no hassles), fantastic ocean (views + sleeping on top of the water!), and a lovely cultural Thai town -- best Thai food around located within walking distance. it also has just the right amount of western influence: Aussie Burgers and western breakfasts.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBCPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
3.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
4.1 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
510 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,475 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nautilus Resort
Nautilus Resort
#16 of 217 in Ko Lanta
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#24 of 84 in Ko Lanta
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Guesthouse + Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Guesthouse + Villas

Address: 45 Sriraya Road, Moo 2 | Lanta Old Town, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Houses – a collection of authentic, Chinese-style wooden pole houses that have been converted into stylish, over-the-sea villas and suites. Each of these vacation home rentals is located directly on the ocean in an old Chinese fishing village named Lanta Old Town on Ko Lanta Island in Krabi, Thailand.Lanta Old Town is located on the nature-rich, southeast coast of Koh Lanta, only 15 minutes away from the beaches and tourist areas on the west coast — yet far enough to allow the village to retain its traditional culture and charm. Mango House is also famous for its quality, western-style food, coffees and wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Guesthouse + Villas Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing